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The House convenes at 10 a.m. 
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COMMITTEE: Higher Education — committee substitute recommended 

 

VOTE: 5 ayes — Branch, Patrick, Alonzo, Howard, Raney 

 

3 nays — Clardy, Darby, Murphy  

 

1 absent — Martinez  

 

 

WITNESSES: For — (Registered, but did not testify: George Torres, Texas Guaranteed 

Student Loan Corp.) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — Sarah Kirkle, Sunset Advisory Commission; (Registered, but did 

not testify: Raymund Paredes, Texas Higher Education Coordinating 

Board) 

 

BACKGROUND: The Legislature created the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 

in 1965. According the Sunset Advisory Commission, the board develops 

and monitors the long-range strategic plan for higher education. It collects, 

analyzes, and distributes information on higher education. It reviews and 

approves degree programs and the construction of major facilities at public 

institutions of higher education. The board administers state financial aid 

programs and distributes related funds to institutions of higher education. 

It also administers state and federal grant programs to support higher 

education goals. 

 

The agency’s governing board consists of nine public members appointed 

by the governor. They serve staggered six-year terms and the chair is 

chosen by the governor. The commissioner of higher education is 

appointed by the agency’s board. The agency employed 274 people in 

fiscal 2011.  

 

In fiscal 2012, the board’s operating budget was $756.6 million. The  

SUBJECT:  Continuing the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 11 — 30-1 (Hegar) 
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vast majority of the funds — 96 percent — passed through to institutions 

for grants and student financial aid, while the remainder, $32 million, 

funded the board’s operations. About 89 percent of the board’s total 

budget was general revenue. 

 

DIGEST: CSSB 215 would continue the Texas Higher Education Coordinating 

Board, change the makeup of its governing board, revise its 

responsibilities, and alter or eliminate certain programs under its purview. 

 

Changes to the agency’s board. CSSB 215 would make changes to the 

governing board’s membership and to its responsibilities. 

 

One-third of members would be experienced in higher-education 

governance or administration. The bill would require that at least one-

third of members of the agency's board possess experience in the field of 

higher education governance or administration so that the board included 

experience from both general academic teaching institutions and public 

junior colleges or public technical institutes. Prior experience of the 

governing board of a private or public institution of higher education 

would qualify. 

 

Public comment. CSSB 215 would require the agency’s board to provide 

opportunities for public comment at each of its meetings. 

 

Advisory committees. The bill would require the board’s advisory 

committees to report their recommendations directly to the board, rather 

than to agency staff. The board could adopt rules about advisory 

committee size, qualifications for membership, and compliance with open 

meetings requirements.  

 

Negotiating rule making. CSSB 215 would require the board to engage in 

negotiated rule making when developing any rule, policy, or procedure if 

the board determined an issue would be controversial and self-initiated the 

process or if negotiated rulemaking was requested by at least half of the 

affected institutions and they agreed to share in the costs.  

 

Long-term planning requirements. The bill would require the board to 

develop a long-range master plan for higher education. The plan would: 

 

 establish long-term, measurable goals and provide strategies for 

implementing those goals; 
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 assess the higher education needs of each region of the state; 

 provide for regular evaluation and revision of the plan, as the board 

considered necessary, to ensure the relevance of goals and 

strategies;  

 take into account input from stakeholders and the general public; 

and  

 take into account the resources of private or independent 

institutions of higher education. 

 

The board would deliver and report to the governor, the lieutenant 

governor, the speaker, and the higher education committees of the Senate 

and House by December 1 of each even-numbered year. The report would 

cover the state’s progress in meeting the goals established in the long-term 

plan. 

 

Certificate and degree programs. CSSB 15 would remove the board’s 

authority to order the elimination or consolidation of low-producing 

certificate or degree programs (those that produce a low number of 

degrees or certificates) and instead would require the board to recommend 

action to the governing board of the institution.   

 

If an institution’s governing board did not accept a recommendation by the 

agency’s board to close or consolidate a low-producing degree program, 

the institution would identify the programs recommended for 

consolidation or elimination on its next legislative appropriations request. 

 

The bill would base a low-producing program review on the number of 

degrees or certificates awarded by a program, not the graduation rate.  

 

Board approval of academic programs. A new degree or certificate 

program would only be created with the specific prior approval of the 

board. Before beginning preliminary planning of such a program, an 

institution would have to notify the board. As part of the approval process, 

the board would review each proposed program to ensure that it: 

 

 was needed by the state and local community and would not 

unnecessarily duplicate programs offered by other institutions; 

 had adequate funding; 

 had the necessary faculty and other resources to ensure student 

success; and 

 met academic standards. 
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The board would review the number of degrees or certificates awarded by 

these new programs at least every four years. It would review each new 

program every 10 years using the same criteria it would for a new 

program. 

 

Compliance monitoring. CSSB 15 would direct the agency’s board to 

adopt rules to establish an agency-wide, risk-based compliance monitoring 

function for funds allocated by the board, including student financial aid, 

academic support grants, and any other grants, to ensure that those funds 

were distributed in accordance with applicable law and board rules. The 

board also would monitor data used by the board for financial and policy 

decisions, as supplied by institutions of higher education, to ensure the 

data were reported accurately. The bill would stipulate certain criteria to 

be used when establishing the risk-based compliance monitoring. 

 

If the board’s monitoring processes determined that funds awarded by the 

board to an institution of higher education or independent or private 

institution had been misused or misallocated by the institution, the board 

would have to present its determination to the institution and provide an 

opportunity for a response. The board would report its conclusion and the 

institution’s response to the governor and the Legislative Budget Board.  

 

If the board’s monitoring process determined that funds awarded by the 

board to an institution of higher education had included errors in the 

institution’s data reported for formula funding, the board would calculate a 

revised appropriations amount for the applicable fiscal year. The 

information would be sent to the governor, Legislative Budget Board, and 

comptroller for consideration as the basis for budget execution or other 

appropriate action.  

 

The board could partner with internal audit offices at institutions of higher 

education and the state auditor.  

 

B-On-Time loan program. The bill would remove two-year universities 

from eligibility for the B-On-Time loan program.  

 

CSSB 215 would specify that graduation requirements for the program 

included total amount of time or credit hours spent at any institution, not 

just an institution eligible for funding under the program. 
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Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corp. The Texas Guaranteed Student 

Loan Corp. would change to a nonprofit corporation under Business 

Organizations Code, ch. 22 from a public nonprofit corporation created by 

general law on or immediately after September 1, 2013. Student loan 

borrower information collected, assembled, or maintained by the 

corporation would be confidential and not subject to public disclosure. 

 

Some of the financial education functions of the corporation would be 

transferred to the board. 

 

Loan default prevention program. CSSB 215 would direct the board to 

create a student loan default prevention and financial aid literacy pilot 

program to be implemented by January 1, 2014. The program would be 

designed to ensure that students were informed consumers with regard to 

all aspects of student financial aid, including: 

 

 the consequences of borrowing to finance a student’s education; 

 the financial consequences of a student’s academic and career 

choices; and  

 strategies for avoiding student loan delinquency and default. 

 

The board would select at least one general academic teaching institution, 

public junior college, private or independent institution of higher 

education, and career school or college to participate in the program. SB 

215 would establish criteria for selecting institutions to participate in the 

program, including a default rate of more than 20 percent or a default rate 

growing at a faster percentage than those of other post-secondary 

institutions. The board would establish rules to implement the program. 

By January 1 of each year, the board and each participating institution 

would submit a report on the pilot program to the governor, lieutenant 

governor, and the speaker. The pilot program would expire on December 

31, 2020. 

 

Articulation agreements. The bill would require public junior colleges 

that offered a B.A. program to enter into articulation agreements for the 

first five years of the program with one or more general academic teaching 

institutions. 

 

Consolidation of two programs. CSSB 215 would fold the Advanced 

Technology Program into the Norman Hackerman Advanced Research 

Program. 



SB 215 

House Research Organization 

page 6 

 

- 6 - 

 

Eliminating certain programs. The bill would eliminate 19 unnecessary 

and unfunded programs and 4 unnecessary reports. 

 

Next sunset review. CSSB 215 would continue the coordinating board 

until 2025.  

 

Effective date. The bill would take effect on September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

CSSB 215 would continue the Texas Higher Education Coordinating 

Board for another 12 years and make needed changes to the makeup of the 

board, its rule-making authority, and oversight powers. The bill also 

would eliminate unnecessary and unfunded programs and reports. 

 

Negotiated rule making. CSSB 215 would provide for negotiated rule-

making between the board and institutions of higher education if the board 

determined that the development of a rule would be controversial or if at 

least one-half of the affected institutions requested negotiated rulemaking 

and agreed to share the costs. CSSB 215’s approach would allow for 

negotiated rulemaking when appropriate. The vast majority of the board’s 

rulemaking should be approached through normal procedures and the bill 

would not hamper the board’s ability to make rules in a timely manner. 

 

Program review and approval. CSSB 215 would preserve local control 

while safeguarding taxpayer and institutional resources by removing the 

board’s ability to close low-performing degree programs. It still would 

review them and advise the governing board of institutions if a program 

should be closed. 

 

The bill also would clarify the criteria the board would use when 

evaluating new programs. Current law does not list criteria for evaluating 

programs nor does it distinguish between different types of review.  

 

The state needs the board to review and approve programs to prevent 

institutions from expending resources planning for unnecessary or 

redundant new programs and the bill would properly preserve these 

valuable functions. 

 

Board membership. CSSB 215 would require that one third of the 

members of the agency’s governing board had experience with higher 

education to allow the board to better direct policy. Currently, due to a 
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lack of prior experience, the board is heavily reliant on agency staff as its 

source of expertise. The bill would count prior service on an institution’s 

governing board as qualifying in order to expand the pool beyond 

individuals who had worked in academia. The bill only would require one 

third of the board to have this experience. The governor still would have 

wide discretion to appoint the remaining two-thirds of the board. 

 

It would not be appropriate to open up the requirement that one-third of 

the board members have higher-education experience to those with pre-

school-to-grade-16 experience because that would be too broad. It would 

be better to seek those with higher education experience because that is the 

direct knowledge deficiency the board most urgently needs to address.  

 

Changes to the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corp. CSSB 215 

would transform the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corp. from a public 

non-profit corporation into a private non-profit. This change would allow 

it to make a one-time gift to the state of $250 million to be used for higher 

education purposes, such as a foundation to reimburse institutions of 

higher education for their Hazelwood tuition exemption costs. 

 

CSSB 215 would give the student loan corporation new purpose. The 

student loan corporation, which previously administered the state’s portion 

of the Federal Education Loan Program, has been adrift since the federal 

government ended the program. Transforming the corporation into a 

private, nonprofit entity would allow it to pursue additional contracts and 

become a regional, if not nationwide entity providing higher-education 

financial aid and other assistance. The bill would preserve the 

corporation’s status as the guarantor agency for the state under the federal 

Higher Education Act. 

 

B-On-Time. CSSB 215 would remove public two-year institutions from 

B-On-Time eligibility because their underuse does not justify the 

administrative burden. These students should be directed to Texas Equal 

Opportunity Grants, which are better designed to meet the needs of two-

year institution students, as it allows them to enroll part-time. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

CSSB 215 would not do enough to protect local control and promote 

competition between institutions of higher education. 

 

Negotiated rule making. CSSB 215 should follow the Senate engrossed 

version of the bill by requiring the board to engage institutions of higher 



SB 215 

House Research Organization 

page 8 

 

- 8 - 

education in negotiated rulemaking whenever it is required to consult or 

cooperate with institutions in the development of a policy, procedure, or 

rule. The board has strayed from a data gathering and advisory agency to 

become a regulatory body. The Senate version of the bill, by requiring 

negotiated rulemaking, would ensure institutions of higher education had 

sufficient input into the rules that regulate them. 

 

Program review and approval. CSSB 215 would grant the board too 

much power over the programs institutions of higher education offer or 

would hope to offer. Institutions should be allowed to decide on their own 

which programs they offer. Market competition for students, top faculty, 

and research funding would naturally direct administrations to create 

productive programs and shutter those that under perform. 

 

OTHER 
OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

CSSB 215 should allow any board candidate’s pre-school-to-grade-16 

professional experience to qualify as appropriate experience for board 

membership. Higher education is not a stand-alone part of the education 

process; it is only part of the education pipeline. While the bill’s 

requirement that a third of the board members have higher-education 

experience would deepen the board’s knowledge base, it is too narrow a 

requirement. Preschool-16 experience would add necessary and beneficial 

breadth as well.  

 

NOTES: The Legislative Budget Board estimated that SB 215 would have a 

negative impact of $665,734 to general revenue for fiscal 2014-1015. This 

would be to fund four full-time-equivalent employees for a proposed new 

compliance monitoring function.   

 

The House companion bill, HB 2507 by Anchia, was left pending in the 

House Higher Education Committee on April 3. 

 

The committee substitute to SB 215 differs from the Senate engrossed 

version in several ways. The committee substitute would: 

 

 prohibit the board from ordering the consolidation or 

elimination of a degree or certificate program; 

 base a review of a low-producing program on the number of 

degrees or certificates awarded, not on the program’s graduation 

rate; 

 require the board to engage in negotiated rulemaking with 

affected institutions under certain conditions; 
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 change the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation from a 

public nonprofit organization to a private nonprofit organization; 

 make several changes to the compliance monitoring function; 

 include total amount of time or credit hours spent at any 

institution when determining graduation requirements for the B-

On-Time Program; 

 create the Student Loan Default Prevention and Financial Aid 

Literacy Pilot Program; 

 fold the Advanced Technology Program into the Norman 

Hackerman Advanced Research Program; 

 require the board to consider the resources of private higher 

education institutions in long-range plans for the state; and 

 replace language excluding private institutions with language 

that would include them, where appropriate. 
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COMMITTEE: State Affairs — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 7 ayes —  Cook, Giddings, Frullo, Harless, Hilderbran, Huberty, Smithee 

 

3 nays —  Craddick, Farrar, Geren  

 

3 absent —  Menéndez, Oliveira, Sylvester Turner  

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion resolution, HJR 42) 

For — George Seay, Texans for Term Limits; Tom “Smitty” Smith, 

Public Citizen; (Registered, but did not testify: Chris Howe) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Ken Hodges, Texas Farm 

Bureau) 

 

BACKGROUND: Texas Constitution,  art. 4, sec. 1 provides for the following officers 

constituting the executive department of the state: 

 

 governor; 

 lieutenant governor; 

 secretary of state; 

 comptroller; 

 commissioner of the General Land Office; and 

 attorney general. 

 

DIGEST: SJR 13 would limit to two consecutive terms a person holding an office 

listed in art. 4, sec. 1, or any other state office normally filled by the voters 

in a statewide election, other than a statewide judicial officer. The 

resolution would not limit a person’s eligibility to serve nonconsecutive 

terms.  

 

The resolution would not prohibit a person from continuing to serve in an 

office as a holdover until a successor was qualified. A term served when a 

person was appointed for the remainder of a term to fill a vacancy would 

SUBJECT:  Constitutional amendment providing term limits for certain state offices  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 19 — 27-4 (Birdwell, Estes, Hegar, Williams) 
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not count against their eligibility for subsequent terms. 

 

The resolution would add a temporary grandfathering provision, expiring 

February 1, 2031, to specify that a term of office beginning before January 

1, 2014 would not be counted in determining a person’s eligibility under 

the resolution. 

