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SUBJECT: Continuing residence homestead exemption for certain surviving spouses 

 

COMMITTEE: Ways and Means — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 11 ayes — Meyer, Thierry, Button, Cole, Guerra, Martinez Fischer, 

Murphy, Noble, Rodriguez, Sanford, Shine 

 

0 nays  

 

WITNESSES: For — None 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Korry Castillo, Comptroller of 

Public Accounts) 

 

BACKGROUND: Tex. Const. Art. 8, sec. 1-b establishes residence homestead tax 

exemptions and limitations on property taxes. This section allows the 

Legislature by law to exempt up to $10,000 of the market value of the 

residence homestead of a person who is disabled or who is at least 65 

years old from property taxation for public school purposes.  

 

If a person 65 years old or older dies in a year in which the person 

received the exemption, taxes on the property may not be increased while 

it remains the residence homestead of the person's surviving spouse if the 

spouse is at least 55 years old at the time of the person's death. 

 

Tax Code sec. 11.26 codifies the residence homestead exemption for the 

surviving spouse of an individual who is at least 65. In 2019, the 86th 

Legislature enacted HB 1313, which expanded the exemption under this 

section to include the surviving spouse of an individual who is disabled.  

 

DIGEST: HJR 125 would amend the Texas Constitution to provide that the 

surviving spouse of an individual who received a limitation on the school 

district property taxes on the person's residence homestead on the basis of 

disability continued to receive that limitation while the property remained 

the spouse's residence homestead if the spouse was at least 55 years old. 
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The joint resolution would validate the changes to law made by HB 1313, 

as enacted by the 86th Legislature  and an action taken by a tax official in 

reliance on that bill. A collector would have to calculate the taxes that 

should have been imposed for the 2020 and 2021 tax years according to 

that bill, and if the taxes collected exceeded those that should have been 

imposed, the collector would have to refund the difference to the 

surviving spouse. This provision would expire January 1, 2023. 

 

The ballot proposal would be presented to voters at an election on 

November 2, 2021, and would read: "The constitutional amendment to 

allow the surviving spouse of a person who is disabled to receive a 

limitation on the school district ad valorem taxes on the spouse's residence 

homestead if the spouse is 55 years of age or older at the time of the 

person's death." 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HJR 125 is necessary to validate the enactment of a bill passed last 

legislative session that ensured that the surviving spouse of an individual 

with a disability who died continued to receive the residence homestead 

exemption, just like the spouses of deceased individuals over 65 are 

allowed. While HB 1313 was enacted in 2019, the legislative session 

ended before the accompanying joint resolution could be passed. This 

means that the state law currently extends the residence homestead 

exemption to surviving spouses of individuals with a disability, but it 

cannot be enforced because the Texas Constitution does not yet reflect 

that change. HJR 125 is necessary to let voters decide the issue and 

validate the law. 

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

No concerns identified. 

 

NOTES: According to the fiscal note, passage of the resolution and voter approval 

of the amendment could reduce school district property taxes and state 

costs could increase through the operation of the school funding formulas. 

The proposed amendment also would cost local taxing units currently 

granting the tax limitation; however, because the number of surviving 

spouses is unknown, the cost cannot be estimated. 
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The cost to the state for publication of the resolution is $178,333. 
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SUBJECT: Allowing subsequent writ of habeas corpus if prosecutor agrees 

 

COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 9 ayes — Collier, K. Bell, Cason, Cook, Crockett, Hinojosa, A. Johnson, 

Murr, Vasut 

 

0 nays  

 

WITNESSES: For — Mike Ware, Innocence Project of Texas; (Registered, but did not 

testify: Lauren Johnson, ACLU of Texas; Kathy Mitchell, Just Liberty; 

Amanda List, Texas Appleseed; Rachana Chhin, Texas Catholic 

Conference of Bishops; Shea Place, Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers 

Association; Alycia Castillo, Texas Criminal Justice Coalition; Emily 

Gerrick, Texas Fair Defense Project; Rebecca Bernhardt, The Innocence 

Project) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Edward Marshall, Office of the 

Attorney General) 

 

BACKGROUND: Code of Criminal Procedure, ch. 11 outlines procedures for filing 

applications for writs of habeas corpus, which is a way to challenge the 

constitutionality of a criminal conviction or the process that resulted in a 

conviction or sentence. Art. 11.07 governs procedures for applying for a 

writ in a felony conviction where the death penalty was not imposed. Art. 

11.07(4) governs procedures when a subsequent application for a writ is 

filed after an initial one. In this situation, courts may consider the 

subsequent writ only if certain conditions are met, including sufficient 

specific facts establishing that: 

 

 the current claims have not been and could not have been presented 

previously because the factual or legal basis for the claim was 

unavailable when the writ was filed; or 
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 by a preponderance of the evidence, but for a violation of the U.S. 

Constitution no rational juror could have found the individual 

guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. 

 

DIGEST: HB 187 would allow subsequent applications for writs of habeas corpus to 

be filed after an initial writ if the attorney representing the state and 

having primary responsibility for similar cases in that jurisdiction 

consented in writing to the court's consideration of and ruling on the 

merits of the application for a writ. The attorney representing the state 

would be defined as a district attorney, criminal district attorney, or 

county attorney with criminal jurisdiction but would not include an 

assistant prosecuting attorney.  

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2021, and would apply only to a 

writ filed on or after that date. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 187 would help address situations in which there could have been a 

wrongful criminal conviction by allowing criminal defendants to bring an 

additional application for a writ of habeas corpus before the court with the 

approval of the prosecutor.  

  

Many times a defendant's first writ is filed without the assistance of a 

lawyer, and it might fail to raise or develop all the important issues in a 

case. If that writ is denied, additional ones may be filed only under the 

limited circumstances. These circumstances are so limited that in some 

cases, a writ cannot be filed even if it appears that there may have been a 

wrongful conviction and the prosecutor wants to have a court examine a 

writ. HB 187 would address this by establishing a condition under which a 

subsequent writ could be filed, giving the justice system another tool to 

address potential wrongful convictions. 

 

The courts would not be flooded with writs, and the ability to file them 

would not be abused because they would require the written consent of the 

prosecutor. Filing a subsequent writ would not mean that anyone was 

released from their conviction or from prison as the writ would be subject 

to all the procedures currently required and the courts would make 

decisions about its merits. 
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CRITICS 

SAY: 

No concerns identified. 
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SUBJECT: Expanding minimum health coverage for ovarian cancer screening 

 

COMMITTEE: Insurance — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 8 ayes — Oliverson, Vo, J. González, Hull, Israel, Paul, Romero, Sanford 

 

1 nay — Middleton 

 

WITNESSES: For — (Registered, but did not testify: James Schwartz, COPA, NCODA, 

and Texas Oncology; Michelle Wittenburg, KK125 Ovarian Cancer 

Research Foundation; Clayton Stewart, Texas Medical Association; Roy 

Paulson, Texas Oncology PA, Texas Society of Clinical Oncology, and 

The US Oncology Network; Thomas Parkinson) 

 

Against — Jamie Dudensing, Texas Association of Health Plans; Bill 

Hammond, Texas Employers for Insurance Reform; (Registered, but did 

not testify: Patricia Kolodzey, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Texas; John 

McCord, NFIB; Megan Herring, Texas Association of Business; Jennifer 

Cawley, Texas Association of Life and Health Insurers) 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Luke Bellsnyder, Texas Department 

of Insurance) 

 

BACKGROUND: Insurance Code sec. 1370.003 requires health benefit plans that cover 

diagnostic medical procedures to include coverage for an annual 

medically recognized diagnostic examination for the early detection of 

ovarian and cervical cancer. Any woman 18 or older and enrolled in the 

plan is entitled to the coverage. Required coverage includes at a minimum 

a CA 125 blood test and a conventional Pap smear screening or a liquid-

based cytology screening, alone or in combination with a test for the 

detection of the human papillomavirus (HPV). 

 

DIGEST: HB 428 would require health benefit plans under Insurance Code sec. 

1370.003 to include coverage for any other test or screening approved by 

the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for the detection of ovarian cancer 

in an annual medically recognized diagnostic examination. 
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The bill would take effect September 1, 2021, and would apply to a health 

benefit plan issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2022. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 428 would improve prevention and early detection of ovarian cancer 

by ensuring that certain health insurance plans provided coverage for all 

federally approved tests for ovarian cancer as part of annual well-woman 

exams. Ovarian cancer has a high mortality rate, largely because the 

disease has vague symptoms that are not unique to ovarian cancer and that 

patients do not recognize until the disease is too advanced to treat 

effectively. Expanding ovarian cancer screening minimum health 

coverage would give more Texas women the best chance for early 

detection and effective treatment of this disease. 

 

Currently, there are no other tests or screenings approved by the U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for the detection of ovarian cancer. 

This bill simply would establish a future requirement for health plans 

when an FDA-approved test or screening for ovarian cancer became 

available. 

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

HB 428 inappropriately would create a state mandate by requiring health 

insurance companies to include an additional test in their plan's minimum 

health coverage. Such mandates increase health care costs for employers, 

especially small employers, and often increase premiums for consumers. 

The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, a federal panel of experts, 

previously rejected this mandate as part of the Affordable Care Act's 

minimum essential health benefits coverage. The task force determined 

that the harms of screening for ovarian cancer, including potential surgical 

interventions in women who do not have cancer, outweighed the benefits. 
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SUBJECT: Prohibiting municipal fees charged to certain licensed contractors 

 

COMMITTEE: Urban Affairs — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 6 ayes — Cortez, Holland, Bernal, Campos, Jarvis Johnson, Slaton 

 

1 nay — Morales Shaw 

 

2 absent — Gates, Minjarez 

 

WITNESSES: For — Mark Gatewood, ABC Home & Commercial Services; Jeff 

Bauknight, ABC of Texas; D.J. Pendleton, Texas Manufactured Housing 

Association (Registered, but did not testify: Will McAdams, Associated 

Builders and Contractors of Texas; Annie Spilman, NFIB; Dan Shelley, 

Plumbing Heating Cooling Contractors; Ned Muñoz, Texas Association 

of Builders) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Christine Wright, City of San 

Antonio) 

 

DIGEST: HB 871 would prohibit any municipality from charging a registration fee 

to state-licensed air-conditioning and refrigeration contractors for work 

performed in the municipality or for any notice of licensure that air-

conditioning and refrigeration contractors are required to submit to a 

municipality in which they work.  

