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SUBJECT: Creating a safety reimbursement program for certain employers 

 

COMMITTEE: Business and Industry — committee substitute recommended 

 

VOTE: 5 ayes — Oliveira, Collier, Fletcher, Romero, Villalba 

 

2 nays — Simmons, Rinaldi 

 

WITNESSES: For — (Registered, but did not testify: Lee Ann Alexander, Liberty 

Mutual Insurance; Paul Martin, National Association of Mutual Insurance 

Companies; Annie Spilman, National Federation of Independent 

Business/TX; Joe Woods, Property Casualty Insurers Association of 

America; Leonard Aguilar, Southwest Pipe Trades Association; Rick 

Levy, Texas AFL-CIO; Scott Norman, Texas Association of Builders; 

Cathy Dewitt, Texas Association of Business; Pam Beachley, Texas 

Cotton Ginners’ Trust; Jo Betsy Norton, Texas Mutual Ins. Co.; Fabiola 

Flores, Texas Worker Advocates; Maxie Gallardo, Workers Defense 

Project) 

 

Against — None 

 

On — (Registered, but did not testify: Amy Lee, Texas Department of 

Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation) 

 

DIGEST: CSHB 2466 would create a workers’ compensation safety reimbursement 

program. The program would apply to “eligible employers.” An eligible 

employer would be defined as an employer, other than the state of Texas 

or a political subdivision of Texas, that had workers’ compensation 

insurance coverage and that employed between two and 50 employees 

during the prior calendar year, or was a type of employer designated as 

eligible by the commissioner of workers’ compensation.  

 

The program would reimburse eligible employers for expenses incurred to 

facilitate safe and healthy workplaces for their employees. An eligible 

employer could receive no more than $5,000 per year in reimbursement 

for allowable expenses, including physical modifications to the worksite, 
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safety equipment, and safety training for employees. 

 

CSHB 2466 would require the commissioner to fund the program with 

administrative penalties collected by the workers’ compensation division 

Texas Department of Insurance. The commissioner would be required to 

deposit annually the first $100,000 of those penalties into the general 

revenue fund to the credit of the Texas Department of Insurance operating 

account. Money for the program could be spent by the division, on 

appropriation by the Legislature, only for the purposes of implementing 

the program, and only to the extent that funds were available.  

 

The bill would require the commissioner to establish by rule an optional 

preauthorization plan for eligible employers to submit proposals to the 

division that described the intended workplace modifications and other 

changes. If the division approved a proposal submitted for 

preauthorization, the division would guarantee reimbursement of the 

expenses incurred by the employer in implementing the proposed 

modifications or changes. The division would not be required to 

reimburse the employer for modifications or changes that materially 

differed from the employer’s proposal. 

 

CSHB 2466 would require the commissioner to report to the governor, the 

lieutenant governor, the speaker of the House, and members of the 

Legislature by December 1, 2018, on the implementation of the program, 

the results of the program, and recommendations regarding the 

continuation of the program, including any necessary changes to enhance 

the effectiveness of the program.  

 

As soon as practicable after the effective date of the bill, the commissioner 

would be required to adopt rules establishing the program, including 

requirements for eligible employer applications and appropriate use of 

allocated funds. Insurance companies would be required to notify 

employers about the program as provided by the commissioner’s rules. 

The division would be required to implement the program beginning 

January 1, 2016. 
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CSHB 2466 would take effect September 1, 2015, and would not apply to 

costs incurred by an eligible employer before January 1, 2016.   

 

SUPPORTERS 

SAY: 

CSHB 2466 would help small employers and certain high-risk industries 

provide a safer workplace for their employees, which would lower work-

related injuries and deaths. Small businesses often cannot afford changes 

to the workplace, even if those changes would increase employee safety. 

The bill would give businesses more incentive to make their workplaces 

safer because they could receive reimbursement for certain costs to 

implement small but important changes. 

 

While injured employees might be able to sue their employers for work-

related injuries, lawsuits can be expensive and time-consuming. The goal 

of the bill is to prevent employees from being injured in the first place.  

 

OPPONENTS 

SAY: 

CSHB 2466 would be unnecessary because businesses already have an 

incentive to maintain safe workplaces in the form of potential lawsuits 

brought by employees for work-related injuries. The bill would 

unnecessarily regulate the workplaces of private businesses. Workplace 

safety is not really within the government’s role to regulate and has been 

improving consistently on its own for years.   

 

NOTES: The Legislative Budget Board’s fiscal note estimates that the bill would 

have a negative net impact to general revenue of $200,000 in fiscal 2016-

17.  

 