 

The proposal would be presented to the voters at an election on Tuesday, 

November 5, 2013.  The ballot proposal would read: “The constitutional 

amendment limiting to two the number of consecutive  terms for which a 

person may be elected or appointed to hold the office of governor, 

lieutenant governor, secretary of state, comptroller of public accounts, 

commissioner of the General Land Office, attorney general, commissioner 

of agriculture, or railroad commissioner.” 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SJR 13 would encourage new perspectives and fresh ideas in government. 

Currently, the offices affected by this bill have no term limits, and an 

individual may serve in these offices for an unlimited amount of time 

without any hiatus. The resolution would provide for greater turnover in 

Texas’s major executive branch positions, allowing new energy and new 

candidates to bring their talents to these positions and to state government. 

 

The resolution would make races for elective offices more fair by 

tempering the overwhelming power of incumbency in a campaign. Many 

times, voters re-elect the same officials for years at a time because the 

effect of incumbency and name recognition eliminates competitiveness in 

a race. Voters who vote in races with longstanding incumbents would 

benefit from the opportunity to consider new candidates and have a 

healthier, more substantive policy debate. 

 

The resolution would not unnecessarily erase institutional knowledge 

because it would not impose a lifetime ban. After a break, a person with 

institutional knowledge could run again for an office that person 

previously held. In addition, the benefits provided by term limits and new 

elected officials would outweigh such concerns.  

 

The resolution would apply only to the offices specified because the 

benefits provided by term limits and turnover would be most effective in 

executive offices. To the extent institutional knowledge is a benefit, state 

representatives and the judiciary benefit more from it than do executive 

officers. Also, state representatives and senators are part-time employees 
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who tend naturally to turn over their positions without mandated term 

limits.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SJR 13 inappropriately would take the decision of whom to elect out of 

the voters’ hands. Texas voters have shown in the voting booth that they 

want certain state officers to remain in office for longer than two terms. 

Turnover can happen naturally. Voters may choose to elect a different 

official when they are no longer happy with someone’s service. Imposing 

term limits would take this right away from the voters and force turnover 

even when the public might not want a change.  

 

Public officials benefit from the institutional knowledge that comes with 

experience and a reasonable tenure. Forcing turnover in the offices 

affected by the bill would enforce erasure of this institutional knowledge 

and waste time and resources on training and building that knowledge 

with each new officeholder. 

 

OTHER 
OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SJR 13 should include term limits for state judicial officeholders and state 

representatives and senators. The benefits of fresh energy and new ideas 

provided by term limits would apply to all branches and elected officials 

in state government, not just to the executive offices.  

 

NOTES: According to the fiscal note, the cost to the state of publishing the 

resolution would be $108,921.  

 

The House companion resolution, HJR 42 by Larson, was reported 

favorably as substituted by the House State Affairs Committee on  

March 21. 
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COMMITTEE: Insurance — committee substitute recommended   

 

VOTE: 8 ayes — Smithee, G. Bonnen, Creighton, Morrison, Muñoz, Sheets, 

Taylor, C. Turner 

 

1 nay — Eiland  

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 2791:) 

For — (Registered, but did not testify: Nora Belcher, Texas e-Health 

Alliance; Jennifer Cawley, Texas Association of Life and Health Insurers; 

Marisa Finley, Scott & White Center for Healthcare Policy; David 

Gonzales, Texas Association of Health Plans; John Hawkins, Texas 

Hospital Association; Patricia Kolodzey, Texas Medical Association; 

Katharine Ligon, Center for Public Policy Priorities; Kandice Sanaie, 

Texas Association of Business) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Freddy Warner, Memorial 

Hermann Health System) 

 

On — Steven Browning, Texas Health Insurance Pool; Betty DeLargy, 

Texas Health Insurance Pool; Gary Stankowski; (Registered, but did not 

testify: Doug Danzeiser, Texas Department of Insurance; Tony Gilman, 

Texas Health Services Authority) 

 

BACKGROUND: In 1997, the 75th Legislature made operational the Texas Health Insurance 

Pool to sell health insurance policies to individuals unable to get private 

coverage due to pre-existing health conditions. The "pool," as it is known, 

began offering coverage in 1998, and enrolled more than 23,000 Texans as 

of April 2013.  

 

Insurance Code, sec. 1506.105 prohibits pool premiums from exceeding 

twice the standard risk rate, which is the average private market rate 

charged to a healthy individual for the same coverage. In practice, the 

pool's premiums are set at roughly this amount. In 2011, the pool began 

SUBJECT:  Abolishing the Texas Health Insurance Pool    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 9 — 31-0 
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using portions of insurers' late claims payment penalties to fund sliding 

scale premium reductions for enrollees with incomes below 300 percent of 

the federal poverty level, or about $34,000 for an individual. As of May 

2012, about 3,500 pool enrollees were receiving premium subsidies. 

 

Beginning January 1, 2014, the federal Patient Protection and Affordable 

Care Act (ACA) will require most individuals either obtain health 

insurance or pay a tax penalty. Individuals purchasing insurance in a 

health benefit exchange, an online marketplace of private, government 

regulated health insurance plans, will not be denied coverage or charged 

more based on their health status. 

 

DIGEST: CSSB 1367 would abolish the Texas Health Insurance Pool. 

 

Dissolution. CSSB 1367 would specify that if insurance coverage in 

Texas’ health benefit exchange becomes effective on January 1, 2014, as 

planned, the Texas Health Insurance Pool would issue policies no later 

than December 31, 2013, and would terminate its policies’ coverage as of 

January 1. 

 

Should the exchange be delayed, the pool would continue to issue 

coverage until the exchange was operational, and would terminate its 

policies when the commissioner of insurance determined the pool’s 

enrollees could be expected to have obtained guaranteed issue coverage. 

 

The bill would require that as soon as practicable, the pool’s board of 

directors develop and submit to the commissioner of insurance for 

approval a plan for dissolving the board and the pool after the pool’s 

obligations to issue and maintain health benefit coverage were to 

terminate. 

 

The board’s plan would also transfer to the commissioner and the Texas 

Department of Insurance (TDI) any assets, authority, accumulated rights, 

and continuing obligations of the board and the pool. 

 

CSSB 1367 would allow the commissioner by rule to delay dissolving the 

Texas Health Insurance Pool and collecting and distributing its funds if the 

guaranteed issue of health benefit coverage, such as through the state’s 

health benefit exchange, were delayed, or if the commissioner determined 

the health benefit coverage expected to be available on a guaranteed issue 

basis was not reasonably available to individuals eligible for pool 
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coverage immediately prior to this bill’s enactment. 

 

Assets. CSSB 1367 would transfer to TDI any fund or asset of the Texas 

Health Insurance Pool upon its dissolution and would grant TDI the 

authority to recover pool overpayments or other amounts, including 

subrogation amounts, that the pool would have been authorized to recover 

had it not been dissolved. Any funds collected by TDI during the 

dissolution process would be deposited in the Texas Treasury Safekeeping 

Trust Co. 

 

The bill would extend the pool’s authority to collect premium assessments 

on its health benefit plan issuers until the insurance commissioner 

determined all of the pool’s financial obligations had been met. After 

making this determination, the commissioner either would issue a final 

assessment or refund any surplus monies not designated for premium 

assistance on a pro rata or otherwise equitable basis to the health benefit 

plan issuers. 

 

CSSB 1367 would distribute $5 million from any surplus premium 

assistance funds to the Texas Health Services Authority (THSA). 

Remaining monies would support the Healthy Texas program until 

December 31, 2013, after which they would be used for any 

commissioner-authorized purpose to improve uninsured Texans’ health 

insurance access. Any funds payable to THSA or the Healthy Texas 

program would be subject to audit. 

 

Effective date.  Effective January 1, 2014, CSSB 1367 would repeal 

statutes requiring that employers, health benefit plan issuers, HMOs, and 

others provide notice of potential eligibility for pool coverage to 

individuals as required by the Consolidated Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act of 1985 (COBRA). It would also repeal limits on the 

amount of gross premium receipts that could be paid toward 

administrative costs and fees. 

 

Effective September 1, 2015, the bill would repeal ch. 1506, Insurance 

Code, governing the Texas Health Insurance Pool. 

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 
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SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

CSSB 1367 would dissolve the Texas Health Insurance Pool in an orderly 

manner after it was no longer needed. It is anticipated that nearly all pool 

enrollees would purchase coverage in the new health benefit exchange 

between the start of its open enrollment period, October 1, 2013, and the 

date its policies became effective, January 1, 2014. The exchange is 

expected to offer guaranteed issue plans that have more coverage options 

and increased benefits, such as maternity coverage, and that are more 

affordable than those available in the pool. 

 

CSSB 1367 would wind down the pool in a responsible manner, allowing 

the board of directors to customize a plan to dissolve the pool and 

transferring to TDI any needed authority to collect payments and assets 

and to meet residual obligations, such as unpaid claims. The three-month 

period for pool enrollees to purchase insurance in the exchange and avoid 

a gap in coverage is brief, but the pool has already conducted outreach to 

notify its members of this likelihood and would continue to do so. Should 

the exchange not be functional on January 1, the commissioner of 

insurance would retain the ability to continue coverage of those insured 

through the pool.  

 

The bill would fairly return any insurer overpayment upon the termination 

of the pool and would distribute funds collected from previously assessed 

penalties to improve health care quality and access to care.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

CSSB 1367 would not adequately ensure Texas Health Insurance Pool 

enrollees did not face a gap in their coverage should the Affordable Care 

Act’s health benefit exchanges not be fully functional. The bill would be 

premature and should not be enacted until there is more certainty about the 

implementation of the Affordable Care Act’s many provisions. 

 

NOTES: The House companion bill, HB 2791 by Smithee, was left pending in the 

House Insurance Committee on April 23.  

 

CSSB 1367 differs from the Senate-passed version by more specifically 

defining the allocation of any remaining premium support funds from the 

pool. 
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RESEARCH Carona (Smithee)  
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COMMITTEE: Insurance — committee substitute recommended   

 

VOTE: 9 ayes —  Smithee, Eiland, G. Bonnen, Creighton, Morrison, Muñoz, 

Sheets, Taylor, C. Turner 

 

0 nays  

 

 

WITNESSES: (On companion bill, HB 2788:) 

For — Bob Digneo, AT&T Texas; Richard Marshall, R&Q Quest 

Management Services USA; Michael Mead, M.R. Mead & Co.; 

(Registered, but did not testify: John Marlow, ACE Group; Neftali Partida, 

Phillips 66; Kandice Sanaie, Texas Association of Business) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Kevin Brady, Texas Department of 

Insurance; Karen Snyder, State Comptroller’s Office) 

 

BACKGROUND: A captive insurance company insures the risks of its owners. A pure 

captive insurance company insures only its owner and its owner’s 

affiliates. Under the pure captive model, the policyholder owns the insurer, 

making the insurer captive to the policyholder. A segregated captive 

insurance company creates separate and independent accounts, each of 

which insures the risks of its parent and affiliates. 

 

Typically, pure captive insurance companies are owned by very large 

corporations and function as a form of self-insurance. Although there are 

some differences, the regulation of a pure captive is similar in many ways 

to the regulation of a traditional insurance carrier. Current law does not 

permit the formation of domestic captive insurance carriers in Texas. 

 

DIGEST: CSSB 734 would add ch. 964 to the Insurance Code to permit the 

formation of a pure domestic captive insurance carrier in Texas. The 

chapter would define the forms of business organization under which a 

SUBJECT:  Authorizing the formation of pure captive insurance companies  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 16 — 29-0 
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pure captive could operate, the minimum requirements for its board of 

directors, and the features of the captive’s certificate of formation. 

 

The bill would require that a pure domestic captive insurance company 

apply for a certificate of authority from the Texas Department of Insurance 

(TDI). A captive would be required to have significant operations in 

Texas, hold at least one meeting of its board of directors in Texas each 

year, and maintain its principal office and records in Texas. The bill would 

outline the application and approval procedures for a domestic certificate 

of authority. It also would allow, with commissioner of insurance 

approval, a foreign captive to transfer its domicile to Texas.  

 

By adding ch. 964, the bill would authorize a captive insurance company 

to insure only the operational risks of the company’s affiliates and would 

define which types of insurance policies the captive could issue. It would 

permit the captive to provide reinsurance to an insurer covering the 

captive’s affiliates, such as an affiliate’s employee benefit plan, liability 

insurance, or workers’ compensation insurance, and would require the 

captive to provide notice to the commissioner of insurance of any 

reinsurance it provided. 

 

CSSB 734 would establish a tax rate of one-half of 1 percent on a 

captive’s taxable premium receipts and other forms of revenue from 

written insurance policies in a calendar year. A captive’s taxable receipts 

would not be deducted for premiums paid for reinsurance. The annual 

minimum tax for a captive would be $7,500 and the annual maximum 

would be $200,000. A captive would not be subject to other taxes or fees, 

including the franchise tax, except for insurance maintenance taxes on the 

direct premiums on individual lines of business written by the captive. 

 

The bill would require a captive to maintain reserves sufficient to pay all 

losses for which it could be liable, plus any expenses from the settlement 

of those losses. A captive would be required to maintain capital and 

surplus of at least $250,000, or a higher amount as determined by the 

commissioner of insurance. The insurer would use generally accepted 

accounting principles. 

 

The bill would detail a captive insurance company’s requirements for 

submitting an annual report. A captive would be able to make loans to its 

affiliates with the prior approval of the commissioner, who could prohibit 

any loan or investment that threatened the solvency of the company. The 
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captive would not be allowed to participate in any insolvency funds or 

pools in Texas. 

 

CSSB 734 would permit the commissioner of insurance to revoke or 

suspend the captive’s certificate of authority for various infractions and 

would require that the captive receive notice of the disciplinary action and 

an opportunity for a hearing. 

 

The general confidentiality of information provided by applicants and 

captives would be established by the bill, along with entities permitted to 

access the information when acting in an official capacity. 

 

The bill would require that a captive register with the commissioner before 

receiving captive management services. 

 

The commissioner by rule could establish standards to ensure an affiliated 

company was able to exercise control of the risk management function of 

a controlled unaffiliated business to be insured by the captive insurance 

company.   

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. As soon as practicable after this date, but by 

January 1, 2014, the commissioner of insurance would be required to 

adopt rules necessary to implement the provisions of the bill. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

CSSB 734 would create a healthier business climate for corporations that 

have or would like to have a domestic captive insurance company. When a 

Texas-based corporation must form its captive in another state, it incurs 

additional expenses and administrative burdens. For example, other states 

often require captives to engage locally based management companies, 

hold a minimum number of board meetings within their jurisdiction each 

year, and appoint a local resident to the board. 

 

Allowing domestic captives to form in Texas would attract new business 

to the state and would help retain existing Texas companies. In addition to 

lowered taxes for redomesticated firms, the bill would attract high paying 

jobs, including attorneys, accountants, actuaries, and their support 

personnel. It would also result in new revenue for the state through the 

insurance premium tax. 
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OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

No apparent opposition. 

 

NOTES: The companion bill, HB 2788 by Smithee, was left pending in the House 

Insurance Committee following a public hearing on April 9. 