 

HB 871 would not prohibit a municipality from charging a building 

permit fee. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2021. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 871 would eliminate the unfair burden imposed on licensed air-

conditioning and refrigeration contractors by unnecessary municipal 

registration fees. 

 

Working in multiple cities that require these fees can cost a contractor 

thousands of dollars annually, far exceeding the state licensing fee and 
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imposing onerous financial and paperwork burdens on small contractors 

in particular. Other state-licensed mechanical professionals, such as 

electricians and plumbers, are not required to pay municipal registration 

fees, and nothing specific to the air-conditioning and refrigeration industry 

warrants additional fees. 

 

These municipal registration fees are redundant and unnecessary because 

they are not attached to any oversight or regulation that goes beyond the 

standards set by the state licensing process for air-conditioning and 

refrigeration professionals. Concerns or complaints about a contractor are 

handled by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR), 

and consumers can verify a contractor's licensure at any time using the 

department's website. Any concerns about the TDLR's regulation process 

would not justify cities taking the regulation of state-licensed contractors 

into their own hands, especially not in a way that could unfairly penalize a 

particular industry. 

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

HB 871 would deprive some cities of funds used to offset the costs 

associated with ensuring that contractors maintain licenses and meet the 

minimum state requirements to work in those cities. In some cases the 

city, not the state, is the first or preferred point of contact for consumers 

with complaints or concerns about these contractors. 
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SUBJECT: Requiring cooperative agreements for plant pest and disease prevention 

 

COMMITTEE: Agriculture and Livestock — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 8 ayes — Burns, Anderson, Bailes, Cole, Cyrier, Guillen, Rosenthal, Toth 

 

0 nays 

 

1 absent — Herrero 

 

WITNESSES: For — Kody Bessent, Plains Cotton Growers, Inc.; Ryan Skrobarczyk, 

Texas Nursery & Landscape Association; (Registered, but did not testify: 

J Pete Laney, Texas Citrus Mutual; Kenneth Hodges, Texas Corn 

Producers; Joy Davis, Texas Farm Bureau; Rob Hughes, Texas Forestry 

Association; Patrick Wade, Texas Grain Sorghum Association; Shayne 

Woodard, Wonderful Citrus) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — Phil Wright, Texas Department of Agriculture; (Registered, but did 

not testify: Larry Redmon, Texas A&M University, Department of Soil 

and Crop Sciences) 

 

DIGEST: HB 2089 would require the Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) to 

enter into cooperative agreements with institutions of higher education to 

conduct plant pest and disease detection and surveillance. The bill also 

would establish a threat identification and mitigation program to address 

threats to crop production. 

 

Cooperative agreements. TDA would be required to enter into a 

cooperative agreement with an institution of higher education that agreed 

to conduct plant pest and disease detection and surveillance. The 

department would consult with the State Seed and Plant Board and 

interested parties to carry out the bill's requirements related to such 

agreements. The bill would define interested parties to mean certain 

organizations or their successors, including the following: 
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 Plains Cotton Growers; 

 South Texas Cotton and Grain Association; 

 Texas Citrus Mutual; 

 Texas Corn Producers; 

 Texas Farm Bureau; 

 Texas Grain Sorghum Association; and 

 Texas Nursery and Landscape Association.  

 

Application. An institution of higher education could apply to enter into a 

cooperative agreement under the bill by submitting an application to TDA 

that contained information required by the department. TDA would have 

to notify each applicant of: 

 

 the auditing and reporting requirements that would apply to the 

institution in connection with the use of any money provided under 

the cooperative agreement; 

 the criteria used to ensure that plant pest and disease detection and 

surveillance conducted under the agreement were based on sound 

scientific data or risk assessments; and 

 the required means of identifying pathways of pest and disease 

introduction. 

 

Funding. TDA would be required to provide money to an institution of 

higher education to carry out plant pest and disease detection and 

surveillance under a cooperative agreement if the department determined 

that: 

 

 the institution was in a region of the state that had a high risk of 

being affected by plant pest and disease, based on criteria specified 

in the bill; and  

 the supported detection and surveillance would likely prevent plant 

pest and disease and would provide a comprehensive approach to 

complement federal and state detection efforts. 

 

An institution of higher education would have to use any money received 

under a cooperative agreement to carry out plant pest and disease 

detection and surveillance approved by TDA. The non-state share of the 
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cost of carrying out a cooperative agreement could be provided in-kind, 

including by covering certain indirect costs TDA considered appropriate. 

TDA could not consider an applicant's ability to pay or cover non-state 

costs when deciding whether to enter into a cooperative agreement with 

the applicant.  

 

Reporting requirements. An institution of higher education that 

conducted a plant pest and disease detection and surveillance activity 

using money provided under the bill would be required to submit a report 

to TDA describing the purposes and results of the activity within 90 days 

of the date the activity was completed.  

 

Threat identification and mitigation program. TDA would have to 

establish a threat identification and mitigation program to determine and 

address threats to the domestic production of crops. Under this program 

TDA would be required to: 

 

 develop risk assessments for potential threats from foreign sources 

to the Texas agricultural industry; 

 describe the status of plant pests and diseases present in the state 

and related management strategies; 

 collaborate with the State Seed and Plant Board and interested 

parties; and  

 implement action plans to assist in the prevention of new or highly 

consequential plant pests and diseases. 

 

By September 1 of each year, TDA would be required to submit to the 

appropriate legislative committees a report on these action plans, 

including an accounting of money spent in connection with the plans.  

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2021.  

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 2089 would provide an effective way to detect and prevent plant pests 

and diseases that could pose a serious threat to the Texas agriculture 

industry by requiring the Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) to enter 

into cooperative agreements with institutions of higher education and 

creating a threat identification and mitigation program.  
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The agriculture industry in Texas can be vulnerable to new plant pests and 

diseases, which may be difficult and expensive to contain or eradicate 

once established. The ongoing efforts to contain a new, invasive form of 

fungal pest that affects pima cotton grown in certain parts of the state 

exemplifies this type of threat. HB 2809 would address such threats by 

requiring TDA to enter into cooperative agreements with institutions of 

higher education to identify problems and solutions related to plant pest 

and disease before they became too extensive or costly. Cooperation 

between the state and institutions of higher education also could help to 

secure federal funding for pest and disease management.  

 

The cooperative agreements required by the bill also would support the 

surveillance and detection of pests and diseases related to living plant 

matter that is frequently transported across the state. Improved 

surveillance and detection would ensure that this transportation was safer 

and less likely to spread pests and diseases. It also would reassure 

recipients of exported Texas agricultural products that these products were 

free of plant pests and diseases.  

 

While the bill does not specifically prohibit TDA from entering into 

cooperative agreements that covered activities already being performed in 

the state, TDA could exercise appropriate oversight to prevent such 

duplication.  

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

HB 2089 would establish cooperative agreements between TDA and 

institutions of higher education that might duplicate some activities 

already performed by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension program. This 

could lead to state money being used to fund redundant programs and 

activities. 
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SUBJECT: Requiring credit access telemarketers to adhere to no-call list regulations 

 

COMMITTEE: Business and Industry — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 8 ayes — C. Turner, Cain, Crockett, Lambert, Ordaz Perez, Patterson, 

Shine, S. Thompson 

 

1 nay — Hefner 

 

WITNESSES: For — Ann Baddour, Texas Appleseed; Jennifer Allmon, The Texas 

Catholic Conference of Bishops; Tracey Whitley; (Registered, but did not 

testify: Joshua Houston, Texas Impact; Molly Weiner, United Ways of 

Texas; Thomas Parkinson) 

 

Against — None 

 

BACKGROUND: Business and Commerce Code sec. 304.051 requires the Public Utility 

Commission of Texas to maintain a no-call list consisting of the name and 

telephone number of each consumer in the state who has requested to be 

on the list and each person in the state's portion of the national do-not-call 

registry. Sec. 304.052 prohibits telemarketers from making calls to a 

telephone number on the Texas no-call list more than 60 days after the 

date the telephone number appears on the current list. 

 

Sec. 304.004(5) exempts state licensees from no-call list telemarketing 

regulations under certain circumstances. 

 

DIGEST: HB 1916 would prohibit a credit access business or its representative from 

making telemarketing calls to consumers on the Texas no-call list unless: 

 

 the consumer had a current contract with the business; or 

 the consumer previously had a contract with the business and the 

call was made before the first anniversary of the date on which the 

contract had been terminated, unless the consumer requested that 

the business or its representative stop calling the consumer.  
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This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2021. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 1916 would close a loophole in current law that allows credit access 

businesses to use their status as state licensees to make unsolicited calls to 

Texans on the state's no-call list. This can result in consumers receiving 

unsolicited telemarketing calls, which defeats the purpose of the no-call 

list and creates an inconvenience to Texans whose privacy and right to 

deny solicitation should be protected.   

 

The bill would protect consumers from predatory lenders who use 

telemarketing to lure low-income borrowers into high-interest loans. In 

Texas, these credit access business loans (also known as payday and auto 

title loans) can carry annual percentage rates as high as 664 percent. 

Because the state has no limit on fees or these loans, Texans can be 

particularly vulnerable to predatory lending. Moreover, the unprecedented 

economic crisis caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and Winter Storm Uri 

has caused widespread financial distress among Texans, making 

consumers even more vulnerable to aggressive telemarketing tactics used 

by predatory lenders.  