 

CSSB 734 differs from the Senate-passed version in that the committee 

substitute would apply only to pure captive insurance companies and not 

to segregated captive insurance companies. 
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COMMITTEE: Public Education — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 6 ayes — Aycock, J. Davis, Farney, Huberty, K. King, Ratliff 

 

3 nays — Allen, Deshotel, J. Rodriguez  

 

2 absent — Dutton, Villarreal  

 

 

WITNESSES: For — Dorothy Dundas; Neal Frey; Barry Haenisch, Texas Association of 

Community Schools; Bob Hall; Stanley Hartzler; Ann Hettinger, 

Concerned Women for American; Jonathan Saenz, Texas Values; Peggy 

Venable, Americans for Prosperity-Texas; (Registered, but did not testify: 

Gary Bennett and Lukas Moffett, Center for the Preservation of American 

Ideals; MerryLynn Gerstenschlager, Texas Eagle Forum; Dustin Matocha, 

Texans for Fiscal Responsibility; Kia Mutranowski, Michelle Smith, and 

Cecilia Wood, Concerned Women for America; Sharon Russell, ICaucus;   

and 33 others) 

 

Against — Katherine Miller, Texas Freedom Network; Randy Willis, 

Granger ISD; (Registered, but did not testify: David D. Anderson, Texas 

School Alliance; Yannis Banks, Texas NAACP; Harley Eckhart, Texas 

Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association; Kay Forth, American 

Civil Liberties Union) 

 

On — Monty Exter, The Association of Texas Professional Educators; 

(Registered, but did not testify: David Anderson, Texas Education 

Agency; Jerry Maze, ESC 12/CSCOPE; Mike Motheral, Sundown ISD; 

Terry Smith, Education Service Centers) 

 

BACKGROUND: CSCOPE is an online curriculum management system developed and 

owned by the Texas Education Service Center Curriculum Collaborative,  

a consortium of the 20 Education Service Centers (ESC) in the state 

organized as a 501(c) (3). The CSCOPE system includes a curriculum 

framework for grades K-12 in all foundational academic subject areas 

SUBJECT:  State Board of Education oversight of CSCOPE    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 15, 2013 — 29-1 (Zaffirini) 
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aligned to the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS).  

 

Initial CSCOPE development began during the 2005-06 school year, with 

the 2006-07 school year designated as the first year of implementation. In 

2006-07, there were 182 active CSCOPE districts in Texas. As of 

September 25, 2012, there are 875 active CSCOPE districts. This equates 

to about 70 percent of districts in Texas and about 35 percent of students. 

 

Education Code, sec. 31.022, requires the State Board of Education 

(SBOE) to adopt a review and adoption cycle for instructional materials 

for elementary grade levels, including prekindergarten, and secondary 

grade levels, for each subject in the required curriculum. 

 

DIGEST: SB 1406 would require instructional materials developed by a regional 

ESC, acting alone or in collaboration with other ESCs, to be subject to the 

review and adoption process for instructional materials outlined in 

Education Code, sec. 31.022. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

CSCOPE is an online system of lesson plans that was developed by the 

regional ESCs with no oversight, transparency, or accountability. SB 1406 

would not remove CSCOPE from districts that are using it but simply 

would bring the lesson plans under the same vetting process by the elected 

SBOE that is used for textbooks and instructional materials. 

 

CSCOPE content was developed without parental input. In fact, parents 

have had to fight to learn the content of CSCOPE because teachers had 

been required to sign a contract not to disclose the content. This conflicts 

with Education Code, sec. 26.006, which assures parents the right to 

review teaching materials, instructional materials, and other teaching aids. 

 

If local districts need online lesson plans, they could use the services of 

the Texas Virtual School Network or other online curriculum approved by 

the Texas Education Agency, rather than CSCOPE. 

 

CSCOPE has supplied lesson plans that are flawed, incorrect, and raise 

concerns about promoting socialist, anti-American, and anti-Christian 

values. Some teachers say it limits their flexibility and creativity. 

CSCOPE is supposed to be customizable by local districts, but some 

teachers say they are required to use it verbatim.  

 

Another concern is that the ESC collaborative used public funds to 



SB 1406 

House Research Organization 

page 3 

 

- 23 - 

develop a product and then turned around and sold it to Texas schools. 

This means Texans’ tax dollars are being spent twice for CSCOPE. 

 

Although CSCOPE officials recently have made a good faith effort to 

make their work more transparent, the requirement for SBOE review 

needs to be codified. CSCOPE officials have revised a user agreement to 

reassure teachers that they may share instructional materials with parents 

and in late March began a joint review of the social studies materials with 

the SBOE. However, the bill would ensure the transparency and public 

hearings provided by the SBOE’s review process. In the past, the SBOE 

process has prevented textbook publishers from removing lessons about 

religious holidays such as Christmas and Rosh Hashanah and about 

famous Americans such as Neil Armstrong and General Patton. 

 

CSCOPE should remove itself from supplying lesson plans to school 

districts and return to its original mission of supplying a management tool 

for teachers to keep on pace to teach the TEKS as required.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 1406 could remove an important tool that helps school districts meet 

the expectations of ever-changing TEKS, of a more rigorous state testing 

and accountability system, and of efforts to improve student performance, 

all while faced with shrinking financial resources. 

 

CSCOPE was developed by teachers and retired teachers to meet the needs 

of many school districts that cannot afford their own curriculum 

development staff. One superintendent testified that it would cost his small 

school district more than $950,000 to develop lesson plans to cover 1,342 

TEKS for grades 3-11. 

 

The bill would be a gross infringement on local authority. Parents have 

every right to raise issues about the way lessons are being taught, but those 

matters should be taken before local school boards and district officials. 

The bill would establish two classes of school districts, allowing those that 

can afford to develop their own lesson plans to be free from SBOE review. 

 

An advantage of CSCOPE is that it can be updated every year in response 

to feedback from districts. That adaptability would be difficult to achieve 

under the cumbersome and lengthy SBOE textbook review process. 

Provisions in Education Code, sec. 31.022 state that the SBOE is not 

required to review and adopt instructional materials for all grade levels in 

a single year and require the SBOE to organize a cycle for reviewing not 
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more than one-fourth of the instructional materials for subjects in the 

foundation curriculum each biennium.  

 

It is inappropriate to review CSCOPE to see whether it supports or 

conflicts with specific political ideologies or religious beliefs. Students 

should be given the tools to evaluate the vast array of information and 

viewpoints that they will encounter in their future. Supporters of SB 1406 

have criticized CSCOPE as pro-Islam but state education standards require 

students to study the central ideas of the world’s major religions. And the 

SBOE has come under scrutiny in the past for its partisan debates over 

textbook language on topics such as evolution, environmental regulation, 

social studies, and sex education.  

 

The SBOE has appointed a committee to review the curriculum, beginning 

with social studies content. That process should be allowed to work before 

it is codified. 

 

OTHER 
OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 1406 would fail to address the fundamental problem of the TEKS. 

They are far too voluminous and require the sort of framework provided 

by CSCOPE. For a typical core subject in high school, more than 60 

standards must be taught in fewer than 148 days.  

 

The SBOE should be reviewing the TEKS and reducing the massive 

amount of material that students are expected to learn.  
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COMMITTEE: Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence — committee substitute recommended   

 

VOTE: 7 ayes —  Lewis, Farrar, Farney, Gooden, Hunter, K. King, S. Thompson 

 

0 nays  

 

2 absent —  Hernandez Luna, Raymond 

 

 

WITNESSES: For — Dib Waldrip, Texas Criminal Justice Advisory Council; 

(Registered, but did not testify: Lee Johnson, Texas Council of 

Community Centers; Travis Leete, Texas Criminal Justice Coalition; 

Jason Sabo, Children at Risk) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — David Slayton, Office of Court Administration; (Registered, but did 

not testify: Christopher Burnett, Office of the Governor) 

 

BACKGROUND: Specialty courts are established within existing courts and provide 

programs for certain defendants, such as veterans or those with drug 

addictions or mental health issues. These courts integrate mental health 

and addiction treatment with alternative penalties to address underlying 

problems that cause criminal behavior in an attempt to reduce recidivism.  

 

Under Government Code, sec. 509.007, a community supervision and 

corrections department must submit a community justice plan to the Texas 

Department of Criminal Justice’s community justice assistance division to 

receive state aid. This plan must include information about the goals, 

practices, and programs of the department and must be submitted once in 

every biennium. 

 

 A defendant who has successfully completed a drug court program is 

eligible under certain circumstances for an order of nondisclosure for 

records relating to the offense for which the person entered the program. 

SUBJECT:  Providing for oversight of specialty court programs    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 27 — 30-0 
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The court must enter an order of nondisclosure if the defendant: 

 

 has not been previously convicted of a felony; and 

 has not been convicted of any other felony offense before the 

second anniversary of his or her successful completion of the drug 

court program. 

 

Code of Criminal Procedure, art. 42.12, sec. 3g enumerates certain serious 

and violent crimes and prevents persons convicted of these crimes from 

receiving judge-ordered community supervision. These offenses are often 

referred to as “3(g) offenses.” 

 

Government Code, sec. 772.0061 creates and governs the Specialty Court 

Advisory Council. The council evaluates applications for grant funding for 

specialty courts and makes funding recommendations to the criminal 

justice division of the governor’s office. The council has seven members, 

including three members with experience as judges of specialty courts and 

four members of the public. 

 

DIGEST: SB 462 would restructure specialty court programs. It would bring the 

existing specialty court programs under one statute, provide uniform 

oversight, make amendments to the existing programs, and change the 

composition and duties of the Specialty Court Advisory Council. 

 

Structure. CSSB 462 would create a new subtitle under Title 2 of the 

Government Code, Subtitle K, relating to specialty courts. The following 

court programs would be moved from their current positions in other 

codes to the newly created Subtitle K: 

 

 family drug court program under Family Code, ch. 264; 

 drug court program under Health and Safety Code, ch. 469; 

 veterans court program under Health and Safety Code, ch. 617; and 

 mental health court program under Health and Safety Code, ch. 

616. 

 

The current oversight requirements in each of these programs would be 

repealed. Necessary conforming amendments would be made throughout 

each affected code. 

 

Oversight. CSSB 462 would define specialty courts as courts established 

under Subtitle K or former law and would provide for oversight of these 
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courts. It would allow the lieutenant governor and speaker of the House to 

assign appropriate legislative committee duties relating to oversight of 

specialty courts. The state auditor would perform audits at the request of 

these legislative committees to determine eligibility of specialty courts for 

federal grant funds. 

 

Specialty court programs could not operate until the judge, magistrate, or 

coordinator had provided to the governor’s criminal justice division: 

 

 written notice of the program; 

 any resolution or official declaration under which the program was 

established; and 

 a copy of the community justice plan that incorporated duties 

related to supervision required under the program. 

 

The court program would then need to receive written verification of 

compliance with these requirements to resume operation. 

 

A specialty court program would be required to comply with all approved 

programmatic best practices recommended by the Specialty Courts 

Advisory Council and to report to the governor’s criminal justice division 

any information required regarding the performance of the program. 

 

Any court out of compliance with the oversight requirements under the 

bill would not be eligible to receive state or federal grant funds 

administered by any state agency.  

 

Services provided by a community supervision and corrections department 

to a specialty court program would need to be included in that 

department’s community justice plan. 

 

Conforming amendments would be made to ensure compliance with 

oversight requirements. 

 

Drug court program. The bill would amend the drug court program to 

require a court to issue an order of nondisclosure for a defendant who had 

not previously been convicted of a 3g offense or a sexually violent offense 

and who had not been convicted of any felony for two years after 

successful completion of the program. 

 

Veterans court program. The bill would allow commissioners courts 
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participating in a regional veterans court program to retain certain fees as 

if they had established their own veterans court programs. 

 

Specialty Courts Advisory Council. The Specialty Courts Advisory 

Council would be required to make best practices recommendations to the 

courts under Subtitle K. The membership of the council would increase 

from seven to nine and would include: 

 

 one member with experience as a family drug court judge; 

 one member with experience as drug court judge; 

 one member with experience as a veterans court judge; 

 one member with experience as a mental health court judge; and 

 five members of the public. 

 

Members of the council would not receive compensation for their service 

on the council but would receive reimbursement for actual and necessary 

expenses incurred in performing council functions. 

 

The governor would be required to promptly appoint two additional 

members to the Specialty Court Advisory Council, one judge with 

specialty court experience and one member of the public.  

 

Fees and costs. The bill would require fees to be collected by the specialty 

courts affected as follows: 

 

 for drug court programs, a fee not to exceed $1,000; 

 for the veterans court program, a reasonable fee not to exceed 

$1,000; and  

 for alcohol or substance testing, counseling, and treatment, under a 

veterans court program or drug court program, the amount 

necessary to cover those costs. 

 

The bill would also require courts to collect a program fee for first 

offender prostitution prevention programs. This fee would be a reasonable 

amount not to exceed $1,000, including: 

 

 counseling and services fee in an amount necessary to cover the 

costs of counseling and services; 

 a victim services fee in an amount equal to 10 percent of the total 

fee; and 

 a law enforcement training fee in an amount equal to 5 percent of 
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the total fee. 

 

 

Effective date and application. The changes to nondisclosure of offenses 

under the drug court program would apply only to offenses committed on 

or after the effective date. 

 

The bill would prevail in any conflict with another act of the 83rd 

Legislature. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

CSSB 462 would provide uniform statutory structure and necessary 

oversight to the disjointed specialty court program. Specialty courts have 

been successful where implemented and have reduced recidivism and 

lowered costs to the state. However, because there are no uniform 

oversight provisions and no requirement for registration, it is unknown 

how many specialty courts are operating in the state or how many are 

working as expected. CSSB 462 would provide consistency across 

programs, a better understanding of how criminal indicators were affected 

by specialty courts, and improved access to relevant statutes. The costs 

incurred by this oversight would be necessary to ensure effective justice 

and would reduce costs to the state in the long run. 

 

The bill would solve problems caused by the current local control scheme 

by requiring specialty court programs to comply with adopted statewide 

best practices. Currently, programs identifying themselves as specialty 

courts may not comply with best practices and may be operating in an 

ineffective manner. Some specialty courts are pet projects of local judges 

and are vulnerable when there is judicial turnover. Incorporating the 

specialty court plans into community justice plans would ensure that the 

programs were institutionalized in local jurisdictions and maintained 

effective operations. By changing the membership of the Specialty Court 

Advisory Council, the bill would improve input from members of the 

community and specialty court stakeholders, which would mitigate 

potential problems caused by the shift in the local control scheme. 

 

The bill would expand the ability of drug court programs to order 

nondisclosure of records to individuals convicted of certain felony 

offenses, providing an additional incentive for participants to enroll in 

rigorous treatment programs and complete the program. This would help 
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with problems encountered by offenders during reintegration and reentry, 

such as barriers to employment and housing.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

CSSB 462 would be implemented at a great cost to taxpayers, with 

consequences that would be difficult to predict or quantify. The bill would 

cost Texans about $2.5 million every year and has a $4.8 million fiscal 

note for the 2014-2015 biennium. The Legislative Budget Board was 

unable to approximate the amount that would be offset by the new fee 

created in the bill. Vague promises of revenues would not be a justifiable 

reason to approve the costs incurred by the bill. Because there is currently 

no oversight or reporting from specialty courts, it is not known whether 

they operate correctly or what effect they have on communities and the 

state budget. The state should not be putting its resources into instituting a 

costly, complicated maintenance scheme with no guarantees of a positive 

outcome. 

 

CSSB 462 would impose statewide standards on programs intended to 

meet local needs. Specialty courts are programs instituted by judges and 

courts to meet the specific needs of a jurisdiction. These programs have 

had broad latitude to determine what solutions work best for each court 

and each community. By imposing statewide standards and requiring 

specialty courts to follow best practices, the bill would negate the 

important local control enjoyed by these programs. 

 

The bill would expand the availability of orders of nondisclosure for 

certain persons charged with felonies. By increasing the number of people 

who qualified for non-disclosure, the bill would inhibit access by the 

public to important criminal court records. Employers and other interested 

parties should be able to access information about arrests and criminal 

charges, and by expanding the province of orders of nondisclosure the bill 

unfairly would restrict this access and weaken transparency. 

 

NOTES: The committee substitute differs from the Senate version of the bill by 

adding an oversight requirement relating to community justice plans. 

 

 



 
HOUSE SB 109  

RESEARCH West, et al.  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/15/2013 (Dutton) 

- 31 - 

 

 

COMMITTEE: Urban Affairs — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 7 ayes —  Dutton, Alvarado, Anchia, Elkins, Leach, J. Rodriguez, Sanford 

 

0 nays  

 

 

WITNESSES: No public hearing 

 

BACKGROUND: The Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs is the state's 

lead agency responsible for affordable housing. The department is 

required annually to provide a comprehensive report that provides an 

overview of statewide housing needs and a resource allocation plan to 

meet those needs. 

 

DIGEST: SB 109 would add veterans, farmworkers, youth who were aging out of 

foster care, and the elderly to the list of people the Texas Department of 

Housing and Community Affairs would include in its estimate and 

analysis for the department’s annual low-income housing plan. The bill 

also would add the size of these populations and their different housing 

needs to the analysis for the plan. The study would include data showing 

the number and location of residential foreclosures in the state.   

 

The bill also would include in the department’s annual low-income 

housing report the progress of meeting goals established with respect to 

the populations analyzed for the report and recommendations to improve 

coordination of department services to those populations. 

 

SB 109 would repeal Property Code, sec. 51.0022, which is a foreclosure 

notification process used by the department. 

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013.  

 

SUBJECT:  Revising the state’s low-income housing plan and annual report    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 13 — 31-0 
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SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 109 would improve the annual study that helps the state in assisting 

individuals and families to obtain affordable housing. Adding veterans, 

farmworkers, youth who were aging out of foster care, and the elderly to 

those addressed by the Department of Housing and Community Affairs 

would help the state be more efficient with its mandate.  

 

These new demographics can show the need for specific services and 

would be a timely sharpening of the department’s analysis. From 2007 to 

2011, more than 1.5 million older Americans lost their homes as a result 

of the mortgage crisis, according to the AARP. Providing the department 

with a measure that offered insight into this cohort and three others, 

including a new wave of veterans borne by the wars in Iraq and 

Afghanistan, would be an important tool to help ensure state revenues 

were efficiently expended. The data are easily available and would come 

at no cost to the state. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

No apparent opposition. 

 

 

 



 
HOUSE SB 112  

RESEARCH Lucio, et al. (Smithee)  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/15/2013 (CSSB 112 by Smithee) 

- 33 - 

 

 

COMMITTEE: Insurance — committee substitute recommended   

 

VOTE: 8 ayes — Smithee, Eiland, G. Bonnen, Creighton, Morrison, Muñoz, 

Sheets, C. Turner 

 

1 nay — Taylor  

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 1400) 

For — Ware Wendell, Texas Watch; (Registered, but did not testify: 

Daniel Gonzalez, Texas Association of Realtors; Lee Loftis, Independent 

Insurance Agents of Texas; Chelsey Thomas, Texas Association of 

Realtors) 

 

Against — Paul Martin, National Association of Mutual Insurance 

Companies; (Registered, but did not testify: Beaman Floyd, Texas 

Association for Affordable Insurance Solutions; Joe Woods, Property 

Casualty Insurers Association of America) 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Marilyn Hamilton, Texas 

Department of Insurance; Jay Thompson, Association of Fire and Casualty 

Companies in Texas) 

 

BACKGROUND: Insurance Code, ch. 2301 regulates insurance forms to ensure they are not 

unjust, unfair, inequitable, misleading, or deceptive. 

 

DIGEST: CSSB 112 would amend ch. 2301 of the Insurance Code to require that a 

residential property insurance policy form include a declarations page that 

lists each type of deductible under the policy and its exact dollar amount. 

 

If a residential property policy or an endorsement to the policy were to 

contain a provision that could change the dollar amount of a deductible, 

either the declarations page or a written disclosure would be required to 

clearly identify the applicable policy provision or endorsement and explain 

how any change in the deductible would be determined. 

SUBJECT:  Listing residential property insurance deductibles in dollar amounts  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 13 — 31-0 
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The bill would specify that the list of each type of deductible in the policy, 

or the identification of each applicable policy provision or endorsement 

that could change the deductible, may be provided on a page separate from 

the declarations page. 

 

The bill would be effective September 1, 2013. It would apply to policies 

delivered, issued for delivery, or renewed on or after January 1, 2014. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

CSSB 112 would be a simple reform to help homeowners know what they 

are buying when they purchase an insurance policy. Currently, some 

residential insurance policies list the deductible as a percentage, which can 

be unclear and misleading for policyholders who assume that, like a health 

insurance policy, it applies to the claim amount, when it actually refers to 

the value of the home, condominium, or apartment.  

 

Listing the deductible in dollar terms would allow consumers to make 

more informed and responsible decisions and would give them an 

increased ability to compare policies and shop the insurance market, 

fostering competition. 

 

Since many insurance policies' declarations pages already state deductibles 

in dollar amounts, the bill would be an extension of industry best practices 

and would not impose any noticeable administrative or financial burdens 

on insurers. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

CSSB 112 would unnecessarily micromanage the insurance industry. The 

difference between listing the deductible as a percentage or a fixed dollar 

amount is insubstantial and should be left to consumers to interpret and the 

market to accommodate. The bill would require innumerable forms be 

redesigned, and could set a precedent for further government 

modifications to the declarations page. 

 

NOTES: CSSB 112 differs from the Senate bill in that it would allow either the list 

of each type of deductible, or the list of policy provisions or endorsements, 

be provided apart from the declarations page, rather than be provided as a 

separate page made up of both. 

 

The companion bill, HB 1400 by Smithee, was left pending in the House 

Insurance Committee on April 23. 
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COMMITTEE: Human Services — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 9 ayes —  Raymond, N. Gonzalez, Fallon, Klick, Naishtat, Rose, Sanford, 

Scott Turner, Zerwas 

 

0 nays   

 

 

WITNESSES: For — (Registered, but did not testify: Miryam Bujanda, Methodist 

Healthcare Ministries; Melissa Davis, National Association of Social 

Workers, Texas Chapter; Heather Fazio, Texans for Accountable 

Government; Kelley Shannon, Freedom of Information Foundation of 

Texas; Lee Spiller, Citizens Commission on Human Rights; Gyl Switzer, 

Mental Health America of Texas) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Kathy Hebert, North Texas 

Citizens Lobby)  

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Andy Abrams, Texas Health and 

Human Services Commission Office of Inspector General; Beth 

Engelking, Department of Family and Protective Services; Peggy Perry, 

Department of State Health Services; Darrel Spinks, Texas State Board of 

Examiners of Psychologists) 

 

BACKGROUND: All direct care employees of state hospitals who are currently hired by the 

Department of State Health Services (DSHS) undergo two weeks of 

training.  

 

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission - Office of Inspector 

General (HHSC-OIG) works to prevent, detect, and pursue fraud, waste 

and abuse in the Texas Health and Human Services system, including 

conducting investigations of allegations of fraud, waste, and abuse.  

 

Health and Safety Code, sec. 552.011 defines "patient" to mean a person 

admitted to a state hospital under the management and control of the 

SUBJECT:  Regulation and investigation of state hospitals  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 2 — 31 - 0 
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Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation.  

 

DIGEST: SB 152 would regulate state hospitals and their employees, add abuse and 

neglect reporting requirements, and allow the Health and Human Services 

Commission's Office of Inspector General to investigate an alleged 

criminal offense involving a state hospital patient.  

 

The bill would change the statutory definition of "patient" to mean an 

individual who was receiving voluntary or involuntary mental health 

services at a state hospital and would add community services operated by 

the El Paso Psychiatric Center to the list of facilities operated by the 

Department of Aging and Disability Services and DSHS.  

 

Regulation and training of state hospital employees. SB 152 would 

require the executive commissioner of the Health and Human Services 

Commission (HHSC) to:  

 

 adopt a policy requiring a state hospital employee to report to the 

superintendent of the state hospital their knowledge or reasonable 

suspicion that another employee was illegally using or influenced 

by a controlled substance; and 

 adopt rules requiring a state hospital to provide annual employee 

refresher training courses, unless the Department of State Health 

Services (DSHS) determined in good faith and with good reason 

that a particular employee's performance would not be adversely 

affected in the absence of such refresher training.  

 

The bill would require DSHS to:  

 

 provide state hospital employees with competency training and a 

course of instruction on the general duties of a state hospital 

employee, to include training on providing care for individuals with 

mental illness; 

 evaluate the employee for competency post-training; 

 provide direct care employees performing without direct 

supervision with additional training and instructional information, 

such as training on implementation of the interdisciplinary 

treatment program for each patient for whom the employee would 

provide care; 

 provide all direct care employees additional training as necessary in 

accordance with the specialized needs of the population served; and 
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 develop risk assessment protocols for state hospital employees to 

use in identifying and assessing possible cases of abuse or neglect.  

 

Investigations. The bill would require the inspector general to:  

 

 employ and commission peace officers to assist state or local law 

enforcement in investigating an alleged criminal offense involving 

a state hospital patient;  

 prepare an annual status report including certain information on 

conducted investigations, aggregated and disaggregated by 

individual state hospital;  

 submit the annual status report to certain state officials and 

agencies; 

 prepare a summary report, without personally identifiable 

information, for each investigation conducted with the assistance of 

the inspector general; and 

 deliver the summary report to certain state officials, state agencies, 

and the alleged victim or the alleged victim's legally authorized 

representative. 

 

Disclosure of investigation information. The annual status report would 

be public information, subject to law governing public information 

disclosure provisions.  

 

All information and materials compiled by the inspector general for an 

investigation could be released to the inspector general or the inspector 

general's employees or agents involved in the investigation, and could be 

disclosed to the Department of Family and Protective Services, the Office 

of the Attorney General, the state auditor's office, and law enforcement 

agencies. Otherwise, information and materials compiled in connection 

with an investigation would be confidential, not subject to disclosure, 

discovery, subpoena, or other means of legal compulsion for their release.  

Summary reports regarding an investigation would be subject to public 

information disclosure requirements as governed by law. 

 

Retaliation related to an investigation. DSHS or a state hospital could 

not retaliate against one of its employees or any other person who had 

cooperated in good faith with the inspector general under the provisions of 

the bill.  

  

Reporting abuse or neglect. The bill would require DSHS to develop an 
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information management, reporting, and tracking system for each state 

hospital to provide the department with information necessary to monitor 

serious allegations of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.  

 

A person or professional would have to make a report if they had cause to 

believe that an adult was a victim of abuse or neglect as a child and that 

disclosure of that information was necessary to protect the health and 

safety of a child or an elderly or disabled person. The person or 

professional would have to report to a law enforcement agency, the 

Department of Family or Protective Services, the state agency that 

regulated the facility in which the alleged abuse or neglect occurred, or 

another appropriate agency. The bill would add an employee or member of 

a board that licensed or certified a professional to the list of individuals — 

whose personal communications may otherwise be privileged — to make 

a report regarding abuse or neglect.    

 

Criminal history information. Under the bill, DSHS would be entitled to 

obtain criminal history record information maintained by the Department 

of Public Safety, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, or any other criminal 

justice agency for persons working or volunteering at a state hospital, 

including: 

 

 an applicant for employment at a state hospital; 

 an employee of a state hospital;  

 a contractor or potential contractor who provided goods or services 

to DSHS at a state hospital; 

 a contractor's employees or those applying to work with a 

contractor; and 

 a volunteer or those applying to volunteer with a state hospital who 

would be in direct contact with a state hospital patient.  

 

Under the bill, DSHS could release criminal history records to the person 

who was the subject of the criminal history. The bill would not prohibit 

DSHS from obtaining and using criminal history record information as 

provided by other law.  

 

Deadlines and effective date. The bill would require the executive 

commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules necessary to implement Subchapter 

C, Chapter 552, Health and Safety Code, governing state hospital 

employee training and regulation, by December 1, 2013.  
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DSHS would have to develop the state hospital employee training required 

by Section 552.052, Health and Safety Code, as added by the bill, by 

January 1, 2014. DSHS would have to ensure that each state hospital 

employee received training specified by the bill by September 1, 2014.  

 

The HHSC Office of Inspector General would begin employing and 

commissioning peace officers to investigate an alleged criminal offenses 

involving a state hospital patient as required by Section 552.101, Health 

and Safety Code, as added by the bill, by May 1, 2014. 

 

If a state agency determined that a waiver or authorization from a federal 

agency was necessary to implement a provision of the bill, the state 

agency could delay implementing that provision until the federal agency 

granted the waiver or authorization.  

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 152 would add needed protection for patients at state hospitals by 

increasing oversight, employee training, and abuse and neglect reporting 

requirements. The small fiscal note would be a small price to pay for 

meeting the state’s responsibility to ensure the safety and best possible 

care for vulnerable patients at state hospitals. The bill is necessary to 

prevent future abuse and misconduct by state hospital direct care 

providers.  

 

The bill would increase the quality of care for patients at state hospitals by 

requiring state hospital employees to undergo thorough competency 

training and additional specialized training on care for patients with 

mental illness and other diagnoses. The bill would ensure direct care 

providers were able to provide the best quality of care by requiring state 

hospital employees to undergo background checks and to report cases of 

an employee using an illegal controlled substance.  

 

The bill would also strengthen investigations into alleged criminal 

offenses committed by an employee of a state hospital by allowing the 

HHSC-OIG to commission peace officers to assist with investigations by 

local and state law enforcement. The reports required of the investigator 

general would increase transparency for state hospital operations.    
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Adding professionals to the state’s employee misconduct registry is not 

necessary, as they are already regulated by their licensing boards and by 

DSHS.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

The bill would increase costs to the state for criminal history background 

checks and drug testing that would invade the privacy of state hospital 

direct care providers.  

 

OTHER 
OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

The bill could be strengthened by adding a provision requiring state 

hospital employees who seriously harm patients be added to the state’s 

employee misconduct registry or by creating a central database of 

reportable misconduct and related investigations. As evidenced by recent 

abuse cases, the state board licensing system is not enough to screen out 

bad actors.  

 

NOTES: According to the Legislative Budget Board, the bill would have a negative 

impact of $782,740 to general revenue related funds through the biennium 

ending August 31, 2015. The money would pay to implement random 

drug testing, background checks, and hire four Investigator VI employees 

at HHSC-OIG.  
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COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment  

 

VOTE: 6 ayes —  Herrero, Carter, Leach, Moody, Schaefer, Toth 

 

2 nays —  Burnam, Canales  

 

1 absent —  Hughes 

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 1083) 

For — William Pursley, Austin Police Department; (Registered, but did 

not testify: Donald Baker, Austin Police Department; Mark Clark, 

Houston Police Union; Lon Craft, Texas Municipal Police Association; 

Brian Eppes, Tarrant County District Attorney’s Office; Frederick Frazier, 

Dallas Police Association; Chris Jones, Combined Law Enforcement 

Associations of Texas; James Jones, San Antonio Police Department; 

Annie Mahoney, Texas Conservative Coalition; Donald McKinney, 

Houston Police Department; Washington Moscoso and Jimmy Rodriguez, 

San Antonio Police Officers Association; Andew Romero, Austin Police 

Association; Steven Tays, Bexar County Criminal District Attorney’s 

Office; Garry Tittle, Dallas Police Department; Justin Wood, Harris 

County District Attorney’s Office) 

 

Against — (Registered, but did not testify: Chris Howe) 

 

BACKGROUND: Under Code of Criminal Procedure, art. 13.25, computer crimes may be 

prosecuted in: 

 

 the county of the principal place of business of the owner or lessee 

of a computer, computer network, or computer system involved in 

the offense; 

 any county in which a defendant had control or possession of any 

proceeds of the offense or any materials used in furthering of the 

offense; or 

 any county from which, to which, or through which access to a 

SUBJECT:  Venue for prosecution of certain computer crimes   

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 21 — 31-0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar 



SB 222 

House Research Organization 

page 2 

 

- 42 - 

computer, computer network, computer program, or computer 

system was made in a computer crime, regardless of the means of 

communication. 