 

HB 1916 would not impose an unfair restriction on the lending industry. 

The bill would target credit access businesses because they lack adequate 

consumer protections, such as lending caps and borrower requirements, to 

which competitors such as banks and credit unions must adhere. The 

competitors would not use the no-call list for telemarketing purposes, so 

the bill's treatment of credit access businesses would not be unfair.  

 

The bill would not prevent borrowers from accessing payday or auto title 

loans or prevent lenders from offering these loans to consumers. It simply 

would protect consumers who had elected to be on the no-call list from 

receiving intrusive and unsolicited calls. Credit access businesses with 

existing relationships with customers would not be prevented from 

contacting them or collecting debts.   
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CRITICS 

SAY: 

HB 1916 would unfairly single out payday lenders and auto title loan 

companies for disparate treatment from other state licensees, creating an 

uneven playing field for credit access businesses.  
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SUBJECT: Allowing criminal asset forfeiture funds for services to trafficking victims 

 

COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 8 ayes — Collier, K. Bell, Cason, Cook, Crockett, Hinojosa, A. Johnson, 

Murr 

 

0 nays 

 

1 absent — Vasut  

 

WITNESSES: For — Allison Franklin; (Registered, but did not testify: Jason Sabo, 

Children at Risk; M. Paige Williams, for Dallas County Criminal District 

Attorney John Creuzot; Frederick Frazier, Dallas Police Association and 

State FOP; James Parnell, Dallas Police Association; Jessica Anderson, 

Houston Police Department; Jennifer Allmon, The Texas Catholic 

Conference of Bishops) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — Bruce Kellison, University of Texas at Austin 

 

BACKGROUND: Code of Criminal Procedure (CCP) art. 59.06(c) governs the use of the 

proceeds from property that was taken by law enforcement because it was 

used or intended to be used for certain crimes and then forfeited through 

the civil courts. Law enforcement agencies and prosecutors may share 

forfeited property if they have an agreement with each other as outlined 

by the statute. Current law limits how forfeited property or funds from its 

sale may be used. In general, law enforcement agencies may use forfeited 

property only for law enforcement purposes, and prosecutor’s offices may 

use the property only for official purposes of their offices. Other limits 

and allowances for use of the property include those in CCP art. 59.06 (d-

1), (d-3), and (d-4). 

 

DIGEST: HB 402 would allow prosecutors and law enforcement agencies to use 

certain civil asset forfeiture funds to cover the cost of a contract with a 

city or county program to provide services to domestic victims of 
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trafficking. The funds would have to be from contraband that was used to 

commit or facilitate human trafficking offenses or was intended to 

facilitate such offenses. Proceeds gained from the commission of human 

trafficking offenses or property acquired with proceeds from committing 

human trafficking also could be used for the programs.  

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2021, and would apply to the 

disposition or use of proceeds or property on or after that date, regardless 

of whether the proceeds or property were received before, on, or after the 

date.  

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 402 would provide another way to help human trafficking victims by 

authorizing prosecutors and law enforcement agencies to use proceeds 

from specific civil asset forfeitures for certain victim programs or services 

provided under a contract with a city or county.  

 

Survivors of human trafficking have experienced a heinous crime and 

have long-term needs for services such as therapy, legal aid, and housing. 

Finances of groups providing these services are strained, but local law 

enforcement agencies may have money or assets related to these crimes 

that have been seized and forfeited through the courts. HB 402 would help 

bridge this gap by allowing proceeds from assets seized from human 

trafficking crimes to be used by law enforcement agencies and prosecutors 

to help survivors in their community. 

 

The bill would be in line with other approved uses of forfeiture funds, 

including a requirement under CCP sec. 59.06(t)(1) that contraband going 

to prosecutors or law enforcement agencies that was forfeited from certain 

crimes, including human trafficking, be used for direct victim services or 

for a contract with a local nonprofit organization to provide direct services 

to crime victims. HB 402 would extend an option for similar uses to 

contracts with cities or counties.  

 

The bill would not put demands on entities' forfeiture funds because it is 

limited and discretionary. It would apply only to funds forfeited from 

human trafficking crimes and used for services for domestic victims of 

trafficking and is permissive so no agency would be required to enter into 

any contract with a city or county for services. The bill would not change 
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the core uses and restrictions on the use of forfeiture funds, and any 

further changes would have to be approved by the Legislature. 

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

The Legislature should be cautious about expanding the use of civil asset 

forfeiture funds obtained from certain crimes and directing them to be 

used for specific uses. This could lead to more forfeiture funds being 

directed to specific programs rather than having broad parameters on their 

use and letting individual jurisdictions determine how to spend them.  

 



HOUSE      (2nd reading) 

RESEARCH         HB 1603 

ORGANIZATION bill analysis 4/12/2021   Huberty, Spiller 

 

- 21 - 

SUBJECT: Extending alternative methods for high school graduation requirements 

 

COMMITTEE: Public Education — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 13 ayes — Dutton, Lozano, Allen, Allison, K. Bell, Bernal, Buckley, M. 

González, Huberty, K. King, Meza, Talarico, VanDeaver 

 

0 nays  

 

WITNESSES: For — (Registered, but did not testify: Andrea Chevalier, Association of 

Texas Professional Educators; Heather Sheffield, Decoding Dyslexia and 

Texans Advocating for Meaningful Student Assessment; Chloe Latham 

Sikes, Intercultural Development Research Association; Fatima 

Menendez, MALDEF; Grover Campbell, TASB; Kristin McGuire, 

TCASE; Dena Donaldson, Texas AFT; Barry Haenisch, Texas 

Association of Community Schools; Amy Beneski, Texas Association of 

School Administrators; Paige Williams, Texas Classroom Teachers 

Association; Suzi Kennon, Texas PTA; Starlee Coleman, Texas Public 

Charter Schools Association; Dee Carney, Texas School Alliance; Portia 

Bosse, Texas State Teachers Association) 

 

Against — None 

 

BACKGROUND: Education Code sec. 28.058 requires school districts and charter schools 

to establish an individual graduation committee for students in grades 11 

or 12 who have failed to pass one or two of the five end-of-course exams 

required for graduation. A student must successfully complete the 

required curriculum and additional requirements established by the 

committee to be recommended for graduation. This section expires 

September 1, 2023.  

 

DIGEST: HB 1603 would repeal the September 1, 2023, expiration date for certain 

alternatives to high school graduation requirements for students who have 

failed to pass all of their five required STAAR end-of-course exams. 

 

The bill would repeal the expiration date for the requirement that districts 

and charter schools establish individual graduation committees at the end 
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of or after the junior year of a student who has failed to pass up to two 

end-of-course exams, as well as the expiration date for related reporting 

requirements by schools. 

 

HB 1603 also would repeal the September 1, 2023 expiration date for 

provisions establishing: 

 

 that a student who has failed to pass the Algebra I or English II 

end-of-course exam but receives a proficient score on the Texas 

Success Initiative diagnostic assessment for the corresponding 

subject satisfies the requirement; and 

 

 that criteria be established for the graduation of certain former 

students who entered the 9th grade before the 2011-2012 school 

year and have not performed satisfactorily on a required exam 

after at least three attempts.  

 

The bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2021. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 1603 would make individual graduation committees a permanent and 

effective alternative to evaluate those students who have failed to pass one 

or two of their five required end-of-course exams. Graduation committees 

have been widely supported in public schools by administrators, parents, 

and students because they consider the entirety of a student's work and 

assign additional remediation as well as the completion of a project or 

portfolio in the relevant course. 

 

Since the graduation committee alternative was established by the 

Legislature in 2015 for an initial two-year period, the issue has been 

revisited each session by lawmakers and the expiration dates have been 

extended. This bill would make the committees a permanent fixture of our 

public school system.  

 

All students must pass their required courses to qualify for approval by a 

graduation committee, and HB 1603 would not change that. Unlike Texas, 

many states do not require passage of a standardized test for graduation. 
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The bill moves Texas away from high-stakes testing and allows students, 

especially those with language barriers, testing anxiety, or learning 

disabilities, to stay on the path to graduation. 

 

Schools are not abusing the process as only about 5 percent of graduates 

statewide in 2019 were approved by a graduation committee. About 

21,000 students were assigned to a graduation committee, and 83 percent 

of those students were approved for graduation. 

  

CRITICS 

SAY: 

HB 1603 would permanently lower testing standards for graduation at a 

time when too many students are graduating without being ready for 

success after high school. The most recent data from the Texas Education 

Agency show that 53 percent of high school graduates were college ready 

and about 73 percent were considered ready for either college, the 

workforce, or the military. 

 

It is premature to permanently extend the graduation committee process 

without sufficient data comparing whether students who graduate using 

this alternative do as well after high school as their peers who passed all 

of their required state exams.  

 



HOUSE      (2nd reading) 

RESEARCH         HB 115 

ORGANIZATION bill analysis 4/12/2021   Rodriguez, et al. 
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SUBJECT: Exempting certain multi-campus charities from property taxes 

 

COMMITTEE: Ways and Means — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 10 ayes — Meyer, Thierry, Button, Cole, Guerra, Martinez Fischer, 

Murphy, Noble, Rodriguez, Shine 

 

0 nays 

 

1 absent — Sanford 

 

WITNESSES: For — Amber Fogarty, Mobile Loaves and Fishes; (Registered, but did 

not testify: Dana Harris, Austin Chamber of Commerce; Jennifer Allmon, 

Texas Catholic Conference of Bishops; Kate Alexander, Travis Central 

Appraisal District) 

 

Against — None 

 

BACKGROUND: Tax Code sec. 11.18(a) exempts from taxation the buildings, tangible 

personal property, and certain real property owned by qualifying 

charitable organizations.  

 

Sec. 11.18(d)(23) specifies that this exemption applies to a charitable 

organization engaged in providing housing and related services to certain 

individuals who are unaccompanied, homeless, and have a disabling 

condition. The tax exemption authorized under this section applies only to 

a property that: 

 

 is owned by a charitable organization that has been in existence for 

at least 12 years;  

 is used to provide housing and related services; and 

 is located on or consists of a single campus in a municipality with a 

population of more than 750,000 and less than 850,000 or within 

the extraterritorial jurisdiction of such a municipality. 

 

DIGEST: HB 115 would remove the requirement under Tax Code sec. 11.18 that 

property owned by certain charitable organizations and used to provide 
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housing and related services to certain populations be located on a single 

campus in order to be exempt from taxation. 

 

The bill would take effect January 1, 2022, and would apply only to an ad 

valorem tax year that began on or after that date.  

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 115 would allow certain charitable organizations in Austin to remain 

eligible for a property tax exemption if they expanded their operations to 

additional properties by removing the requirement that exempted property 

be located on a single campus. Some organizations that have been 

successful in providing housing and services to people experiencing 

homelessness and have expanded their operations in order to meet a 

growing demand for their services could lose their tax exemption as a 

result. HB 115 would address this by ensuring that these charitable 

organizations remained eligible for a property tax exemption whether they 

operated from a single campus or multiple properties. The bill would be 

narrowly targeted to apply only to certain organizations and so would 

have a minimal impact on property tax revenues while supporting private 

organizations that provided critical services.  

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

No concerns identified. 

 

NOTES: According to the Legislative Budget Board, HB 115 could result in more 

properties becoming eligible for the ad valorem tax exemption for certain 

charitable organizations, which could reduce taxable property values and 

increase related costs to the Foundation School Program through the 

operation of the school finance formulas. 

 



HOUSE      (2nd reading) 

RESEARCH         HB 1116 

ORGANIZATION bill analysis 4/12/2021   E. Thompson, et al. 
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SUBJECT: Amending the governance of certain toll collection fee and fine structures 

 

COMMITTEE: Transportation — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 13 ayes — Canales, E. Thompson, Ashby, Bucy, Davis, Harris, Landgraf, 

Lozano, Martinez, Ortega, Perez, Rogers, Smithee 

 

0 nays  

 

WITNESSES: For — Enrique Martin, Blueridge Transportation Group; Mark Arnold, 

Hunton Andrews Kurth and Blueridge; (Registered, but did not testify: 

Thamara Narvaez, Harris County Commissioners Court; Thomas 

Parkinson) 

 

Against — Don Dixon; (Registered, but did not testify: Matt Long, 

Fredericksburg Tea Party of Texas) 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: James Bass, Texas Department of 

Transportation) 

 

DIGEST: HB 1116 would provide that a toll collected pursuant to an agreement 

with a toll project entity other than the Texas Department of 

Transportation (TxDOT) would be governed by the fee and fine structure 

of the entity issuing the initial toll invoice. 

 

Except as provided above, an entity operating a toll lane under a 

comprehensive development agreement would have, with regard to toll 

collection and enforcement, the same powers and duties as TxDOT under 

state law governing state highway toll projects. 

 

The bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2021. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 1116 would simplify the process of paying tolls on certain toll roads.  

Currently, drivers using a single continuous road may be unaware that 

they are moving from one tolling authority to another if the road takes 
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them into a different county. Those two segments of toll road operated by 

separate entities also could be administered differently, leading to multiple 

toll invoices with separate transactions and fees. Additionally, if the driver 

misses a violation notice, they cannot pay the fine with a single entity 

because the fines become administratively separated. HB 1116 would 

provide that certain tolls were governed by the fee and fine structure of the 

entity issuing the initial invoice, ensuring that no matter who operated the 

toll road, the toll collections would be uniform. 

 

It is not within the scope of this bill to amend all toll authority regulations 

in the state, just to allow certain tolls to operate in a uniform way. This 

bill presents a simple solution that would provide consistency, curb driver 

confusion, and increase compliance in paying late fees on those toll roads. 

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

HB 1116 would not go far enough in reforming tolling in Texas. Instead 

of different policies for tolling authorities in different regions of the state, 

there should be one unified system to simplify the process. 

 



HOUSE      (2nd reading) 

RESEARCH         HB 1544 

ORGANIZATION bill analysis 4/12/2021   Guillen 

 

- 28 - 

SUBJECT: Qualifying certain land used for sand mining as open-space land 

 

COMMITTEE: Natural Resources — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 9 ayes — T. King, Harris, Bowers, Larson, Lucio, Paul, Price, Ramos, 

Wilson 

 

0 nays 

 

2 absent — Kacal, Walle 

 

WITNESSES: None 

 

BACKGROUND: Under Tax Code sec. 23.52, the appraised value of qualified open-space 

land for property tax purposes is determined based on the category of the 

land using accepted income capitalization methods. The value determined 

by this appraisal may not exceed the market value. Qualified open-space 

land as defined under Tax Code sec. 23.51 includes land that is currently 

devoted principally to agricultural use to the degree of intensity generally 

accepted in the area and that has been used for agriculture for five of the 

preceding seven years. 

 

Under sec. 23.41(a), land designated for agricultural use is appraised at its 

value based on the land’s capacity to produce agricultural products. If the 

determined value of the land exceeds its market value as determined by 

other generally accepted appraisal methods, the land must be appraised by 

the other methods. 

 

DIGEST: HB 1544 would establish that the eligibility of land for appraisal as 

qualified open-space land for property tax purposes would not end 

because the land ceased to be devoted principally to agricultural use if 

certain conditions were met. The land would remain eligible if:  

 

 the landowner intended that the use of the land for agricultural 

purpose would be resumed; 

 the land was used for a sand mining operation; and  
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 the land was reclaimed according to certain standard best practices 

no later than one year after the date the sand mining operation 

began. 

 

The bill would apply only to a sand mining operation overlying the 

Carrizo Aquifer and located within 30 miles of a city with a population of 

more than 500,000 or within one mile of a single-family or multifamily 

residence.  

 

A landowner would have to notify the appraisal office in writing no later 

than 30 days after sand mining operations began on the land that the 

owner intended to ensure that the requirements for eligibility were met. 

 

The bill would require the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 

(TCEQ) by rule to adopt standard best practices for the reclamation of 

land used for sand mining operations. The standards would have to: 

 

 provide for the protection of surface water, groundwater, 

agricultural land, wildlife habitat, and wetlands; 

 require reclamation to occur concurrently with sand mining 

operations and incorporate certain federal best practices; 

 include post-mining reclamation grade standards and slope 

stabilization requirements; 

 require unmarketable excavated material from the land to be used 

as backfill for site restorations; and 

 fulfill other requirements listed in the bill.  

 

TCEQ would have to establish a process to allow a landowner who 

submitted a notice to an appraisal office to obtain a letter from the 

executive director of TCEQ determining whether the land was reclaimed 

according to the best practices adopted under the bill. The landowner 

would have to apply to the director for the determination within 90 days 

after the first anniversary of the date sand mining operations began on the 

land.  

 

The bill would require the executive director to:  
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 send to the chief appraiser of the appraisal district for the county in 

which the land was located notice that the owner had applied for a 

determination letter;  

 issue a letter to the owner stating the determination; and  

 send a copy of the determination letter to the chief appraiser.  

 

Not later than the 20th day after receiving a determination, the landowner 

could appeal the determination to TCEQ, which would have to consider 

the appeal at the next regularly scheduled commission meeting for which 

adequate notice could be given. The landowner and chief appraiser could 

testify at the meeting, and TCEQ could remand the matter to the director 

for a new determination or deny the appeal. A proceeding to appeal a 

determination would not be a contested case for purposes of certain laws 

regarding administrative procedure.  

 

TCEQ could charge an owner seeking a determination letter a fee not to 

exceed the administrative costs for making the determination and issuing 

the letter.  

 

The chief appraiser would have to accept a final determination by the 

executive director as conclusive evidence that land was reclaimed 

according to standard best practices in the time frame required by the bill.  

 

Land on which a sand mining operation began before the effective date of 

the bill would not have its eligibility for appraisal as qualified open-space 

land end if the owner provided notice within 90 days of the bill's effective 

date and the chief appraiser of the district in which the land was located 

had not made a determination that a change in land use had occurred. 

 

The bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2021. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 1544 would incentivize the reclamation of land used for sand mining 

operations by allowing certain land on which such mining occurred to be 

appraised as agricultural use land for property tax purposes if the owner 

reclaimed it. This would both support the Texas economy and better 

protect the state's environment and natural resources.  
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Sand mining is a rapidly growing industry in Texas and contributes to the 

economic health of the regions in which it occurs. However, these 

operations can have negative environmental and other impacts if not 

properly reclaimed. Currently, sand mining operations that take place on 

land overlying the Carrizo Aquifer and do not provide for land 

reclamation may lower the aquifer’s ability to recharge and negatively 

impact surrounding agriculture, wildlife, and residents. Land reclamation 

enables aquifers to recharge by introducing water permeability to the soil, 

restores vegetation, and minimizes noise and dust from mining operations, 

which can be a nuisance and pose a health hazard. Allowing sand mining 

operators to receive property tax appraisals at lower than market values by 

having their land appraised as agricultural use land in exchange for 

conducting reclamation under best practices adopted by the Texas 

Commission on Environmental Quality would support a vital sector of the 

Texas economy while protecting the environment and the Carrizo Aquifer.  

 

HB 1544 would ensure that sand mining operators carried out land 

reclamation in accordance with adopted best practices before receiving the 

agricultural use exemption by requiring TCEQ to issue a letter of 

determination before an appraisal could occur. In addition, the reclamation 

process can improve the quality of the land and soil, and reclaimed land 

can be used for agricultural purposes. Therefore, land used for sand 

mining and then reclaimed could appropriately be appraised under the 

existing agricultural use exemption. 

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

HB 1544 inappropriately would allow sand mining operators to claim the 

agricultural land use exemption. This exemption should be reserved for 

land used for agricultural production, not for aggregate production 

operations. Land used for sand mining and granted property tax 

exemptions by HB 1544 also might not be adequately reclaimed according 

to best practices set by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. 