 

DIGEST: SB 222 would add any county in which a victim of the offense resided to 

the available venues for prosecution of computer crimes under Code of 

Criminal Procedure, art. 13.25. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013, and would apply only to a 

criminal case in which the indictment, information, or complaint was 

presented to the court on or after that date. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 222 would bring the venue rules for certain computer crimes into the 

21st century and allow prosecutors to enforce the law using rules that 

acknowledge the nature of the Internet and modern computer crime. 

Modern technology creates situations in which a person can be victimized 

and feel all the effects of certain computer crimes in a location remote 

from where the offender acted in violation of the law. This creates 

situations such as a recent case involving a woman who was impersonated 

online by an offender who harassed her and posted sexually explicit 

information about her online but could not be prosecuted because he lived 

in Ohio and his behavior did not violate Ohio law. SB 222 would close 

this loophole and allow for better protection of victims and more efficient 

prosecution and punishment of crime. 

 

SB 222 would be an appropriate measure to ensure that crimes that 

victimized Texans could be prosecuted in Texas. When victims report 

crimes that harm them, the state should have the ability to prosecute these 

offenses in the jurisdiction where the person was victimized. This bill 

would modernize venue laws to address the reality of modern computer 

crimes. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 222 inappropriately would expand jurisdiction and change venue laws 

to prosecute computer crimes. Although computer crimes can be 

complicated, the current statutes provide sufficient guidance to determine 

where venue is appropriate. 

 

The bill could have a negative effect on defendants, who have the right to 

be prosecuted and held accountable according to the laws in the 

jurisdiction where the crime is alleged to have occurred. By expanding 

jurisdiction for these crimes to counties in which criminal activity did not 
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take place, the bill would jeopardize these rights. 

 

NOTES: The companion bill, HB 1083 by Dukes, was left pending by the House 

Committee on Criminal Jurisprudence on April 23. 
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COMMITTEE: Government Efficiency and Reform — favorable, without amendment  

 

VOTE: 6 ayes —  Harper-Brown, Perry, Capriglione, Stephenson, Scott Turner, 

Vo 

 

0 nays  

 

1 absent —  Taylor  

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 1390:)  

For — (Registered, but did not testify: Ashley Chadwick, Freedom of 

Information Foundation of Texas; Seth Mitchell, Bexar County 

Commissioners Court; Michael Schneider, Texas Association of 

Broadcasters; Ed Sterling, Texas Press Association) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Jason Boatright, Office of the 

Attorney General) 

 

BACKGROUND: Government Code, sec. 402.042 requires requests for a legal opinion from 

the attorney general be made in writing and sent through certified or 

registered mail. Such requests may only be made by authorized requestors, 

such as the governor or the head of a state agency or board. 

 

The Office of the Attorney General (OAG) and the person requesting the 

opinion may seek to waive the requirement to use certified or registered 

mail. 

 

DIGEST: HB 1390 would allow requestors of attorney general opinions to ask for an 

opinion by sending an e-mail to an e-mail address designated by the 

attorney general. Requestors still could submit requests by certified or 

registered mail.  

 

SUBJECT:  Authorizing electronic requests for attorney general opinions   

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, (March 13) — 31 - 0 
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This bill would take effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

Authorized requestors should be allowed to submit requests for an 

attorney general opinion electronically without the attorney general’s 

office having to approve a request for a waiver. As a matter of course, the 

OAG accepts electronic requests for an opinion but sends the requestor a 

waiver form to fill out before processing these requests. Modernizing the 

process would do away with this unnecessary step and lessen the 

administrative burden on the OAG. Requestors still would have the option 

of submitting requests by certified or registered mail. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

No apparent opposition. 

 

NOTES: The identical companion bill, HB 1390 by Harper-Brown, was passed by 

the House by 149-0 on April 4 and has been referred to the Senate 

Committee on Jurisprudence. 
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COMMITTEE: Urban Affairs — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 7 ayes —  Dutton, Alvarado, Anchia, Elkins, Leach, J. Rodriguez, Sanford 

 

0 nays   

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 1029) 

For — (Registered, but did not testify: Steve Bresnen and Mike Higgins, 

Texas State Association of Fire Fighters; Ramiro Canales, Texas 

Association of School Administrators; Monty Exter, The Association of 

Texas Professional Educators; Daniel Gonzalez and Chelsey Thomas, 

Texas Association of Realtors; Dwight Harris, Texas AFT; Chris Jones, 

Combined Law Enforcement Associations of Texas; Joyce McDonald, 

Frameworks Community Development Corporation; Scott Norman, Texas 

Association of Builders; Deena Perkins, Texas Association of Community 

Development Corporations; Charley Wilkison, Austin Police Association, 

Travis County Sheriff’s Officers Association, Combined Law 

Enforcement Associations of Texas)  

 

Against — None 

 

On — David Long and Paige Omohundro, Texas State Affordable 

Housing Corporation 

 

BACKGROUND: Government Code, sec. 2306.562, which details the Professional 

Educators Home Loan Program, expired September 1, 2012. The Fire 

Fighter, Law Enforcement or Security Officer, and Emergency Medical 

Services Personnel Home Loan Program is set to expire September 1, 

2014. 

 

The Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation (TSAHC) receives 10 

percent of the state ceiling for qualified mortgage bonds to administer both 

programs. Until the Professional Educators Home Loan Program expired, 

TSAHC reserved 45.5 percent of its bond allowance for the Fire Fighter, 

SUBJECT:  Combining two home loan programs into Homes for Texas Heroes    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 11 — 31-0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar 
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Law Enforcement or Security Officer, and Emergency Medical Services 

Personnel Home Loan Program and 54.5 percent for the Professional 

Educators Home Loan Program.  

 

Through the two programs, TSAHC offers mortgage loans with a 30-year 

fixed interest rate (3.75 percent as of April 2013) and provides down 

payment and closing cost assistance grants equal to 5 percent of the loan 

amount for first-time homebuyers. To be eligible, participants must be 

Texas residents with an income up to 115 percent of area median family 

income, adjusted for family size, or the maximum amount permitted by 

Section 143(f), Internal Revenue Code of 1986, whichever is greater.  

 

Members of the following professions are eligible for the “Homes for 

Heroes” program: fire fighters, corrections officers, county jailers, public 

security officers, peace officers, and emergency medical services 

personnel. The Professional Educators Home Loan Program served 

members of the following professions: classroom teachers, teacher’s aides, 

school librarians, school counselors, school nurses, and allied health or 

professional nursing program undergraduate or graduate faculty members.  

 

DIGEST: SB 286 would add professions previously included under the Professional 

Educators Home Loan Program to the Fire Fighter, Law Enforcement or 

Security Officer, and Emergency Medical Services Personnel Home Loan 

Program under one formal name: the Homes for Texas Heroes Home Loan 

Program.  

 

The bill would allow all eligible borrowers under the combined program 

to access the same pool of mortgage bonds. The following professions 

would be eligible for the combined program: fire fighters, corrections 

officers, county jailers, public security officers, peace officers, emergency 

medical services personnel, and professional educators, including 

classroom teachers, teacher’s aides, librarians, counselors, school nurses 

and allied health or professional nursing program undergraduate or 

graduate faculty members.  

 

SB 286 would repeal sections of the Government Code providing for two 

separate loan programs.  

 

This bill would take immediate effect if finally passed by a two-thirds 

record vote of the membership of each house.  Otherwise, it would take 

effect September 1, 2013. 
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SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 286 would ensure that the state’s heroes, from fire fighters to 

classroom teachers, could afford a home by continuing two professional 

low-interest home loan programs together as the combined Homes for 

Texas Heroes program. The bill is necessary because compensation for 

public servants often does not equate with the service they provide to their 

communities. A combined Homes for Texas Heroes program would give 

underserved communities an additional tool for recruiting and retaining 

qualified public servants.  

 

The two home loan programs did not receive state appropriations when 

separate. Likewise, the combined Homes for Texas Heroes program would 

not receive state appropriations. The bonds issued to fund the program are 

not general obligation bonds. Instead, they use mortgage-backed securities 

as collateral, and the bonds are paid back as borrowers pay off their 

mortgages.  

 

Combining the two programs would allow TSAHC to operate more 

efficiently by reducing bond application fees, attorney fees, and closing 

costs associated with running two programs instead of one. Combining the 

programs would not alter how the original programs functioned or who 

could enroll.  

 

A combined Homes for Texas Heroes program would streamline 

marketing and improve effectiveness of program outreach while making 

the formal name “Homes for Texas Heroes” easier for realtors, lenders, 

and borrowers to remember. TSAHC has referred to the Fire Fighter, Law 

Enforcement or Security Officer, and Emergency Medical Services 

Personnel Home Loan Program as “Homes for Texas Heroes” for years. 

SB 286 would allow the agency to formally use the name for all loans 

covered by the combined program.  

 

SB 286 would not disrupt TSAHC’s ability to divide funds between 

certain professions within the program as necessary. The agency has been 

able to meet demand for the program under the state ceiling for bond 

allowance and has not had issues with abuse or misuse of the program by 

public servants.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 286 would not resolve the fact that the two home loan programs did 

not have a job tenure requirement for eligibility. There remains a risk that 

loan dollars would be spent on individuals who entered public service only 
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to take advantage of a low-interest loan and then left their jobs shortly 

thereafter. Any continuation of the program should include a statutory 

safeguard against such abuse.  

 

NOTES: The identical companion bill, HB 1029 by G. Bonnen, passed the House 

unanimously April 24 on third reading. It was referred to the Senate 

Committee on Intergovernmental Relations on May 7. The HRO bill 

analysis of HB 1029 appears in the Tuesday, April 23 Daily Floor Report, 

Number 57. 
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COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 8 ayes —  Herrero, Carter, Burnam, Canales, Leach, Moody, Schaefer, 

Toth 

 

0 nays  

 

1 absent —  Hughes   

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 3058) 

For — Marc Levin, Texas Public Policy Foundation Center for Effective 

Justice; (Registered, but did not testify: Yannis Banks, Texas NAACP; 

Cathy Dewitt, Texas Association of Business; Kristin Etter and David 

Gonzalez, Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association; Kay Forth, 

American Civil Liberties Union of Texas; Andrea Marsh, Texas Fair 

Defense Project; Lauren Rose, Texans Care For Children; Michael Vitris,  

Texas Appleseed) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Becky Kerbow (Justices of the 

Peace and Constable Association of Texas) 

 

BACKGROUND: Under Code of Criminal Procedure (CCP), art. 45.0217(a), justice and 

municipal court records, files, and information relating to children who are 

convicted of and have satisfied the judgment for fine-only misdemeanor 

offenses, other than traffic offenses, are confidential. Such records, 

including those held by law enforcement, may not be disclosed to the 

public. CCP, art. 45.0217(b)  makes this otherwise confidential 

information available only to judges and court staff, criminal justice 

agencies, the Department of Public Safety, attorneys involved in the case, 

the child, and the child’s parent or guardian. 

 

Under CCP, art. 44.2811, which governs appeals, these records also are 

SUBJECT:  Confidential youth records for certain dismissals, deferred dispositions 

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 21 — 31-0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar 
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confidential, as well as records in cases in which a child is convicted and 

then the case is affirmed. Family Code, sec. 58.00711 makes confidential 

these same records in the state juvenile justice information system. 

 

Under deferred disposition a judge puts off the determination of guilt 

while the youth works on meeting the requirements of the court. This can 

result in the case being dismissed.   

 

DIGEST: SB 394 would make confidential all records, files, and information in 

justice and municipal courts relating to a child who received a dismissal 

after a deferred disposition for a fine-only misdemeanor, other than a 

traffic offense. The same confidentiality requirements would be applied to 

juvenile justice information system records of these non-traffic, fine-only 

misdemeanors when cases were dismissed after a deferred disposition.  

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013, and would apply only to the 

disclosure of records or files on or after that date, regardless of when the 

offense was committed. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 394 is necessary to address an oversight in current law that makes the 

criminal court records of some juveniles convicted of fine-only 

misdemeanors confidential but does not include the same confidentiality 

for those who have had their cases dismissed after a deferred disposition. 

 

In 2011, the 82nd Legislature revised the law dealing with access to the 

criminal records of juveniles to give them greater protection and more 

confidentiality. The revisions included making confidential the records of 

juveniles who were convicted by justice and municipal courts of fine-only 

misdemeanors, such as truancy and disorderly conduct, and who 

completed the terms of their sentence. However, due to an oversight, the 

revisions did not make confidential the records of juveniles who  

had charges dismissed after a deferred disposition. 

 

SB 394 would address this issue by extending to youths who have these 

type of cases dismissed after a deferred disposition the same 

confidentiality protections given to those who were convicted and had 

satisfied their judgments. Youths who have avoided being found guilty by 

successfully meeting the courts’ requirements should have the same 

confidentiality as those who have been found guilty in these types of 

cases.  
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Keeping these records confidential would be consistent with the state’s 

broad policy on juvenile records. Confidentiality in these cases would treat 

these juveniles equitably, ensuring that their information was protected 

and that they had the opportunity to move forward without a public record 

after involvement with the courts. 

 

SB 394 would enact an August 2012 recommendation of the Texas 

Judicial Council.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

No apparent opposition. 

 

NOTES: The House companion bill, HB 3058 by Herrero, was left pending in the 

House Criminal Jurisprudence Committee on April 23. 

 

HB 528 by Sylvester Turner, which would make confidential the court 

records relating to children who were charged with, found not guilty of, 

had charges dismissed for, or were granted deferred disposition for non-

traffic, fine-only misdemeanors, was passed by the House on April 23. It 

has been referred to the Senate Jurisprudence Committee.   
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COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 7 ayes — Herrero, Carter, Burnam, Canales, Leach, Moody, Toth 

 

1 nay — Schaefer  

 

1 absent — Hughes  

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 3059:) 

For — (Registered, but did not testify: Yannis Banks, Texas NAACP; Kay 

Forth, American Civil Liberties Union of Texas; Andrea Marsh, Texas 

Fair Defense Project; Lauren Rose, Texans Care For Children; Michael 

Vitris, Texas Appleseed) 

 

Against — None 

 

BACKGROUND: Code of Criminal Procedure, art. 45.0492, applies to a defendant younger 

than age 17 who is assessed a fine or court costs for a class C 

misdemeanor (maximum fine of $500) that occurred on the grounds of a 

primary or secondary school at which the defendant was enrolled at the 

time of the offense. A judge may require such a defendant to discharge 

these fines or costs by performing community service or attending a 

tutoring program.  

 

Art. 45.049 authorizes a judge to require a defendant who fails to pay 

previously assessed fines or costs, or who is determined by the court to 

have insufficient resources to pay the fine or costs, to discharge all or part 

of the fine or costs by performing community service. 

 

Articles 45.0491 and 43.091 allow a court to waive payment of a fine or 

cost for an indigent defendant who defaults in payment and for whom 

alternative methods of discharging the fine or cost would impose an undue 

hardship. 