 

NOTES: According to the Legislative Budget Board, the bill would have an 

indeterminate fiscal impact to the state because the amount of fees 

collected for determination letters and the value and number of acres that 

would qualify for continued open space appraisal under the bill are 

unknown. 
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The bill also could cause a reduction in taxable property values by 

specifying that the eligibility of land for special open space appraisal did 

not end because the land was used for a sand mining operation for a 

limited time. This could increase costs to the Foundation School Fund 

through the operation of the school finance formulas. 

 



HOUSE      (2nd reading) 

RESEARCH         HB 707 

ORGANIZATION bill analysis 4/12/2021   Moody 
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SUBJECT: Requiring HHSC to conduct a study on recovery housing needs 

 

COMMITTEE: Public Health — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 11 ayes — Klick, Guerra, Allison, Campos, Coleman, Collier, Jetton, 

Oliverson, Price, Smith, Zwiener 

 

0 nays  

 

WITNESSES: For — Sheila Hemphill, Texas Right to Know; Elizabeth Henry; 

(Registered, but did not testify: Matthew Lovitt, National Alliance on 

Mental Illness Texas; Alison Mohr Boleware, National Association of 

Social Workers - Texas Chapter; Lee Johnson, Texas Council of 

Community Centers; Devin Driver, Texas Criminal Justice Coalition; 

Ashley Harris, United Ways of Texas) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Lisa Ramirez, Health and Human 

Services Commission) 

 

DIGEST: HB 707 would require the Health and Human Services Commission 

(HHSC) to conduct a study to evaluate the current status of recovery 

housing and the opportunities, challenges, and needs to expand recovery 

housing in Texas. The bill would define "recovery housing" as a shared 

living environment that promoted sustained recovery from substance use 

disorders by integrating residents into the surrounding community and 

providing a setting that connected residents to supports and services that 

promoted sustained recovery from substance use disorders, was centered 

on peer support, and was free from alcohol and drug use. 

 

In conducting the recovery housing study, HHSC would have to: 

 

 identify and evaluate state and federal regulatory deficiencies and 

potential impacts on recovery housing, including impacts on local 

government resources and interests of surrounding communities; 

 create focus groups with interested community stakeholders; 
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 interview stakeholders and experts in recovery housing that 

represented both rural and urban areas; 

 conduct certain site visits to recovery houses demonstrating 

different models of recovery housing in both rural and urban areas; 

and 

 review scholarly research. 

 

By December 1, 2022, HHSC would have to submit a report to the 

Legislature that contained the results of the study and any 

recommendations for legislative or other actions, including policy changes 

and the adoption or implementation of best practices and training and 

technical assistance resources. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2021, and its provisions would 

expire September 1, 2023. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 707 would help identify gaps in recovery housing and support 

services by directing the Health and Human Services Commission to 

conduct a study on recovery housing in Texas. The prevalence of 

substance use disorders in this state creates a clear need to expand the 

availability of recovery supports, including recovery housing, a 

community-based housing model that can help people concentrate on 

treatment in a substance abuse-free environment while accessing peer 

support services. However, the availability and quality of recovery 

housing is largely unknown, which hinders the ability of state and local 

governments to make informed policy decisions and support Texans 

recovering from substance use disorders. HB 707 would provide a more 

accurate understanding of recovery housing in Texas and enable the 

Legislature to make strategic policy decisions in the future.  

 

By identifying gaps in recovery housing, the bill could lead to greater use 

of this recovery support, which would help save lives, reconnect families, 

and increase the well-being of Texans affected by substance abuse. The 

report's findings also could lead to more cost efficient and effective ways 

to provide individuals in recovery from substance use with supportive 

living environments. 
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CRITICS 

SAY: 

HB 707 would require the Health and Human Services Commission to 

include recommended legislative actions in its submitted report, which 

could lead to an expansion of state regulation of and funding for recovery 

housing programs.  

 



HOUSE     HB 766 (2nd reading) 

RESEARCH         Harless 

ORGANIZATION bill analysis 4/12/2021   (CSHB 766 by E. Morales) 

 

- 36 - 

SUBJECT: Entering information on conditions of bond for violent offenses in TCIC 

 

COMMITTEE: Homeland Security and Public Safety — committee substitute 

recommended 

 

VOTE: 9 ayes — White, Bowers, Goodwin, Harless, Hefner, E. Morales, 

Patterson, Schaefer, Tinderholt 

 

0 nays  

 

WITNESSES: For — Kyle Zulkowski, College Station Police Department; (Registered, 

but did not testify: Jennifer Szimanski, CLEAT; M Paige Williams, Dallas 

County District Attorney John Creuzot; Frederick Frazier, Dallas Police 

Association and State FOP; James Parnell, Dallas Police Association; 

Chad Bridges, Fort Bend County DA’s Office; David Sinclair, Game 

Warden Peace Officers Association; Tom Nobis, Harris County 

Republican Party; Noel Johnson, JPCA; Carlos Lopez and Jama Pantel, 

Justices of the Peace and Constables Association of Texas; Ken Shetter, 

One Safe Place; Jimmy Rodriguez, San Antonio Police Officers 

Association; David Scott, TCFV; Katherine Strandberg, Texas 

Association Against Sexual Assault (TAASA); Gyl Switzer and Louis 

Wichers, Texas Gun Sense; Mitch Landry, Texas Municipal Police 

Association; Thomas Parkinson) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — Brian Hawthorne, Sheriffs Association of Texas; (Registered, but 

did not testify: AJ Louderback, Sheriffs Association of Texas) 

 

DIGEST: CSHB 755 would require a magistrate that issued an order imposing a 

condition of bond on a defendant for certain violent offenses to notify the 

sheriff of the condition and provide the sheriff with: 

 

 certain information related to conditions of bond imposed for the 

protection of victims in any family violence, sexual assault or 

abuse, indecent assault, stalking, or trafficking case; 
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 the name and address of any person the condition of bond was 

intended to protect and, if different, the name and address of the 

victim of the alleged offense; 

 the date the order releasing the defendant on bond was issued; and 

 the court that issued the order. 

 

The magistrate would have to provide the information within one day of 

the order being issued. 

 

The sheriff would have to enter the information by the next business day 

into the statewide law enforcement information system maintained by the 

Department of Public Safety (DPS), also known as the Texas Crime 

Information Center (TCIC). The sheriff also would have to make a good 

faith effort to notify any named person the condition of bond was intended 

to protect and, if different, the victim of the alleged offense that the 

defendant had been released on bond. 

 

The clerk of the court would have to send a copy to any named person the 

condition of bond was intended to protect and, if different, the victim of 

the alleged offense by the next business day after the order was issued.  

 

After a magistrate revoked a bond that contained a condition, modified the 

terms or removed a condition of bond, or disposed of the underlying 

criminal charges, the magistrate would have to notify the sheriff within 

one day and provide information to enable the sheriff to modify or remove 

the record in TCIC. The sheriff would have to take action on the record 

within one business day. 

 

The bill would apply to conditions of bond imposed on defendants for the 

following violent offenses: 

 

 murder and capital murder; 

 kidnapping and aggravated kidnapping; 

 indecency with a child; 

 sexual assault and aggravated sexual assault; 

 aggravated assault; 

 injury to a child, elderly individual, or disabled individual; 
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 aggravated robbery; 

 continuous sexual abuse of a young child or children; or 

 any offense involving family violence. 

 

DPS would be required to modify TCIC by December 31, 2021, to enable 

it to accept and maintain the information required under the bill. DPS also 

would have to develop and adopt a form for magistrates and sheriffs to 

facilitate the required data collection and data entry.   

 

The bill would not create liability for any errors or omissions of a sheriff 

caused by inaccurate information provided to the sheriff by a magistrate. 

 

The bill generally would take effect January 1, 2022. Provisions requiring 

DPS to modify TCIC would take effect September 1, 2021. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

CSHB 766 would reduce risk to victims, law enforcement, and other 

affected parties by ensuring they had access to information on conditions 

of bond for certain defendants charged with violent crimes, including 

murder, sexual assault, and family violence. By requiring the entry of such 

conditions into a statewide database and requiring victims to be notified, 

the bill would provide victims, law enforcement, and the community with 

additional protection when a defendant was released on bond. 

 

Conditions of bond are often imposed to protect a victim or other affected 

person and may restrict the defendant from going to certain locations or 

coming into contact with the victim or another person. Currently, law 

enforcement is unable to access information on such conditions in the 

Texas Crime Information Center (TCIC), which results in officers being 

unaware a defendant is out on bond with conditions imposed, leaving 

officers and victims unprotected. By requiring such conditions to be 

entered into TCIC, just as emergency and protective orders are, CSHB 

766 would provide law enforcement with a tool to offer victims and the 

community additional protection. In many cases, violating a bond 

condition is an offense that could result in further action by the judge, and 

having related information accessible in a statewide system would allow 

officers to know immediately if conditions exist, what they were, and if an 

arrest could be made if necessary. 
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CSHB 766 would minimize the workload impact on sheriffs’ offices as it 

would apply only to conditions of bond for a narrow set of violent crimes, 

which are not issued in large amounts of cases. The bill appropriately 

would require sheriffs' offices to receive and enter the conditions of bond 

into TCIC as information sharing already is established between sheriffs' 

offices and courts. By requiring a sheriff's office to enter this data into 

TCIC within one business day after receiving an order from a magistrate, 

CSHB 766 would provide for timely delivery of the information, which is 

critical for protecting victims, law enforcement, and the community. Often 

victims are unaware a defendant is released with conditions on bond, so 

providing this information quickly would enhance public safety. 

Additionally, by defining time in business days, the bill would reduce a 

burden on sheriffs' offices by having data entered only when 

administrative staff was available.  