 

SUBJECT:  Discharging children’s fines and court costs through alternative methods   

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 27 — 30-0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar 
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DIGEST: SB 395 would allow a judge to permit a child defendant, at least 10 years 

old and younger than age 17, to discharge fines and court costs associated 

with a class C misdemeanor conviction by electing to perform community 

service or receive tutoring. The child’s decision would have to be made in 

writing and signed by his or her parent, guardian, or managing 

conservator.  

 

The bill also would permit a court to waive a child defendant’s class C 

misdemeanor fines or court costs if the child defaulted on the payment and 

discharging the costs through community service or tutoring would 

impose an undue hardship on the defendant.   

 

The provision in current law requiring that the offense have occurred on 

the grounds of the defendant’s school would not apply to the performance 

of community service, receipt of tutoring, or discharge of fines or costs 

under SB 395. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013, and would apply only to a 

sentencing proceeding that began on or after that date. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 395 would promote youth accountability by giving judges the 

discretion to allow juveniles to choose a more productive sentence that 

involved helping the community rather than paying a fine. Currently, a 

child tried in juvenile court is not required to pay fines, regardless of the 

severity of the offense. However, a child tried for a class C misdemeanor 

in a criminal court can be assessed a fine of $500 plus court costs, 

expenses that could weigh heavily on students and their families.  

 

If a child fails to appear in court or if the child’s parents cannot afford the 

fine, a capias pro fine can be issued for them when they turn 17 years old. 

Having this unpaid fine could hurt a child’s ability to attend college, 

secure loans, or gain employment. On the other hand, if the child’s family 

had the means to pay the fine, the young defendant could avoid the 

crime’s consequences, along with a potentially valuable lesson.  

 

This bill would formalize the process that gives judges the ability to allow 

a child defendant and his or her parents to elect whether to pay the fine, 

perform community service, or receive tutoring, which would promote 

more positive outcomes for at-risk youth.  
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OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 395 would allow a young defendant to avoid the actual consequences 

of his or her crime. Requiring a juvenile to find employment in order to 

pay the fine could be a more productive consequence than receiving 

tutoring, performing community service, or simply having the fine waived.  

 

NOTES: The companion bill, HB 3059 by Herrero, was left pending in the House 

Criminal Jurisprudence Committee on April 23. 
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COMMITTEE: Licensing and Administrative Procedures — committee substitute 

recommended   

 

VOTE: 6 ayes —  Smith, Kuempel, Geren, Guillen, Miles, S. Thompson 

 

0 nays 

 

3 absent —  Gooden, Gutierrez, Price  

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 2188:) 

For — (Registered, but did not testify: David Mintz, Texas Apartment 

Association; Neftali Partida, Texas Building Owners and Managers 

Association)  

 

Against — Micheal Lord; (Registered, but did not testify: Neal Sorrels) 

 

On — William Kuntz, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 

 

BACKGROUND: Health and Safety Code, ch. 754 regulates elevators, escalators, and 

related equipment, including their installation, operation and inspection. 

“Equipment” refers to elevators, escalators, chairlifts, platform lifts, or 

other automated machines used to move people. 

 

The Commission of Licensing and Regulation by rule provides for the 

registration of elevator inspectors and contractors in Texas. ASME, 

formerly known as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 

currently oversees the certification process for elevator inspectors, 

designated as QEI-1 certified inspectors. 

 

Under sec. 754.023, the executive director of the Texas Department of 

Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) by emergency order can act to shut 

down an elevator or related equipment if:  

 

 the department determines that an emergency exists requiring 

SUBJECT:  Regulations on elevators, escalators, and related equipment    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 21 — 31-0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar 
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immediate action to protect the public safety; or 

 the equipment has not had an annual inspection in more than two 

years and the building owner receives notice that the equipment 

must be inspected.  

 

Sixty days following the issuance of notice, TDLR can give notice of the 

department’s intent to disconnect power or lock down the elevator 

equipment by emergency order within seven days. If an emergency order 

to disconnect power or lock out equipment is issued, the building owner or 

manager may have the power reconnected or the equipment unlocked only 

if:  

 

 a registered inspector, contractor or department representative 

verifies that the threat has been mitigated; and 

 the building owner reimburses the department for all expenses 

related to the disconnection of power or lockout. 

 

DIGEST: CSSB 673 would authorize the Commission of Licensing and Regulation 

to adopt rules for:  

 

 the certification of elevator inspectors;  

 the registration of elevator contractors; 

 the procedures for issuing and displaying a certificate of 

compliance;  

 liability insurance, which would have to be written by a state-

authorized insurer or an eligible surplus lines insurer;  

 maintenance control programs, maintenance, repair, parts manuals, 

and product-specific inspection, testing, and maintenance 

procedures; 

 reporting accidents and related conditions to TDLR; and 

 testing elevator-related equipment. 

 

The bill would repeal the following sections of Health and Safety Code, 

cha. 754:  

 

 subchapter A, which governs elevator safety device requirements; 

 sec. 754.0171 (d) and (e), which currently requires contractors to 

submit initial and subsequent quarterly reports on elevator repair 

and maintenance work to TDLR; 

 sec. 754.022, which currently requires TDLR to send notices to 
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building owners who have not complied with elevator inspection 

requirements;  

 sec. 754.024, which currently makes a building owner’s failure to 

remedy a notice of noncompliance within 61 days a class C 

misdemeanor; and 

 sec. 754.023, which currently governs investigation, registration 

proceedings, injunction, and emergency orders, all of which would 

be replaced by new provisions in CSSB 673. 

 

The commission could require inspection reports, other documents, and 

fees to be filed according to TDLR specifications, including electronically. 

 

New requirements for inspectors. The bill would add the term 

“inspector,” meaning someone who inspects equipment and witnesses 

tests specified in standards issued by ASME and the American Society of 

Civil Engineers. The term “registered elevator inspector” would replace a 

reference to ASME code, “QEI-1 certified inspector,” throughout ch. 754. 

 

Inspectors would be certified according to the rules of the commission 

rather than ASME and would have to comply with any commission-

established continuing education requirements. The executive director 

could set a fee for reviewing and approving continuing education 

providers and courses for elevator inspectors. 

 

Inspectors would not be able to inspect equipment if the inspector or the 

inspector’s employer had a financial or personal conflict of interest or if 

there was an appearance of impropriety with regard to the inspection.  

 

TDLR’s standard guidelines for license expiration and renewal, as well as 

license reciprocity, also would apply for licensed inspectors under ch. 754. 

 

Exemptions. The bill would exempt from the requirements of ch. 754 

equipment located in a federally owned and operated building or 

equipment located in an industrial facility, grain silo, radio antenna, bridge 

tower, underground facility, or dam, to which access was limited primarily 

to employees.  

 

Certificates of compliance and noncompliance delays. The bill would 

eliminate language specifying the information that the certificate of 

compliance would contain. TDLR, instead of the commission, would 

stipulate the format and information that would be required to appear in 
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inspection reports, certificates of compliance, and other documents. 

 

The executive director of TDLR would be able to grant a delay for 

compliance with the commission’s codes and adopted standards regarding 

an elevator or related equipment if the executive director determined that 

passenger or worker safety were not seriously threatened, rather than if 

compliance was not readily achievable under the Americans with 

Disabilities Act. The period of noncompliance could not exceed three 

years, except as otherwise determined by the executive director.   

 

Equipment inspection. TDLR would be able to conduct an inspection or 

investigation of equipment if the executive director believed the 

equipment on the property posed an imminent and significant danger or 

that an accident involving equipment had occurred. TDLR would be 

granted access to any area otherwise shut off to the general public to 

conduct its investigation or inspection.  

 

A registered elevator inspector would issue an inspection report no later 

than five days after days after the date of inspection, rather than the 10 

days under current law.  

 

The commission would be able to require a re-inspection or recertification 

if the equipment had been altered, if the equipment posed a significant 

threat to passenger and work safety, or if an annual inspection report 

indicated that an existing violation had continued longer than permitted in 

a delay granted by the executive director. 

 

Duties of owners. The bill would define “owner” as a person, company, 

corporation, authority, commission or other entity that held title to a 

building with elevators, escalators, or other equipment located within.  

 

The owner of a property containing elevator equipment would have to file 

the required inspection report and all fees within 30 days of the inspection, 

rather than within the 60 days allowed under current law. 

 

The bill would eliminate language specifying the manner and place in 

which owners must display the equipment inspection certificate, requiring 

instead that they display it in a publicly visible area as defined by 

commission rule.  

 

Owners would be required to ensure that their equipment was maintained 
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in compliance with the commission’s adopted standards and codes. 

Owners would report each accident to TDLR within one day rather than 

within the 72 hours allowed under current law.  

 

Elevator advisory board. The nine-member elevator advisory board 

would meet when TDLR’s executive director or the presiding officer of 

the Commission of Licensing and Regulation called a meeting, rather than 

twice a calendar year. The board would be charged with additional duties 

relating to recommendations for the maintenance and testing of 

equipment.   

 

Removing a registration. The commission or executive director of TDLR 

could deny, suspend, or revoke a registration and assess an administrative 

penalty against a person who: 

 

 obtained a registration by fraud; 

 falsified a report to the executive director; or  

 violated statute or rules relating to elevators and related equipment. 

 

A person whose registration was denied, suspended or revoked could 

appeal under the Administrative Procedure Act.  

 

Civil actions. In addition to administrative penalties, the attorney general 

or the executive director of TDLR could take preemptive action to prevent 

or restrain a violation by filing for injunctive relief. Additionally, the 

attorney general or executive director could file an action to collect a civil 

penalty of up to $5,000 per day for each violation. These actions would 

have to be filed in a Travis County district court, and the attorney general 

and TDLR could recover reasonable expenses incurred in filing these 

actions.  

 

Emergency orders. The executive director of TDLR could issue an 

emergency order if the director determined that immediate action to 

protect the public health and safety was necessary. An emergency order 

could require a building owner to lock out or disconnect power to the 

equipment if the department decided passengers and workers were in 

imminent and significant danger or an annual inspection had not been 

performed in more than two years. The equipment would only be 

reconnected after a registered elevator inspector, contractor, or department 

representative verified in writing that the threat had been mitigated, at 

which point the executive director or designee would issue written 
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permission to reconnect or unlock the equipment and notify the owner.  

 

The Commission of Licensing and Regulation would adopt rules to 

implement CSSB 673 by January 1, 2014.  

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013, and would apply only to 

offenses committed on or after that date or inspections initiated on or after 

January 1, 2014. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

CSSB 673 would strengthen TDLR’s oversight of elevator safety. The bill 

represents the culmination of a wide-ranging review of the regulatory 

statute governing elevators and related equipment. This review was 

spurred by two events — the recent death of a woman who fell from an 

elevator that had been negligently maintained in San Antonio’s Crockett 

Hotel and the phasing out of ASME’s elevator inspector program. 

 

CSSB 673 would enable the department to request important 

documentation, including parts manuals and other product-specific 

information, while streamlining the access of such documentation by 

allowing the department to request that it be submitted electronically.  

 

The bill also would tighten a number of safety-related deadlines, requiring 

inspectors to issue inspection reports five days after the inspection date 

and owners to submit incident reports to TDLR within one day of the 

incident. 

 

CSSB 673 would add teeth to the enforcement actions the state could take 

against violators of elevator-related regulations, which would help ensure 

that elevators were properly maintained in light of the recent tragedy at the 

Crockett Hotel. The executive director of TDLR could still issue 

emergency orders to shut off an elevator after two years without an 

inspection, but the director no longer would be required to issue multiple 

notices to the owner that the equipment would be shut down. In addition, 

the attorney general or executive director would have the power to sue for 

injunctive relief and the assessment of a stiff monetary penalty, which 

further would deter negligent owners from failing to maintain their 

equipment.  

 

Many of the changes proposed in CSSB 673 reflect the discontinuation of 

the ASME elevator inspector certification program, which granted 

inspectors the QEI-1 certification. The bill therefore would remove 
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references to QEI-1 elevator inspectors and authorize the commission to 

develop a new elevator inspector certification program to ensure that 

elevators in Texas still would be subject to regular inspection. The 

commission would receive rulemaking authority to provide for the 

certification of elevator inspectors, and TDLR’s standard licensing 

guidelines would apply to these certifications.  

 

CSSB 673 would make a number of changes to statute that more 

accurately reflect the status quo. It would add an exemption for federal 

buildings to ch. 754. The bill also would repeal subchapter A, which 

currently requires the installation of certain safety devices because the 

safety devices in question (door restrictors) were required to have been 

installed on all elevators by December 1, 2011. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

The bill is too vague and would give the commission too much power to 

issue administrative rules without sufficient guidance in statute.  A better 

version of this bill would have allowed the Legislature to decide on the 

specifics of the elevator inspector certification program, rather than 

granting the commission so much rulemaking authority. 

 

Current statute requires building owners to defray the costs of a 

disconnection of power or a lockout of the equipment should the executive 

director of TDLR take such action via emergency order. The bill no longer 

would require the building owners to reimburse the department, which 

would be unfair considering that the lack of elevator maintenance by 

building owners creates situations that give rise to the need for a power 

disconnection or lockout. 

 

NOTES: CSSB 673 differs from the Senate-engrossed version in that the committee 

substitute would:  

 

 lengthen from 15 days to 30 days after the inspection the date by 

which the owner would be required to submit the inspection report 

to the executive director of TDLR; and  

 add specifications to the general liability insurance which 

contractors would be required to carry, and require that the policy 

be written by an insurer authorized in this state or an eligible 

surplus lines insurer.  

 

The companion bill, HB 2188 by Smith, was left pending in the House 

Licensing and Administrative Procedures Committee on March 26. 
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COMMITTEE: Government Efficiency and Reform — committee substitute 

recommended   

 

VOTE: 7 ayes —  Harper-Brown, Perry, Capriglione, Stephenson, Taylor, Scott 

Turner, Vo 

 

0 nays 

 

 

WITNESSES: For — (Registered, but did not testify: Myron Hess, National Wildlife 

Federation; Chloe Lieberknecht, The Nature Conservancy; Cyrus Reed, 

Lone Star Chapter, Sierra Club; David Weinberg, Texas League of 

Conservation Voters; Kaiba White, Public Citizen) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — Patrick Moore, Legislative Budget Board 

 

BACKGROUND: The Legislative Budget Board’s (LBB’s) Texas State Government 

Effectiveness and Efficiency report (GEER) recommends that the state 

update energy and water reporting requirements. This recommendation 

closely follows the requirements of Executive Order RP-49, issued by 

Gov. Rick Perry in 2005 and Texas Government Code, ch. 447.009, which 

governs energy and water management planning.  
 

Executive Order RP-49 requires each state agency to develop a plan for 

conserving energy and to set a percentage goal for reducing use of 

electricity, gasoline, and natural gas. The order requires state agencies to 

submit the energy conservation plan to the LBB and the Office of the 

Governor. 

 

Texas Government Code, ch. 447.009 requires that a state agency or an 

institution of higher education develop a long-range plan for the delivery 

of reliable, cost-effective utility services for the state agency or institution. 

It also requires the state energy conservation office to assist each agency 

SUBJECT:  Energy and water management reporting by state agencies 

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 27— 30-0 
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or institution in preparing comprehensive energy and water management 

plans. 

 

DIGEST: CSSB 700 would require the state energy conservation office to develop a 

template for state agencies and institutions of higher education to use in 

creating energy and water management plans. State agencies and 

institutions would be required to set percentage goals for reducing their 

use of energy and water and to include those goals in their comprehensive 

energy and water management plans. The agency or institution would have 

to update the plan annually, instead of biennially.  

 

The state energy conservation office, not later than December 1 

immediately preceding each regular legislative session, would be required 

to submit to the governor and the LBB a report on the status and 

effectiveness of utility management and conservation efforts at agencies 

and institutions. The report would include information from each agency 

and institution. The state energy conservation office would be required to 

post the report on its website.  

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

CSSB 700 would clarify and streamline existing reporting requirements 

but would not require new reports or the gathering of additional data. 

 

Reports generated as a result of executive order RP-49 currently are due 

quarterly. The Government Code requires agencies and institutions to 

develop plans and update them every two years. The executive order and 

the requirements of the Government Code are similar but not identical. For 

example, the Government Code does not require a report on the use of 

gasoline and natural gas, whereas the executive order does. State agency 

reporting of resource efficiency required by under the Government Code 

decreased after the executive order was issued. 

 

CSSB 700 would ensure that reporting was uniform and covered water, 

energy use, and conservation measures.  

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

No apparent opposition. 

 

NOTES: The House committee substitute would use the word “energy” in lieu of 

words “electricity, gasoline and natural gas” used in the Senate bill to 
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describe the elements required to be included in an agency’s or 

institution’s plan.  

 

Two House companion bills, HB 1182 by Kacal and HB 2674 by Ashby, 

were referred to the Government Efficiency and Reform Committee. HB 

1182 was scheduled to be heard in a public hearing on April 15, but the 

committee considered SB 700 in its place. 
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RESEARCH Hinojosa  

ORGANIZATION bill analysis                  5/15/2013 (P. King) 
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COMMITTEE: Business and Industry — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 7 ayes — Oliveira, Bohac, Orr, E. Rodriguez, Villalba, Walle, Workman 

 

0 nays  

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 2944) 

For — Stephany Madsen, American Resort Development Association; 

(Registered, but did not testify: Buster Brown and Jennifer Emerson, 

American Resort Development Association; Robert Floyd and Galt 

Graydon, Silverleaf Resorts; Daniel Gonzalez, Texas Association of 

Realtors; Mark Lehman, Texas Association of Realtors) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Beverly Rabenberg, Real Estate 

Commission) 

 

BACKGROUND: Property Code, ch. 221, the Texas Timeshare Act, requires an instrument 

to be filed declaring and describing  any timeshare in the state. Under the 

chapter, any person offering a timeshare interest is required to register 

with the Texas Real Estate Commission, which is empowered to adopt 

rules and take action against any developer in violation of the law.  

 

Property Code, ch. 202, governs restrictive covenants established and 

enforced by homeowners associations (HOAs). The chapter restricts 

HOAs from adopting or enforcing certain types of restrictive covenants. 

Property Code, ch 207, governs the disclosure of certain information by 

property associations. 

 

DIGEST: SB 1372 would create the Texas Timeshare Owners’ Association Act, 

Property Code ch. 221, subch. I, which would govern timeshare 

associations and prevail over any conflicting or inconsistent legal 

provisions applicable to a timeshare owners’ association. 

SUBJECT:  Separate statutory framework for timeshare associations  

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 18 — 31-0 



SB 1372 

House Research Organization 

page 2 

 

- 67 - 

 

Applicability. The bill would apply to a timeshare plan and associated 

property regardless of when the plan was created. The bill would apply to 

a timeshare plan created before September 1, 2013, unless the timeshare 

instrument was amended before that date to provide for an exclusion.  

 

The bill would remove timeshare associations from the requirements of 

Property Code ch. 202 and ch. 207, relating to property owners’ 

associations. It also would exempt timeshares from state laws that require 

the provision of certain information upon the purchase of a home — 

specifically, the seller’s disclosure and notice that a unit was subject to 

membership in a property owners’ association. Rules governing declarant 

control in a condominium would not apply to a timeshare. 

 

Administration. A timeshare owners’ association could be governed by a 

board of directors, which could act on behalf of the association. The board 

could not act on behalf of the association to: 

 

 amend the project instrument;  

 terminate the timeshare plan; 

 elect or remove board members; or 

 determine the qualifications, powers, duties, or terms of office of 

board members. 

 

Subject to the timeshare instrument, the board could appoint a member for 

the unexpired portion of the preceding board member’s term.  

 

Board procedures. The bill would establish processes for election and 

removal of board members, minimum quorum requirements, and voting. 

Under the bill:  

 

 boards would have to include at least three members;  

 members could be removed by a vote of two-thirds of the voting 

rights of people entitled to vote; and  

 a quorum would be at least 10 percent of the voting interests of 

owners who were not delinquent in assessments.  

 

If a quorum was not present at an association meeting to elect board 

members, the meeting would have to be reconvened within 90 days for the 

same purpose.  
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Developer control. A timeshare instrument could provide for a period of 

developer control of an association during which the developer or a 

designee could appoint and remove board members and other association 

officers. A period of control would expire by whichever came earlier:  

 

 the 120th day after the date when 95 percent of the timeshare 

interests were conveyed to owners from the developer; or  

 five years after the developer ceased to offer timeshare interests for 

sale in the ordinary course of business.  

 

A timeshare instrument that provided for a shorter developer control 

period would take precedence.  

 

During the period of developer control, the developer could determine all 

matters governing the association, including the occurrence of special or 

regular meetings of the members and the notice requirements and rules for 

those meetings. 

 

A developer voluntarily could surrender the right to appoint and remove 

board members and officers during the period of control. A surrender 

instrument could retain for the developer veto rights of association 

decisions for the remainder of the designated control period.  

 

Provisions governing the developer control period would apply to a 

timeshare plan created before September 1, 2013, only if the developer 

and an association agreed to the provisions.  

 

Voting. The bill would place requirements on when and how long a proxy 

vote would be valid and would allow voting by mail.  

 

If only one of multiple owners of a timeshare interest was present at an 

association meeting, that owner could cast all votes allocated to that 

timeshare interest. If more than one of the multiple owners were present, 

the votes allocated to that timeshare interest could be cast only in 

accordance with the agreement of a majority of the timeshare interest held 

by the multiple owners, unless the timeshare instrument expressly 

provided otherwise.   

 

Open meetings. Following the period of developer control, all association 

and board meetings would be open to all members. Board members could 

meet in a closed session to consider specific matters listed in the bill.  
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An association meeting would have to be held each year after the 

developer control period. Special meetings could be called by a majority 

of the board, the president, or at the request of owners with at least 25 

percent of the votes allocated to timeshare interests in the association. 

Unless a timeshare instrument stated otherwise, the association would mail 

notice of a meeting in a prescribed timeframe.  

 

Associations would have to maintain a complete and current list of names 

and addresses of all timeshare owners. Except as otherwise authorized in 

law, an association could not provide an owner’s name or other personally 

identifiable information to another owner without prior approval.  

 

The bill would, with certain limits, require an association to mail materials 

to property owners upon request, provided the requestor provided 

sufficient payment for related costs.  

 

Effective date. The bill would take effect September 1, 2013.   

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 1372 would ensure that timeshare associations were not improperly 

subject to laws designed for residential homeowners’ associations 

(HOAs).  

 

The bill would establish a separate statutory structure for timeshare 

associations necessary to resolve lingering questions about the 

applicability of HOA laws brought about by sweeping legislation enacted 

in 2011. While timeshares have generally fallen outside of the scope of 

statutes governing HOAs, various changes made in 2011 have blurred this 

distinction. Some lawyers versed in timeshare law have expressed concern 

that, without a separate statute for timeshare associations, timeshare 

associations could fall under some of the new laws governing HOAs. 

 

Timeshare associations are distinct from traditional HOAs in a number of 

respects, including the following:  

 

 they are subject to the Texas Timeshare Act, which imposes 

requirements for detailed disclosures about the timeshare at the 

time of purchase and an annual timeshare fee and expense 

statement;  

 each timeshare may be “owned” by as many as 52 owners, who 

each own the rights to a particular week of the year; 
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 timeshares cannot be used as primary homes under governing 

documents; 

 timeshare assessment fees cover items not generally covered by 

HOAs, such as housekeeping costs and upkeep for unit furnishings; 

and 

 timeshare owners tend to be less involved or interested in 

association proceedings, as they only use the unit on a temporary 

basis. 

 

Laws designed for traditional HOAs do not squarely transfer to timeshare 

associations and may be detrimental to association operations. Timeshare 

associations have unique operations, in particular since most timeshare 

owners cannot be physically present for association meetings and tend to 

take little interest in association affairs, provided the property is 

adequately maintained and assessments remain reasonable. 

 

SB 1372 would provide a legal tidying-up of statutes governing timeshares 

to house them all under the Texas Timeshare Act (Property Code, ch. 221) 

and in so doing create a basic but robust set of protections for timeshare 

owners. The bill would outline requirements for associations affairs in 

various areas, such as voting, open meetings, board proceedings, and the 

expiration of developer control. The limitations imposed would ensure that 

associations achieve basic standards while allowing for variation in 

specific practices across associations. The requirements would dovetail 

with the existing regulatory structures for timeshares, which includes 

registration with the Texas Real Estate Commission, to create a strong, 

unified statutory framework for timeshares and timeshare associations. 

 

It would be a mistake to impose onto timeshare associations the more 

restrictive standards that apply to traditional HOAs. Governance of 

traditional HOAs has evolved in response to specific complaints in various 

HOAs around the state. Timeshares, being structured and operated 

differently from HOAs, have not been subject to the same controversies or 

problems. Applying HOA standards to timeshares, such as laws that 

prohibit associations from adopting instruments conditioning voting on 

being current in paying assessments, would needlessly restrict timeshares 

from adopting provisions that suit their particular purposes.  

 

With the timeshare governing statutes clearly housed in a separate statute, 

the Legislature could return in future sessions to make any incremental 

changes necessary. The best approach at this juncture would be to adopt a 
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basic framework that would not place undue burdens on timeshare 

associations nor needlessly supersede association-level governing 

instruments that have proven adequate for all parties involved. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 1372 could use stronger protections for owners with a timeshare 

interest. There are several specific provisions in the bill that could leave 

open the door to bad practices, as has been the case with residential HOAs.  

 

Developer control. SB 1372 would take a positive step in limiting 

developer control to 95 percent of units sold to owners or five years after 

units were offered in the ordinary course of business. However, the bill 

unfortunately would condition its board elections, open meetings, notice, 

and other provisions on the expiration of the developer control period, 

which could be up to five years. Five years would be a long time for 

timeshare owners to go without any representation in association 

proceedings. 

 

Voting. Instead of establishing minimal standards for who may vote, SB 

1372 would allow any “additional limitations” on the right to vote in 

timeshare instruments. Such limitations could include restrictions on the 

right to vote due to delinquencies on assessments or other fines. Similarly, 

the bill would define a quorum as 10 percent of voting interests of owners 

who are not delinquent on assessments. All property owners should have 

the right to vote and participate in board proceedings, irrespective of 

whether they are current on all dues. 

 

Language in the bill governing proxy voting is unusual and potentially 

problematic. The bill would allow proxy voting for up to 25 months after 

when the proxy is executed, which is a longer timeframe than in other 

statutes governing the subject, and would provide that a proxy could state 

that it was “coupled with an interest and is irrevocable.” This language is 

unusual and potentially conflicts with other language requiring a proxy to 

state the date of termination.  

 

Notice. The notice requirements for timeshare association meetings in the 

bill could be strengthened. Language in the bill would require notice to 

include “date, time, and place of the meeting,” but would not include the 

meeting agenda as a requirement. Providing notice of a meeting without 

an agenda would be of limited value to timeshare owners. 

 

In addition, a provision in the bill states that the “failure of an owner to 
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receive actual notice of a board meeting does not affect the validity of any 

action taken at that meeting.” This provision would have the effect of 

significantly reducing owners’ recourse in the event that an association did 

not provide adequate notice of a meeting. 

 

NOTES: The House companion bill, HB 2944 by P. King, was left pending in the 

House Business and Industry Committee on April 16. 
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COMMITTEE: Public Education — Favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 10 ayes —  Aycock, Allen, J. Davis, Deshotel, Dutton, Farney, Huberty, 

K. King, Ratliff, J. Rodriguez 

 

0 nays  

 

1 absent —  Villarreal  

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 210:) 

For — (Registered, but did not testify: Portia Bosse, Texas State Teachers 

Association; Lindsay Gustafson, Texas Classroom Teachers Association; 

Julie Shields, Texas Association of School Boards) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: David Anderson, Texas Education 

Agency) 

 

BACKGROUND: The Public Education Information Management System (PEIMS) 

encompasses all data requested and received by the Texas Education 

Agency (TEA) about public education, including student demographic and 

academic performance, personnel, financial, and organizational 

information. 

 

Education Code, sec. 39.057 authorizes the commissioner of education to 

initiate special investigations related to factors affecting a school district’s 

accreditation status. 

 

DIGEST: SB 123 would require the commissioner of education to authorize special 

accreditation investigations in response to a complaint alleging the 

reporting of inaccurate data through PEIMS or through other reports 

required by state or federal law, rule, or court order and used by TEA to 

make a determination related to public school accountability. 

SUBJECT:  Education commissioner’s subpoena and investigative authority    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 3, 2013 — 31–0 
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The bill also would authorize the commissioner to issue a subpoena for 

witnesses or evidence related to a statistical analysis indicating violations 

of testing laws. 

 

The bill would take immediate effect if passed by a two-thirds record vote 

of the membership of each house. Otherwise, it would take effect 

September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 123 would broaden the authority of the commissioner of education to 

investigate allegations of inaccurate student data reported to PEIMS. This 

would allow the commissioner to move quickly on complaints about data 

manipulation and obtain evidence. 

 

The bill is one response to the cheating scandal in which some students 

were pushed out of El Paso Independent School District schools, others 

were prevented from enrolling, and grade levels were manipulated to keep 

students from taking the tests that count toward state and federal 

accountability. TEA officials have said limits on their subpoena authority 

contributed to their failure to catch the cheating scheme when it was first 

alleged. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 123 is unnecessary because the commissioner of education already has 

broad authority to initiate special accreditation investigations and issue 

subpoenas related to those investigations. 

  

NOTES: The House companion bill, HB 210, was placed on the House calendar for 

May 8, but not considered. 
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COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment 

 

VOTE: 8 ayes —  Herrero, Carter, Burnam, Canales, Leach, Moody, Schaefer, 

Toth 

 

0 nays  

 

1 absent —  Hughes  

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 3061:) 

For — (Registered, but did not testify: Yannis Banks, Texas NAACP; 

Rebecca Bernhardt, Texas Defender Service; Kristen Etter, Texas 

Criminal Defense Lawyers Association; Travis Leete, Texas Criminal 

Justice Coalition; Andrea Marsh, Texas Fair Defense Project; Matt 

Simpson, American Civil Liberties Union of Texas) 

 

Against — None 

 

BACKGROUND: Code of Criminal Procedure, art. 35.29 prohibits disclosure of a juror’s 

personal information collected by the court or by a prosecuting attorney 

during the jury selection process. The information is confidential and may 

not be disclosed by the court, prosecutor, defense counsel, or court 

personnel. Under an exception to this rule, the information may be 

disclosed on application by a party in the trial or on application by a bona 

fide member of the news media, on a showing of good cause. 

 

DIGEST: HB 3061 would allow defense counsel representing someone in a death 

penalty case to disclose juror information, without an application to the 

court or a showing of good cause, to a successor counsel who was filing a 

writ of habeas corpus in the case. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013. 