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

CSHB 766 would implement a statewide requirement for sheriffs' offices 

to enter certain information into TCIC, which could be challenging as 

sheriffs' offices vary in size, capacity, and resources. In addition, counties 

likely vary in the volume of orders imposing conditions of bond, and thus, 

the related data that would have to be entered into TCIC. Getting 

conditions of bond from the magistrate to personnel at the sheriff's office, 

entering data accurately into TCIC, and notifying a victim of the release in 

a timely manner would be a labor intensive process. To help reduce the 

administrative burden, the bill should increase the time frame for data 

entry and victim notification from one business day to three business days. 

A three-day time frame would ensure the requirement of additional entry 

for conditions of bond was reasonable and accounted for varied 

departmental capacities. It also would mirror the required time frames for 

entry of other orders.  
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SUBJECT: Requiring 911 dispatchers be trained to coach CPR over the phone 

 

COMMITTEE: Homeland Security and Public Safety — committee substitute 

recommended 

 

VOTE: 9 ayes — White, Bowers, Goodwin, Harless, Hefner, E. Morales, 

Patterson, Schaefer, Tinderholt 

 

0 nays  

 

WITNESSES: For — Watson Kohankie; Kevin Patel; (Registered, but did not testify: 

Alec Puente, American Heart Association; Bill Kelly, City of Houston 

Mayor's Office; John Hawkins, Texas Hospital Association; Dan Finch, 

Texas Medical Association; Joel Romo, The Cooper Institute/Austin EMS 

Association/Association of Texas EMS Professionals; Shelia Franklin, 

True Texas Project; Thomas Parkinson)  

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Kim Vickers, Texas Commission 

on Law Enforcement) 

 

DIGEST: CSHB 786 would require all telecommunicators in the state to be trained 

during their basic licensing or continuing education courses on how to 

coach cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) over the phone. The training 

would be required to: 

 

 use the most current nationally recognized emergency 

cardiovascular care guidelines; 

 incorporate recognition protocols for out-of-hospital cardiac arrest; 

and 

 provide information on best practices for relaying compression-

only CPR instructions to callers. 

 

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement would be required to adopt 

rules to implement tele-CPR training as soon as practicable after the bill's 

effective date. 
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The bill would take effect September 1, 2021.  

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

CSHB 786 would save the lives of Texans by enabling a bystander, 

coached by a 911 dispatcher over the phone, to perform CPR on the spot 

until paramedics arrived. By requiring dispatchers be trained in tele-CPR 

before they could become licensed or as part of their continuing training, 

people in cardiac arrest could receive CPR sooner, which could result in a 

significant increase in survival rates. Requiring the training to adhere to 

best practices and nationally recognized emergency cardiovascular care 

guidelines, would help to ensure consistent and high-quality standards 

across the state. 

 

A study from the American Heart Association (AHA) indicated the certain 

individuals who received tele-CPR had a 64 percent better chance of 

surviving than those who did not. Unfortunately, not everyone is trained 

in CPR and Texas does not mandate that 911 dispatchers or other licensed 

telecommunicators be trained to coach the lifesaving technique by phone.   

 

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement easily could incorporate the 

training into existing education for telecommunicators, so it would not 

impose any additional costs on the state, counties, or municipalities.  

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

No concerns identified. 
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SUBJECT: Creating a regional associate judge program to assist in guardianship cases 

 

COMMITTEE: Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence — committee substitute recommended 

 

VOTE: 9 ayes — Leach, Davis, Dutton, Julie Johnson, Krause, Middleton, 

Moody, Schofield, Smith 

 

0 nays 

 

WITNESSES: For — Terry Hammond, Texas Guardianship Association; Guy Herman, 

Travis County Probate Court; (Registered, but did not testify: Craig 

Hopper) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Jeff Miller, Disability Rights 

Texas) 

 

On — Drue Farmer 

 

DIGEST: CSHB 79 would create a program for presiding judges of administrative 

judicial regions to appoint associate judges to assist county courts and 

statutory county courts other than statutory probate courts in those regions 

with guardianship proceedings or proceedings for protective services for 

elderly persons and persons with disabilities. 

 

Appointment. The presiding judge of each administrative judicial region 

would be required to confer with the judges of the region's county courts 

and statutory courts with jurisdiction over guardianship or protective 

services proceedings and determine whether there was a need for the 

appointment of a full-time or part-time associate judge to assist the courts 

in conducting those proceedings.  

 

If an associate judge was needed, the presiding judge would have to 

appoint a judge from a list of applicants kept by the Office of Court 

Administration (OCA) who met certain qualifications specified in the bill. 

Before the appointment was made, this list would be provided to each 

judge of a court from which proceedings would be referred. Each of those 
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judges and the presiding judge of the statutory probate courts could 

recommend any of the listed applicants for appointment. 

 

An appointed associate judge would serve the courts in the administrative 

judicial region that were specified by the presiding judge. Two or more 

presiding judges of administrative judicial regions jointly could appoint 

associate judges to serve specified courts in the presiding judges' regions.  

 

An associate judge appointed under the bill to serve in one administrative 

judicial region would be required to reside in that region or in an adjacent 

county during the term of appointment. An associate judge appointed to 

serve in two or more administrative judicial regions could reside 

anywhere in the regions.   

 

Additional rules. Associate judges appointed under CSHB 79 would be 

subject to the rules pertaining to statutory probate court associate judges, 

except to the extent that the provisions of this bill conflicted with those 

rules. They would have the judicial immunity of district judges, and all 

existing immunity granted to an associate judge would continue in full 

force. 

 

Associate judges could not engage in the private practice of law. 

 

Referred proceedings. Under CSHB 79, guardianship or protective 

services proceedings would have to be referred to an associate judge 

appointed under the bill by a general order issued by the judge of each 

court that the associate judge was appointed to serve. A general order 

could be amended or withdrawn at any time by the judge that issued the 

order. A judge of a court the associate judge was appointed to serve also 

could refer a specific guardianship or protective services proceeding to the 

associate judge instead of issuing a general order. 

 

An associate judge could render and sign any pretrial order and 

recommend to the referring court any order after a trial on the merits. The 

proposed order or judgment of an associate judge would become the order 

or judgment of the referring court unless the right to a de novo hearing 

before the referring court was not waived and a request for such a hearing 

was timely filed.  
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An associate judge also would be allowed to refer a complex guardianship 

proceeding back to the referring court for final disposition after 

recommending temporary orders for the protections of a ward. 

 

Term. The term of an associate justice would be four years. However, the 

presiding judge of the administrative judicial region or any successor 

presiding judge could terminate the associate judge's appointment at any 

time. 

 

Salary. An associate judge would be entitled to a salary that was 90 

percent of the salary paid to a district judge as set by the general 

appropriations act. The associate judge's salary would be paid from money 

available from the state and federal governments, county money available 

for payment of officers' salaries, subject to approval of the commissioners 

courts in the counties in which the associate judge served, or a 

combination of the two. 

 

Host county. If an associate judge was appointed to serve in one 

administrative judicial region, the presiding judge of that region would 

determine the host county of the associate judge. If an associate judge was 

appointed to serve in more than one administrative judicial region, the 

presiding judges by majority vote would determine the associate judge's 

host county. The designation of a host county would be subject to the 

approval of the commissioners court of that county.  

 

The host county would be required to provide an adequate courtroom and 

quarters for the associate judge and personnel assisting the judge. An 

associate judge would not have to reside in the host county unless 

otherwise required.  

 

Personnel. The appointing presiding judge or judges of the administrative 

judicial region or regions could appoint necessary personnel to assist the 

associate judge. The salaries of the personnel would be paid from money 

available from the state and federal governments and/or county money 

available for payment of officers' salaries, subject to the approval of the 

commissioners courts of the counties in which the associate judge served.  
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Reappointment. Before reappointing an associate judge, a presiding 

judge of an administrative judicial region would have to notify each judge 

of a court form which proceedings would be referred to the associate 

judge of the presiding judge's intent to reappoint the associate judge. Each 

of those judges and the presiding judge of the statutory probate courts 

could submit a recommendation on whether the associate judge should be 

reappointed. 

 

Visiting associate judges. CSHB 79 would not limit the authority of 

presiding judges of administrative judicial regions to assign judges 

eligible for assignment to assist in processing guardianship proceedings or 

protective services proceedings in a reasonable time.  

 

If an associate judge appointed under the bill was temporarily unable to 

perform the judge's official duties or if a vacancy occurred in the position, 

the presiding judge or judges could appoint a visiting associate judge to 

perform the duties of the associate judge temporarily. A person would not 

be eligible for appointment as a visiting associate judge unless the person 

had served for at least two years as an associate judge appointed pursuant 

to this bill, a district judge, a statutory county court judge, or a statutory 

probate judge. 

 

A visiting associate judge would be subject to the same requirements as an 

associate judge, would be entitled to compensation in an amount to be 

determined by the presiding judges, and would not be considered a state 

employee for any purpose. The prohibition against a state agency entering 

into employment contracts with former or retired employees of the agency 

would not apply to the appointment of a visiting associate judge.  

 

Supervision, training, and evaluation. OCA would be required to assist 

the presiding judges of the administrative judicial regions in:  

 

 monitoring associate judges' compliance with job performance 

standards, uniform practices adopted by the presiding judge, and 

federal and state laws and policies; 

 addressing the training needs and resource requirements of 

associate judges; 
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 conducting annual performance evaluations for associate judges 

and other personnel; and  

 receiving, investigating, and resolving complaints about particular 

associate judges or the associate judge program.  

 

OCA would have to develop procedures and written evaluation forms to 

be used by the presiding judges in conducting the annual performance 

evaluations required by the bill. Each judge of a court that referred 

proceedings to an associate judge could submit to the appropriate 

presiding judges or to OCA information on the associate judge's 

performance during the preceding year. 

 

OCA also would be required to develop caseload standards for associate 

judges to ensure adequate staffing.  