 

SUPPORTERS SB 270 would allow post-conviction counsel in a habeas proceeding of a 

SUBJECT:  Access to juror information for successor counsel in certain cases   

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 21 — 31-0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar 
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SAY: capital case to access juror information directly from the trial counsel, 

reducing the time and resources currently wasted in pursuit of this 

information. Currently, post-conviction counsel must apply to the trial 

court for access to information and spend time and resources traveling to 

these courts to provide a showing of good cause at a hearing. Juror 

information is the only part of the case record that does not transfer to 

successor counsel automatically. Courts do not refuse to provide this 

information, including the original juror questionnaires and information 

collected during voir dire, because the post-conviction counsel must 

investigate the original trial proceedings in order to provide effective and 

zealous counsel to their clients.  

 

Post-conviction representation in these cases usually is provided by the 

State Office of Capital Writs, so this process unnecessarily wastes the 

state’s limited resources. SB 270 would streamline this process, reducing 

waste and allowing for more efficient and effective representation. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

No apparent opposition. 

 

NOTES: The House companion bill, HB 3061 by Herrero, was placed on the House 

General State Calendar for May 9, but was not considered. The HRO 

digest of HB 3061 appears in Part 3 of the Thursday, May 9 Daily Floor 

Report, Number 70. 
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COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 8 ayes —  Herrero, Carter, Burnam, Canales, Leach, Moody, Schaefer, 

Toth 

 

0 nays    

 

1 absent —  Hughes  

 

 

WITNESSES: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
BACKGROUND: 

(On House companion bill, HB 967:) 

For — Jeff Blackburn, Scott Henson, and Gary Udashen, Innocence 

Project of Texas; (Registered but did not testify: Yannis Banks, Texas 

NAACP; Rebecca Bernhardt, Texas Defender Service; Kristin Etter, 

Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association; Kay Forth, American Civil 

Liberties Union of Texas; Andrea Marsh, Texas Fair Defense Project) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — Justin Wood, Harris County District Attorney’s Office 

 

Code of Criminal Procedure, ch. 11 outlines procedures for filing 

applications for writs of habeas corpus. Art. 11.07 governs procedures for 

applying for a writ in a felony conviction where the death penalty was not 

imposed. Art. 11.071 governs procedures for applying for a writ in death 

penalty cases, and Art. 11.072 establishes procedures for writs in felony 

and misdemeanor cases in which the person was ordered into community 

supervision (probation).  

 

DIGEST: SB 344 would authorize courts to grant relief on applications for writs of 

habeas corpus that, subject to criteria in the bill, contained specific facts 

indicating that:  

 

 relevant scientific evidence was currently available and was not 

available at the time of the conviction because the evidence was 

SUBJECT:  Application for a writ of habeas corpus based on scientific evidence    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 25 — 28-3 (Birdwell, Nelson, Patrick) 
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not ascertainable through reasonable diligence at the time of the 

trial; and 

 the scientific evidence would be admissible under Texas Rules 

of Evidence at a trial held on the date of the application. 

 

In addition, the court would have to find that if the scientific evidence had 

been presented at trial, on a preponderance of the evidence the person 

would not have been convicted. 

 

The bill would apply to relevant scientific evidence that was not available 

to be offered by a convicted person at trial or that contradicted scientific 

evidence relied on by the state at trial. 

 

A court, in deciding whether relevant scientific evidence was not 

ascertainable through the exercise of reasonable diligence on or before a 

specific date, would have to consider whether the scientific knowledge or 

method on which the relevant scientific evidence was based had changed 

since the trial date for an original application or since the date of a 

previously considered application for subsequent ones. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013.  

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 344 would create a legal avenue for innocent defendants convicted 

based on false and discredited forensic testimony to seek relief under 

Texas’ habeas corpus statute. The bill would establish a legal mechanism 

similar to Code of Criminal Procedure, ch. 64, which established grounds 

for post-conviction DNA testing.  

 

The question of how to deal with convictions based on false and 

discredited forensic testimony has arisen more frequently as the forensic 

sciences in recent years have undergone extensive review, leading to 

correction and updating in various fields and sometimes discrediting 

certain forms of forensic testimony. Rather than establish additional 

chapters for arson, dog-scent lineups, and every discredited forensic 

method, SB 344 would establish a single standard for when this scenario 

arises.  

 

Recent case law and judicial opinion have identified weaknesses in the 

current habeas corpus statute, noting issues that include the absence of 

statutory grounds upon which to grant relief, the speed of changing 

science that serves as the foundation of a conviction, and technical 



SB 344 

House Research Organization 

page 3 

 

- 79 - 

testimony that may change with scientific discovery. In one case, recanted 

testimony by a medical examiner established the basis of the state’s case 

with respect to the cause and manner of death, without which it would not 

have obtained a conviction. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals voted 

against granting a new trial, with the majority finding no path to habeas 

relief under current law. The question was raised as to how the criminal 

justice system should address  scenarios in which scientific experts 

sincerely thought something was true at the time they testified, but the 

science and the experts’ understanding and opinions had changed.  
 

The Timothy Cole Advisory Panel on Wrongful Convictions endorsed 

similar legislation, saying it would provide meaningful access to the courts 

to those with claims of actual innocence following a conviction based on 

science that had since been falsified. Creation of a dedicated writ and 

procedure would allow those with claims to be heard without opening all 

convictions up to scrutiny.  

 

Opponents overstate the potential for the bill to flood the courts with 

appeals. The bill would include several well defined criteria that would 

have to be met in order for a court to grant relief. In addition, the 

Innocence Project of Texas sent letters to more than 1,000 inmates serving 

in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice for the offense of arson and 

received 175 replies, with only about 30 of those meriting further 

investigation. 

 

While some claim that the bill contains vague language, courts routinely 

make a determination as to what constitutes “relevant scientific evidence,” 

which is a term of art used in the rules of evidence, and this would be no 

different. 

 

SB 344 would fill a gap in habeas corpus law, ensure that the law kept 

pace with science, and provide a path for relief where false and discredited 

forensics may have caused the false conviction of an innocent person. 

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

SB 344 could open the door for many unfounded applications for writ of 

habeas corpus relief that would overwhelm the courts with appeals every 

time a new scientific advancement was made. 

 

The bill’s language is too vague. The term “relevant scientific language” is 

too open to interpretation for what could trigger an appeal.  
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NOTES: The companion bill, HB 967 by Sylvester Turner, was left pending in the 

House Criminal Jurisprudence Committee on April 23.  
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COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment    

 

VOTE: 8 ayes —  Herrero, Carter, Burnam, Canales, Leach, Moody, Schaefer, 

Toth 

 

0 nays  

 

1 absent —  Hughes   

 

 

WITNESSES: (On companion bill, HB 1292:) 

For — Carlos Salinas, Alliance for Texas Families; (Registered, but did 

not testify: Lon Craft, Texas Municipal Police Association; Bobby 

Gutierrez and Kirsha Haverlah, Justice of Peace and Constables 

Association; Ann Hettinger, Concerned Women For America; Marshall 

Kenderdine, Texas Pediatric Society; Erlinda Kindel, Catholic Advocacy 

Day; Diana Martinez, TexProtects, The Texas Association for the 

Protection of Children; Jason Sabo, Children at Risk; Aaron Setliff, The 

Texas Council on Family Violence; Corinne Smith, North Texas Citizens 

Lobby; Glenn Stockard, Texas Association Against Sexual Assault; and 

24 individuals 

 

Against — None  

 

BACKGROUND: Code of Criminal Procedure (CCP), ch. 7A covers protective orders for 

certain victims of sex trafficking, sexual assault, and stalking.  

 

Art. 7A.01 authorizes victims of specific offenses, parents or guardians of 

these victims, and prosecutors to file applications for protective orders. 

Two similar, but not identical, sections were added in 2011 by the 82nd 

Legislature that list the types of offenses for which the protective orders 

may be issued. One section was added through the enactment of SB 250 

by Zaffirini and one through SB 24 by Van de Putte, et al. Together, the 

sections allow applications for protective orders to be filed for continuous 

sexual abuse of a young child, indecency with a child, sexual assault, 

SUBJECT:  Protective orders for victims of sexual, stalking, and trafficking offenses    

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, April 25 — 30-0, on Local and Uncontested Calendar 
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aggravated sexual assault, stalking, and sex trafficking.  

 

CCP, art. 7A.01(b) establishes the venue for the filing of applications for 

these protective orders. Applications may be filed in the county in which 

the applicant lives or the county in which the alleged offender lives.  

 

The CCP also contains two articles labeled 7A.03, both added in 2011 by 

the 82nd Legislature. One section was added by SB 250 and the other by 

HB 649 by Gallego. Both sections establish the findings that courts must 

make when determining whether to issue the protective orders.  

 

The two sections are similar, but not identical. The section from SB 250 

requires courts to find whether there are reasonable grounds to believe that 

the applicant was a victim of sexual assault or stalking. The section from 

HB 649 requires courts to find whether there are reasonable grounds to 

believe that the applicant was a victim of sexual assault. 

 

DIGEST: SB 357 would merge and reenact the two sections of CCP art. 7A.03 that 

were enacted by the 82nd Legislature in SB 250 and HB 649, resulting in 

one section requiring courts to make certain findings when determining 

whether to issue a protective order under CCP, ch. 7A.  

 

The bill would add victims of trafficking and sexual abuse to the types of 

victims for which the court could make findings when considering an 

application for a protective order under CCP, ch. 7A. SB 357 would 

require judges to find whether there were reasonable grounds to believe 

that an applicant for a protective order was a victim of sexual assault or 

abuse, stalking, or trafficking.  

 

SB 357 would expand the venues in which victims of sexual assault, 

stalking, and trafficking could apply for protective orders. The bill would 

allow them to be filed in any county in which an element of the alleged 

offense occurred or any court with jurisdiction over family violence 

protective orders under Family Code, title 4 if the same parties were 

involved.  

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013, and would apply only to 

protective orders issued on or after that date. 

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

SB 357 would harmonize sections of CCP, ch. 7A dealing with 

applications for protective orders for victims of continuous sexual abuse of 
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a young child, indecency with a child, sexual assault, aggravated sexual 

assault, stalking, and sex trafficking after more than one bill amended the 

law in 2011.  

 

Two of these bills, taken together, amended art. 7A.03, which requires 

courts considering this type of protective order to find whether there are 

reasonable grounds to believe the applicant was a victim of sexual assault 

or stalking. However, other sections of ch. 7A allow protective orders to 

be issued for other offenses, and neither version of sec. 7A.03 added in 

2011 provides for a finding that an applicant was a victim relating to those 

offenses.  

 

SB 257 would clear up confusion over these sections by adding trafficking 

and sexual abuse to the list of findings judges could make in these 

situations. This would make it clear that findings could be made for all the 

crimes for which victims can apply for protective orders.  

 

The bill also would give victims of sexual assault, stalking, and trafficking  

additional options for filing applications for protective orders. Current law 

allows them to be filed only in the county in which either the victim or the 

alleged perpetrator lives, which can raise safety concerns with these types 

of crimes. The bill would expand the venues so that applications could be 

filed where the offense occurred or in a court with jurisdiction over a 

previously issued order relating to family violence.  

 

This would be consistent with SB 129 by Nelson, which would allow the 

same option for family violence protective orders and was approved by the 

House on the May 14 Local, Consent, and Resolutions calendar.   

 

OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

No apparent opposition. 

  

NOTES: An identical provision relating to the findings that could be made when 

considering protective order applications was included in HB 8 by S. 

Thompson, et al., which was passed by the House on April 17 and referred 

to the Senate Criminal Justice Committee.  

 

The companion bill, HB 1292 by Anchia, was placed on the May 9 House 

General State Calendar but not considered. 
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COMMITTEE: Criminal Jurisprudence — favorable, without amendment   

 

VOTE: 7 ayes —  Herrero, Burnam, Canales, Hughes, Leach, Moody, Toth 

 

1 nay —  Schaefer  

 

1 absent —  Carter         

 

 

WITNESSES: (On House companion bill, HB 823:) 

For — John Vasquez, State Bar of Texas; Alberto Garcia; (Registered, but 

did not testify: Yannis Banks, Texas NAACP; Luis Figueroa, Mexican 

American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF); Travis Leete, 

Texas Criminal Justice Coalition; Andrea Marsh, Texas Fair Defense 

Project; Allen Place, Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association; Chris 

Howe)  

 

Against — None 

 

BACKGROUND: Code of Criminal Procedure, art. 15.17(a) provides a list of items of which  

a magistrate must inform an arrested person, including the accusation 

against the person and the person’s right to legal counsel.  

 

Art. 26 requires an arraignment in all felony cases after indictment and all 

misdemeanor cases punishable by imprisonment.  

 

Art. 26.13(a)(4) requires that before accepting a plea of guilty or a plea of 

no contest in an arraignment for felony or misdemeanor charges that 

would result in jail time, the court must inform the defendant that if the 

defendant is not a citizen of the United States, a plea of guilty or no 

contest may result in deportation, the exclusion from admission to this 

country, or the denial of naturalization under federal law. 

 

DIGEST: SB 361 would amend Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 15.17 by adding a 

requirement for a magistrate to inform an arrestee that, if the person was 

SUBJECT:  Informing a non-citizen of the immigration consequences of a guilty plea   

SENATE VOTE: On final passage, March 27 — 30-0 
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not a citizen of the United States, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere could 

affect the person’s immigration or residency status and could result in 

deportation, exclusion from admission to this country, or denial of 

naturalization. 

 

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013.  

 

SUPPORTERS 
SAY: 

In criminal cases involving non-citizen defendants, deportation is a 

possible consequence for a defendant who pleads guilty or no contest to 

secure a reduced penalty for the charges, including circumstances 

involving relatively minor charges such as shoplifting.  

 

Current law does not require uniform instruction to accused persons in 

misdemeanor cases. While some courts in Texas are creating their own 

instructions, others are not giving instructions of any kind to those accused 

of misdemeanor offenses. However, some accused of misdemeanor 

offenses in Texas may be subject to immigration law consequences at the 

entering of a plea before a magistrate.  

 

SB 361 would provide all magistrates in Texas with uniform instructions 

for informing those accused of criminal offenses about possible 

immigration law consequences of conviction. While there is not a 

constitutional requirement for a magistrate to instruct an arrested person of 

these consequences, judges are ethically bound to ensure that defendants 

are aware of the immigration consequences of criminal pleas and 

convictions. Uniform instructions would assist magistrates throughout the 

state, further the administration of justice within the court system, and 

maintain the integrity and fairness of the judicial process. 

 

In Padilla v. Kentucky (2010), the U.S. Supreme Court emphasized the 

obligation of counsel to notify non-citizen defendants of possible 

immigration consequences. Relying on defense lawyers to provide the 

instruction would not guarantee that instruction was given consistently. An 

arrested person may not have an opportunity to meet with counsel before 

going before a magistrate and could enter a guilty plea without receiving 

the appropriate counsel. Judges have a responsibility to make some effort 

to address the immigration consequences of a plea or conviction. 

 

The bill would require a best practice that would not be a cost to the state 

or place an undue burden on the magistrates. It simply would be a 

sentence added to the instructions given by a magistrate.   
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OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

The state does not have a constitutional requirement for a magistrate to 

inform an arrested person of collateral consequences, such as the impact of 

a guilty plea on immigration status. SB 361inappropriately would elevate 

this immigration admonishment when there are other serious collateral 

consequence in law that would deserve equal protection, such as a 

dishonorable discharge from the military.   

 

OTHER 
OPPONENTS 
SAY: 

If this bill went into effect, a failure to make a proper warning could result 

in overturned convictions. Notifying defendants of possible immigration 

consequences should remain the obligation of legal counsel.  

 

NOTES: The House companion bill, HB 823 by Anchia, was left pending in the 

House Committee on Criminal Jurisprudence on March 12.  
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