 

The presiding judges of the administrative judicial regions and OCA, in 

cooperation with other agencies, would have to take action necessary to 

maximize the amount of federal money available to fund the use of 

associate judges. OCA could contract for available county, state, and 

federal money from any available source and employ personnel necessary 

to implement and administer the associate judge program. Such personnel 

would be state employees for all purposes. Likewise, the presiding judges 

of the administrative judicial regions, state agencies, and counties could 

contract for federal money available from any source to reimburse costs 

and salaries associated with associate judges and certain personnel and 

also could use available state money and public or private grants for these 

purposes. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2021.  

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

CSHB 79 would create a system of regional specialized guardianship 

courts to provide under-resourced counties with assistance and oversight 

in handling guardianship and protective services proceedings. County 

courts would retain full discretion to decide whether an associate judge 

appointed under the bill was necessary to assist with guardianship cases in 

their county. 

 



HB 79 

House Research Organization 

page 6 

 

- 47 - 

In Texas, depending on the county, guardianship proceedings are heard by 

a statutory probate court, constitutional county court, or statutory court-at-

law. Statutory probate courts have probate judges who are specialists on 

the Estates Code, court investigators who review guardianship filings for 

potential abuse, and court visitors who visit wards. However, most 

counties in Texas do not have these statutory probate courts, and in these 

counties guardianship proceedings are handled by constitutional county 

courts or statutory courts-at-law.  

  

Constitutional county court and statutory court-at-law judges are often 

generalists and may lack relevant legal experience for guardianship 

proceedings. These judges also handle other resource-intensive civil and 

criminal cases and often cannot afford to hire staff dedicated specifically 

to guardianship proceedings or expend the time necessary to handle these 

multi-year, ongoing cases. Despite this lack of resources and 

specialization, judges have a continuing responsibility to the security of 

wards and their estates after a guardianship is established and can be liable 

for damages or injury that occur in relation to their oversight in these 

cases.  

 

It has been estimated that 18,000 guardianship cases are located in 

counties that lack the resources to monitor guardianships effectively and 

efficiently. CSHB 79 would remedy this problem by giving judicial 

administrative regions the option of providing courts with associate judges 

and adequate staff to assist in conducting guardianship and protective 

services proceedings. The associate judge program would be similar to the 

specialized child protection courts (CPC), which have had better outcomes 

than courts that handle child protection cases as part of a regular docket. A 

court that specializes in a particular type of case can focus its efforts on 

and devote added attention to the relevant legal area, and this bill would 

enable the courts of Texas to provide the unique oversight and resources 

that guardianship cases require, improving protections for the state's most 

vulnerable. 

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

No concerns identified. 
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SUBJECT: Allowing Navarro College to offer a bachelor's degree program in nursing 

 

COMMITTEE: Higher Education — committee substitute recommended 

 

VOTE: 10 ayes — Murphy, Pacheco, Cortez, Frullo, Muñoz, Ortega, Parker, 

Raney, C. Turner, J. Turner 

 

0 nays 

 

1 absent — P. King 

 

WITNESSES: For — Will Turner, Baylor Scott & White Medical Center-Waxahachie; 

Kevin Fegan, Navarro College; Kalli Young; (Registered, but did not 

testify: Guy Featherston, Navarro College; Thomas Parkinson) 

 

Against — None 

 

BACKGROUND: Education Code sec. 130.307(b)(1) allows a public junior college to offer 

a baccalaureate degree program only if its junior college district had a 

taxable property valuation amount of not less than $6 billion in the 

preceding year.  

 

DIGEST: CSHB 885 would create an exception to the requirement that a junior 

college district meet a certain threshold for taxable property valuation to 

offer a baccalaureate degree program. The exception would be for a 

nursing degree program offered by Navarro College if the degree program 

met other statutory requirements for approval by the Texas Higher 

Education Coordinating Board. 

 

The bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2021. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

CSHB 885 would meet a growing demand for highly educated nurses to 

serve in Navarro County's seven hospitals by allowing Navarro College, a 

public community college, to offer a bachelor of nursing degree program. 

The baccalaureate degree program would complement Navarro College's 
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successful associate degree nursing program and would provide an 

affordable option for local students who are most likely to work in the 

area after receiving their degrees. 

 

The program could be initiated with existing resources because Navarro 

College has the infrastructure and faculty in place, and it is not expected 

to result in increased property tax rates. It would have to be approved by 

the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, which must consider 

whether the program would unnecessarily duplicate degree programs 

offered by other higher education institutions and whether the college has 

long-term plans to finance the program and recruit any necessary faculty, 

among other factors. 

 

While some say that the bill should be expanded to allow all junior 

college districts with taxable property valuation amounts of less than $6 

billion to offer bachelor degree programs, it is appropriate for the 

Legislature to carve out exemptions for a community college that has 

demonstrated the need and resources to implement a bachelor degree 

program in a specific discipline, as has previously been done. 

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

CSHB 885 could create an unfair advantage for Navarro College by 

exempting it from a legislatively enacted limitation on when a junior 

college may qualify to offer a bachelor's degree program. It would be 

better public policy to amend the bill to apply the exemption to all junior 

college districts.   
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SUBJECT: Creating offense for continuous sexual abuse of disabled individual 

 

COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 8 ayes — Collier, K. Bell, Cason, Cook, Hinojosa, A. Johnson, Murr, 

Vasut 

 

1 nay — Crockett 

 

WITNESSES: For — Eric Carcerano, Chambers County District Attorney’s Office;  

(Registered, but did not testify: M. Paige Williams, for Dallas County 

Criminal District Attorney John Creuzot; George Craig, Houston Police 

Department; John Hubert, Kleberg and Kenedy Counties District 

Attorneys Office; Katherine Strandberg, Texas Association Against 

Sexual Assault; John Chancellor, Texas Police Chiefs Association; 

Thomas Parkinson) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Shea Place, Texas Criminal 

Defense Lawyers Association) 

 

BACKGROUND: Penal Code sec. 21.02 establishes the offense of continuous sexual abuse 

of a child or children. The offense must involve committing two or more 

acts of sexual abuse, as defined in the statute, against one or more victims, 

during a period of 30 days or more.  

 

The offense of continuous sexual abuse of a child is a first-degree felony 

punishable by imprisonment for life or for a minimum of 25 years or 

maximum of 99 years. 

 

DIGEST: HB 375 would expand the criminal offense of continuous sexual abuse of 

a child to include continuous sexual abuse of a disabled individual. 

Disabled individuals would be defined as individuals who because of age 

or physical or mental disease, defect, or injury were substantially unable 

to protect themselves from harm or to provide food, shelter, or medical 

care for themselves, or who had one or more of the following: 
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 developmental disability, as defined in Human Resources Code 

sec. 112.042; 

 intellectual disability, as defined in Health and Safety Code sec.  

591.003; or 

 traumatic brain injury, as defined in Health and Safety Code sec. 

92.001. 

 

The bill would amend relevant statutes that refer to the continuous sexual 

abuse of a child to include individuals with a disability. These codes 

include the Civil Practice and Remedies Code, the Code of Criminal 

Procedure, the Education Code, the Family Code, the Government Code, 

the Health and Safety Code, the Occupations Code, the Property Code, 

and the portion of the Penal Code relating to human trafficking. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2021, and would apply to offenses 

committed on or after that date. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 375 would help protect individuals who are disabled and cannot give 

consent for sexual encounters by expanding the existing criminal offense 

for continuous sexual abuse of a child to include continuous sexual abuse 

of a disabled individual.  

 

The current offense is designed to address ongoing, serious sexual abuse 

of the most vulnerable individuals, and HB 375 would be consistent with 

that. The disabled individuals who would be covered by the bill are unable 

to consent and often unable to protect themselves or come forward when 

abuse happens, and they deserve the protection that HB 375 would afford. 

The bill would ensure that Texas could address situations like one in 

Arizona in 2018 in which an incapacitated woman living in a nursing 

home gave birth after being sexually assaulted. 

 

Like the current law for continuous sexual abuse of children, this bill 

would require the offense to involve multiple acts over a certain period 

and would be used in appropriate situations.  

 

The definition of disabled individual is narrowly drawn to apply to those 

who are disabled and cannot give consent. 
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CRITICS 

SAY: 

The Legislature should be cautious about expanding the offense of 

continuous sexual abuse of a child. As this offense is broadened, there 

could be pressure to expand it to other groups or to charge individuals 

with it in cases that would be more appropriately charged with other 

felony offenses. 

 

OTHER 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

The language in the bill should be drawn more narrowly so that it would 

be clear that it could not be interpreted broadly enough to apply to 

consensual situations. 
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SUBJECT: Limiting liability and sanctions in connection with smoke 

 

COMMITTEE: Agriculture and Livestock — committee substitute recommended 

 

VOTE: 8 ayes — Burns, Anderson, Bailes, Cole, Cyrier, Guillen, Rosenthal, Toth 

 

0 nays 

 

1 absent — Herrero 

 

WITNESSES: For — Charles Maley, South Texans Property Rights Association; Justin 

Penick and Rob Hughes, Texas Forestry Association; (Registered, but did 

not testify: Eric Opiela, South Texans' Property Rights Association; Lee 

Parsley, Texans for Lawsuit Reform; Peyton Schumann, Texas and 

Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association; J Pete Laney, Texas 

Conservation Association For Water and Soil; Harold Stone, Texas Farm 

Bureau; Joe Morris, Texas Forestry Association; Kenneth Hodges) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Dan Hunter, Texas Department of 

Agriculture) 

 

BACKGROUND: Natural Resources Code sec. 153.048 establishes the requirements for a 

person to qualify as a certified and insured prescribed burn manager by 

the Prescribed Burning Board. The requirements include completion of an 

approved training program, payment of a fee, and meeting certain 

insurance standards set by the board.  

 

DIGEST: CSHB 2004 would establish that a burn boss who was a certified and 

insured prescribed burn manager as defined by statute would not be liable 

for property damage, personal injury, or death caused by or resulting from 

smoke that occurred more than 300 feet from the burn. This exemption 

would not apply to a burn boss who committed gross negligence or 

intentionally caused property damage, personal injury, or death. 
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The Texas Department of Agriculture could not take disciplinary action 

against a certified and insured burn manager in relation to a prescribed 

burn on the basis that the burn resulted in emissions or was a nuisance.  

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2021, and would apply only to a 

cause of action that accrued on or after that date.  

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

CSHB 2004 would help prevent forest fires and maintain soil health by 

ensuring that certified, insured prescribed burn managers were able to 

conduct their work without being held liable for smoke that traveled more 

than 300 feet from a burn site. 

 

Prescribed burning is a critical tool to protect life and property in the state. 

This burning is especially important in areas known as Wildland Urban 

Interfaces (WUIs), where there is a heightened threat of catastrophic 

wildfires. Reducing liability originating from runaway smoke for certified 

and insured burn managers as well as shielding them from a weaponized 

complaint process would protect this vital industry and allow necessary 

prescribed burning to continue. 

 

Texas has about 70 certified and insured burn managers. The disruption 

caused by unwarranted claims poses a serious risk to the entire industry. 

Burn managers are able to control many aspects of a prescribed burn, but 

they are unable to control the wind. Limiting their liability in relation to 

this uncontrollable factor would ensure that lawsuits did not unnecessarily 

affect prescribed burns. Provisions in statute governing the immediate 

area around the burn, as well as adjacent roadways, would remain in 

effect. Burn managers would still have responsibility for smoke within 

300 feet of the burn site, and the bill would contain no relief for damage 

caused by fire. 

 

The bill would prevent the chilling effect on prescribed burns created by 

unfounded complaints made against burn managers. These complaints, 

which often do not adequately establish the prescribed burn as the source 

of the smoke, place an unreasonable burden on burn managers. Such 

complaints are especially prevalent in WUIs where a growing population 

is surrounded by wildland that requires regular prescribed burning. Rather 

than face regular complaints, many burn managers are choosing not to 
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operate in these areas and some insurance carriers are no longer offering 

the insurance coverage necessary to be certified as a burn manager. Burn 

managers who continue to operate in these areas are more likely to 

increase their prices, which could put a financial strain on residents and 

local governments or price them out of prescribed burning by a certified 

and insured burn manager entirely.  

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

No concerns identified.  
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SUBJECT: Entering data on missing persons, unidentified bodies in national database 

 

COMMITTEE: Homeland Security and Public Safety — committee substitute 

recommended 

 

VOTE: 9 ayes — White, Bowers, Goodwin, Harless, Hefner, E. Morales, 

Patterson, Schaefer, Tinderholt 

 

0 nays  

 

WITNESSES: For — Lynn Holt, Justices of the Peace and Constables Association of 

Texas; Brian Hawthorne, Sheriffs Association of Texas; Alice 

Almendarez; David Fritts; (Registered, but did not testify: Jennifer 

Szimanski, CLEAT; Andy Kahan and Sydney Zuiker, Crime Stoppers of 

Houston; Tom Nobis, Harris County Republican Party; Noel Johnson, 

JPCA; Carlos Lopez and Jama Pantel, Justices of the Peace and 

Constables Association of Texas; Kathy Mitchell, Just Liberty; Jimmy 

Rodriguez, San Antonio Police Officers Association; AJ Louderback, 

Sheriffs Association of Texas; Michael Fossum; Zoila Vega-Marchena) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Thomas Parkinson) 

 

DIGEST: CSHB 1419 would require a law enforcement agency, on receiving a 

report of a missing child or missing person, to enter into the National 

Missing and Unidentified Persons System (NamUs) within 60 days of 

receiving the report the name of the missing child or person, all available 

identifying features, and all available information describing any person 

believed to have taken or retained the missing child or person. The bill 

would be known as John and Joseph’s Law. 

 

A justice of the peace or a medical examiner investigating the death of an 

unidentified person would have to enter all available identifying features 

of the unidentified body into NamUs within 10 working days after one or 

more identifying features were determined or within 60 days after the 

investigation began, whichever was earlier. 
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Examples of identifying features would include fingerprints, dental 

records, physical characteristics, and a description of the clothing worn 

when last seen or found on the body. 

 

Immediately after the return of the missing child or person or the 

identification of the unidentified body, the local law enforcement having 

jurisdiction of the investigation would have to notify NamUs. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2021, and would apply only to the 

report of a missing person or child that was made or the investigation of a 

death of an unidentified person that commenced on or after that date. 

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

CSHB 1419 would help bring closure to the loved ones of missing persons 

and reduce the anguish families endure by empowering law enforcement 

to use a tool that could resolve cases more quickly. Every year, thousands 

of people go missing and many unidentified bodies are found but not 

matched to a missing person. The bill would offer a way to bridge the gap 

between missing persons and unidentified bodies by requiring the use of a 

centralized database of records and identifying information that would 

help law enforcement and loved ones solve missing persons cases. 

 

The National Missing and Unidentified Persons System (NamUs) is a 

national resource for missing, unidentified, and unclaimed persons cases 

throughout the United States. Funded and administered by the National 

Institute of Justice through a cooperative agreement with the University of 

North Texas Health Science Center, all NamUs resources are provided to 

law enforcement, medical examiners, and family members of missing 

persons at no cost. The system helps agencies conserve resources and 

solve missing persons cases by ensuring nationwide access to important 

identifying information and other data.  

 

While some law enforcement agencies use NamUs as an investigative 

tool, Texas state law currently does not require information relating to 

missing persons or unidentified remains to be entered into NamUs. Just as 

several other state have done, Texas should require all law enforcement 

agencies, justices of the peace, and medical examiners to use NamUs to 

ensure access to complete information and to be sure that a life-saving, 
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effective, and invaluable tool for law enforcement and the public did not 

continue to be underutilized.  

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

No concerns identified. 
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SUBJECT: Excluding certain evidence from use in child abuse and neglect cases  

 

COMMITTEE: Juvenile Justice and Family Issues — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 9 ayes — Neave, Swanson, Cook, Frank, Leach, Ramos, Talarico, Vasut, 

Wu 

 

0 nays   

 

WITNESSES: For —Judy Powell, Parent Guidance Center; Julia Hatcher, Texas 

Association of Family Defense Attorneys; Jeremy Newman, Texas Home 

School Coalition; Cecilia Wood; (Registered, but did not testify: Andrew 

Brown, Texas Public Policy Foundation; Jackie Schlegel) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Marta Talbert, Department of 

Family and Protective Services) 

 

BACKGROUND: Family Code sec. 261.001(4) defines neglect for the purposes of 

investigations based on reports of child abuse or neglect as including 

certain specified behaviors and excluding certain other specified behaviors 

of the person responsible for a child's care, custody, or welfare. 

 

Family Code sec. 161.001 establishes the grounds under which a court 

may terminate the parent-child relationship and contains provisions 

prohibiting a court from terminating the parent-child relationship based on 

evidence of certain behaviors and categorizations of the parent. 

 

Family Code sec. 262.116 prohibits the Department of Family and 

Protective Services (DFPS) from taking possession of a child based on 

evidence of certain behaviors or categorizations of a parent. 

 

DIGEST: HB 2536 would prohibit a court from ordering the involuntary termination 

of the parent-child relationship based on evidence that the parent sought 

an opinion from more than one medical provider relating to the child's 

medical care, transferred the child's medical care to a new medical 
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provider, or transferred the child to another health care facility. The 

Department of State Health Services also could not take possession of a 

child based on evidence that the parent took one of these actions.  

 

The bill would exclude a decision by a person responsible for a child's 

care, custody, or welfare to take any of the above actions from behavior 

that would constitute neglect of a child under current law. 

 

The bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2021.  

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

HB 2536 would help ensure that families with medically fragile children 

were protected from unnecessary removal of their child by establishing 

that certain actions commonly taken on legitimate grounds, including 

seeking a second medical opinion or transferring a child to a different 

medical provider or facility, could not be used as evidence of child abuse 

or neglect in proceedings against the parent. Concerns have been raised 

that these legitimate actions taken by parents of medically fragile children 

could be misinterpreted as evidence of child abuse or neglect, which can 

result in involuntary termination of the parent-child relationship or the 

Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) taking possession 

of a child.  

 

In a recent case a medically fragile child was taken from the child's family 

for more than five months due to a report from a doctor who had not 

treated the child in the past, interacted with the parents, nor read the 

child's full report. Doctors' opinions are typically given significant weight 

and met with acceptance by DFPS case workers and courts, even if the 

doctors did not personally examine the child on whom they make a report, 

which can result in children being wrongfully taken from their homes. 

These cases are painful and often expensive for the parents and can leave 

children confused and traumatized. HB 2536 would enable parents to feel 

safe in seeking second medical opinions or deciding to transfer their 

child's medical care to a new provider or different facility despite the 

weight that comes with a doctor's opinion or report. 
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HB 2536 would protect the right of families to make appropriate decisions 

for the care of their medically fragile children and for the stability of their 

families, while also ensuring that the well-being of the child was not at 

risk. There are cases that warrant the involuntary removal of a child from 

the child's parents, and the opinions of medical professionals in these 

cases are an important part of the process for weighing the safety of the 

child against the possibility of an unnecessary removal. The bill would not 

take away the discretion of doctors to make reports on child abuse or 

neglect. Rather, it would ensure that all parties involved could take the 

steps they believed were necessary to protect the interests of vulnerable 

children, whether those steps included a medical professional's report to 

DFPS or a parent's decision to seek a second medical opinion.   

 

CRITICS 

SAY: 

HB 2536 could hinder the state's ability to protect vulnerable children by 

prohibiting the consideration of potentially relevant evidence in the cases 

of medically fragile children. In addition, the bill would prohibit the 

immediate removal of a child under certain circumstances when such 

removal could be warranted to ensure the child's safety.   

 

 


